800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14HM-QK30
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Schecter C-1 Hellraiser

The Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR is a beast of a guitar. With 24 jumbo frets and a pair of EMG humbuckers, the C-1 Hellraiser FR was born to raise hell.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"An incredible guitar, outstanding quality... Makes me proud to own one!" submitted October 6, 2008

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, 80's and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar sounds awesome running through my EVH 5150 III half stack, I "like" the sound of my Ibanez Prestige RG1570 but I "LOVE" the sound of this Schecter! Feature: The coil taping is nice when you are searching for a particular sound to say the least it gives you more of a tonal range. The original Floyd Rose is awesome, much better than the licensed by Floyds (I have had several lic. by and a few "Real Floyds"). I love the active EMGs (this is my 1st active pickup guitar). Ease of Use: Easy to use, if your new to a Floyd Rose it is more difficult than a fixed bridge but no more difficult than any other tremelo system. Quality: Very nice quality, a true work of art. If it did not say "Korea" on it you would never know, the quality and workmanship is very nice. Value: A nice value, but I wish it came with the case included... it's still a great bargain though! I can always wish right :) Manufacturer Support: Nice to deal with, my guitar did not come with a warranty card so I called and they explained that all I needed was my receipt and I was good to go. The Wow Factor: The Black Cherry looks totally awesome! Overall: I think this will be my favorite guitar out of my 3 (the others being a Kramer Striker, Ibanez Prestige RG1570)
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One Sick Guitar" submitted April 29, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: New Metal, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This thing is unbelievable as soon as it shipped i couldnt wait to get it home and when i did the tone was beautiful and theres so many setting to play around with on the new 81tw/89 EMGs Feature: The brand new EMG 81tw/89 humbuckers are insane. I had hopes set on Duncan Blackouts but i swear to god these are twice as good. Original Floyd Rose is soo fun to play around with when i firt tried it out i went for the Dimebag squeal(r.i.p). The mahogany makes the tone just that much better then any other guitar in its price range. I hear lots of people talk about yeah its great for its price range but if this was 1500 or more i would probably still buy it. I'm just lacking a good amp to get the most out of this beast. Ease of Use: For a mahogany guitar this thing feels very light specially compared to a Les Paul that my buddy has. The neck has nice big frets. I've yet to change a string on the Floyd rose so thats the one thing that might be difficult but i have tuned the guitar up and down for different songs and so far i'm very pleased with how easy its been. It stays in tune veryyy well. Quality: So far the guitar is as beautiful sounding and looking as the day i got it. Everything put into this guitar is top quality Schecter could price this much higher if they wanted to. Value: Lets just say Schecter is losing out for not pricing this beauty another grand higher. Manufacturer Support: I have yet to talk to them but so far i highly dealt i will have to. The Wow Factor: O dont get me started on how many girls come to my house everyday just to see this thing. But really the unique black cherry and abalone bindings and inlays not to mention sexy chrome hardware this is one beautiful looking guitar but its not a poser guitar in any way this thing delivers. Overall: Do yourself a big favor and buy it.
12 of 13 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Just buy it and stop comparing" submitted March 3, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock/Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sounds of this guitar is very good, seems able to achieve whatever you want based on your amp. The cleans are extremely clean, much more than I would have thought and it can handle all the distortion you pump through it. The pickups seem to be very versatile due to coil tapping, and being active pickups giving you 2 different choices with different sounds. I am using it through a Peavey Vypyr and it can handle anything the amp has. Feature: Accessories included all the tools necessary to set it up, change strings, adjust floyd rose etc. The most useful features are the original floyd rose and the coil tapping for extreme cleans, or an original sound while using distorted channels. The only thing I could say I wish the guitar had was an ebony fretboard instead of a rosewood one, only for looks though so no big deal. This guitar was setup very well and has everything you need. Ease of Use: Anything is achieveable to the limits of your amp! Sound is very easy to modify by adjusting your tone, pickup selector or coil tapping. Its a great guitar and everything is as simple as it should be. Quality: This guitar came flawless, no stripped screws in the wood (ones that don't stay secure). Nothing seems off balance or crooked. Nothing will break on this guitar with normal use, it is very solid. This guitar is hobby,gig and recording capable. This guitar will hold up forever Value: Well worth its price, especially when you are getting an instrument that is this high of quality. Schecters are awesome and they sell them as blemished if there's a tiny ding, scratch or goof up in the paint. So you know you are getting a piece of art. Manufacturer Support: Schecter always responds within 2 business days and answers you in a professional and friendly manner. They help you solve your problem to the best of their knowledge. The Wow Factor: This guitar is a Schecter. It fits my style, looks, sounds and feels great. What more can you ask for? Overall: I will not replace this guitar. It will stay in my collection which I plan on adding more Schecters to. They are truly the best brand for the money. I would replace this guitar with most likely another or maybe even something a little more expensive just for fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Black Cherry Sex Goddess" submitted March 30, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician; gear-head
Music Style: metal, rock,jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of this monster is amazing. The EMGs (81TW/89) are very versatile and very responsive to pick attack. In split mode, they were surprisingly sweet sounding. It is advertised as a metal guitar, but can handle a broad range of styles. The sustain is incredible as well; I find myself holding notes just to eventually hear them decay. Feature: Cable, extra trem spring, and allen wrenches were included; always nice. The Ultra-Access cutaway is just great. With the set-neck, you feel no heel as you hit the higher registry. The original Floyd and EMGs were probably the main reasons I made the purchase...you don't need to upgrade a THING on this beauty. It's like buying a custom in that everything is already on it. Awesome collection of features; the black chrome Grovers and Floyd set off a beautiful black-cherry finish. Ease of Use: Just an amazing instrument to play. In fact, typing this review is holding me up from playing right now. This guitar could be molded into anyone's style unless active pups just aren't your thing. I have several guitars from Ibanez and Jackson and this is probably equal to my '93 Jackson Dinky in terms of playability. Quality: Extremely well made. The finish is gorgeous; I can't stop looking at it. When I unboxed it, my first words were 'Oh my god'. No blemishes or issues at all. QC was on-point for this one. Definitely a gig-worthy axe that will last a long time. Value: You can't get these features on other guitars without breaking the bank. Other than it saying 'Crafted in South Korea' on the headstock you'd never know this wasn't a high dollar custom. It may as well be a custom due to the features. Manufacturer Support: Ten, because I haven't needed them. The Wow Factor: This guitar bleeds sex appeal. The black cherry finish got me interested to begin with. Hell, I own seven other guitars...I didn't need this one. After seeing it and researching it for a few days I had to have it. It IS an amazing guitar though and will be used extensively. Overall: This will be mine for a very long time. I'm a gear-head so I'm always looking for new guitars, but this one's a keeper. I would definitely purchase this again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pinhead would be proud!" submitted November 19, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: metal/thrash/death metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: The beast can produce tones straight from hell. Awesome metal tone, but also produces incredible clean tones as well. The EMG 81/85 set, together with the mahogany body and set neck...incredible Feature: Individual volume knobs for each pickup offers so many cool variations to create. The quality of the parts are 2nd to none. Just check the list for yourself. Ease of Use: Plays like a dream. The fret work is some of the best I've seen. Don't let the "made in South Korea" fool you. This is top notch workmanship. I love playing this guitar. Quality: Can't beat it. Value: For having every top of the line part, this guitar is one of the best deals ever. Floyd Rose, EMG, Grover Tuners. You cannot do better. I laugh when I see guitars with licensed tremolos and off brand tuners/pickups selling for more. Just try and compare this set up to the other big names. You'll see. Manufacturer Support: I bought mine from a local dealer. It arrived with shipping damage. After they were notified they promptly sent another. Within a week I had a replacement. Great customer service. The Wow Factor: Just look at it. It gets even better when you hold one. The look is very original and very impressive. It looks like a million bucks. Overall: I actually own the non Floyed Rose version. Mine has the TonePros Thru body bridge. It plays awesome and the tone is incredible. I do plan to get the Floyd version as well, in black. I want to have a set of these awesome axes. I've been playing metal for over 20 years now. I started with Aria Pro II, later switched to Jackson. After getting my hands on the Hellraiser, I never looked back. This is my favorite electric guitar of all time and I'd buy ten of them if I could.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Holy Mother of Satan" submitted October 14, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: METALLLLLLLL!!!
Back to Product Information
Sound: this thing is a beast for metal, i switched out the bridge for an Evolution though. Not because i dont lovethe EMGs, just looking for a change of pace. and the original floyd is balls Feature: i believe the best thing about this guitar is the neck. Very smooth, even though it is a set neck, it feels like a neck-thru. very easy to get around. other cool features include Grover tuners, an ORIGINAL Floyd Rose trem, a coil split on the two volume knobs, gothic cross inlays, and abalone binding. Ease of Use: this thing is great for metal. combined with a DigiTech Death Metal pedal, this thing is LETHAL. i use .12-.52 Elixirs in Drop C/ D Standard on this bad boy, and the floyd holds up great. great for stuff like Dimmu Borgir and Children Of Bodom Quality: great stuff on this one. the only minor flaws are the chrome hardware (very easy to get finger prints on, but very easy to get off as well) and the fact that mine came with a little scratch/dent in the back, but 1. its the back, no ones gonna see it but you, and 2. i just personally think it adds character =P Value: this thing is worth every trucking penny, id buy it again if i needed to, and when i get the seven string version will probably get it in Black Cherry. Manufacturer Support: nothing as of yet, but ive heard good things. The Wow Factor: this thing is absolutely beautiful, right down to every last detail. i got it in white, and the abalone outlining really makes it stand out Overall: i just love this thing to death. looking forward to many recording sessions with it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"raising hell forever" submitted July 30, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: i bought this guitar today and when i first plugged in my guitar i tought i was listening to a cd. the sounds is so perfect expecialy over my line 6 pod. Feature: the guitar has all the fueatures you wish a guitar would would have. i especialy love the push pull knobs. and the floyd rose stays in tune good. a friend of my had a licenced floyd rose and it got out of tune after every dive bomb. i love the thing on the back to change your battery it comes in very handy Ease of Use: it's plug and play. the only bit hard thing is tuning with the floyd rose and changing the strings. for the rest it is more then perfect Quality: i bought it in a guitar store and it was brand new. really nothing to complain about. it only had to change battery but they did it in the store for me. Value: it is 10 times worth it's price. you can't get a guitar that quality that cheap Manufacturer Support: support was great. when i came in the shop i could inmediatly test it in a test room. and they helped em with everything, get a new battery, and the tools for the mechanics where lost so i got new The Wow Factor: i have it Overall: this is just the best gutiar in the world. had been in love for one and a half year and i bet it would be very much longer. the emg pickups have a sound i never ehard before. just awesome
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"moral of this story: BUY A SCHECTER!! lol" submitted February 22, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.co.uk
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Thrash/Death/Melodic Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: as this guitar has EMGs, the pickups are extremely high output, and so are brilliant for playing metal, but if you switch to the neck pickup you can also get a great clean tone out of them. I have used this guitar playin live and in the recording studio several times, and it cuts through the mix perfectly. I am running this guitar through a marshall AVT275X, and the sound is perfect! One thing i would have to recomend for keeping a great tone is monster cables, i find that without using a decent cable your sound can really be affected, this is of course the case with all guitars. Feature: mahogany body with a quilted maple top, mahogany neck, rosewood frettboard, abalone binding, gothic cross inlays, black cherry finish, grover tuners, original floyd rose, extra jumbo fretts, EMG 81(bridge) and 85(neck), two volume controls, one tone control, a 3 way selector and an ultra-access neck with a set neck construction with a smoothed out joint so it feels like a neck-thru and this means that access to the upper fretts is very easy. When i bought this guitar it came with a set of alan keys and a monster cable. I bought this guitar because it had everything i wanted, so in my opinion it has everything you could need, one thing however would be that it didnt come with a gig bag, this wasnt a problem for me because i only use hard cases, but a gig bag with a huge schecter logo on it would have been a nice touch :P Ease of Use: the action on this guitar is unreal, the sound is unreal, the looks are unreal, it is really easy to play and it is really easy to get a great sound out of. The only problem for me was i have never had a guitar with a floyd rose before, so there was a learning curve there for me, but if you have already had a guitar with a floyd rose then this wont be a problem at all. Quality: this guitar was made in korea and set up in the USA, it has a very hand-made feel to it and the quality of it is amazing, it will last the test of time for sure Value: for what you get feature wise on this product the price is unbeatable, its only real competition is ESP, which for similar features costs alot more Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with them, no problems so far, doubt there will be any though! The Wow Factor: i like to think of this guitar as something that John Petrucci would play, gothic and sexy, it is very elegant, yet there is something about it that makes it amazing looking Overall: i wore down all the fretts on my gibon sg within a year i play that much, but i expect that this thing will last for years, if i did buy another guitar i would definatly go for a schecter
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Guitar" submitted July 27, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitarist
Music Style: everything
Back to Product Information
Sound: this is the best sounding machine i ever played..these pickups rock.You can make this baby scream and without the nasty pot noise ,,the emgs are awsome..rip some notes and you can hold that puppy and it will just ride and then take off the bend and noieless..very great sound the best Feature: i got a nice hardshell case Ease of Use: this guitar plays like a 2000.00 beast..its amazing buy it man you will be not disappointed Quality: Wow the quality ,its out standing,my model is a little older cause i dont have the push button on the tone knobs..but this guitar is amazing beautiful and very durable..its a peach Value: although i didnt pay this price,but after playing it and owning it..i would pay this price all day long,,man save your money ,buy this guitar..if yoou want that crunch like metallica ,ozz,kiss,and so forth..here it is people,,10 stars this guitar rocks,,, Manufacturer Support: i give support a 10 cause no need for them this guitar came set up right ,play wonderful and is perfect not a flaw The Wow Factor: when you see this guitar its like wow its stunning.when you pick it up and play it,,the neck is superb.....where has it been all my life and the sound ..its outstanding Overall: ill keep it till i die,,bury me with this in my casket....lol
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar" submitted October 21, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.co.uk
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Anything but I don't play country, jazz or techno.
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is pretty good. A bit bassy but still thats why you would buy this metal machine. For those (like me) who prefer not to have to change your EMG battery every month or 2 and like playing in clean I strongly suggest putting Seymour Duncan Invaders in it. I did and it sounds the same as the old EMG ones but with a good clean sound. With the Seymour's in it the sound would be 10 out of 10! Feature: You can't go wrong with these. How do Schecter do it? Original Floyd Rose, 2 coil splitting EMG's, Grover tuners and a mahogany body for that price!!! DUDE. Ease of Use: Neck is a bit thicker than an ESP for example but I have big hands so it doesn't bother me. Quality: When I got this I was a bit disappointed. One of the volume knobs wasn't secured with a screw so I had to use super glue. The other thing is there is black binding around the abalone and that looks a bit sloppy once it gets to the neck joint. Apart from that I would say it would last and is reliable. Value: Great Value. Can't get better! Manufacturer Support: They sound dodgy. The Wow Factor: VERY sexy guitar Overall: It is a great guitar BUT you should consider trying it before getting it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"hellraiser is an understatement1" submitted March 18, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active Musician
Music Style: Heavy Metal, metal, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: EMG's sound great, but the new BlackOuts would have been better. Feature: What elese do you want? Ease of Use: The Floyd Rose can be really annoying, but overall it's fairly easy to use. Quality: Only guitar, never had a sing problem. the finish is very long lasting, no scratches! Value: Worth it, it's like a high quality Gibson for a little price. Manufacturer Support: Not had any problems that would envolve schecter support. The Wow Factor: Nothing wrong, beautiful finish and long lasting hardware! Overall: I will buy another Schecter! :p
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"=)" submitted December 29, 2006

By a customer from netzero.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: metal, rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: awesome tone for metal. the mahogony is great with this guitar, it sounds simply amazing! cleans are even pretty decent for emgs too. Feature: 2 vol 1 tone, i wulda prefered one volume 2 tone but w/e, also it wuld jack up the price alot but id prefer an ebony fretboard. other then that its awesome, emgs, set in neck, grover tuners, floyd rose =) this axe is simply awesome. Ease of Use: the action was a little high for my taste when i got it but im gonna lower it soon, other then that this thing is light as a feather for being mahogony and can be played for hours. very easy to play and very satisfying TO play. Quality: made in south korea, youd never know Value: this guitar is extremely underpriced for what you get. Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with customer service, hopefully never will. The Wow Factor: the inlays made me blow a load and the black cherry finish had me drooling when i first saw it. Overall: after some VERY minor problems most of them are just becasue of my preferences, this guitar is amazing, you defenately get what you pay for and then some. buy this guitar and do yourself some good.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great for metal heads!" submitted March 15, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock & Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It is very suitable for rock to metal tones. It is just average for clean tones though... Feature: Check out the specs... It is basically a bang for your bucks guitar with all the high end hardwares. Ease of Use: Low action but the intonation is a little out and the bridge needed some adjustments and realignments... Quality: Pretty good overall QC but the fretboard looks dry and there's some finish blemishes, but hey u get what you paid for.... It is a mid range guitar anyways... so don't expect tip top quality Value: It is a great guitar for it's price. Great hardware, overall good tones and good QC. Manufacturer Support: Haven't deal with them yet. The Wow Factor: Nice overall design, good bindings, average quilted maple top and nice inlays. The quality of the inlays could have been better though. Don't forget about it being a set neck too, plays extremely well. Overall: If you are looking for a FR equipped, set neck, metal guitar. This is it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser Customer Review submitted June 17, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound is awesome ill blow u away with the deep metal tones Feature: its great with the floyd rose tremelo and the emg pickups just to name a few Ease of Use: it is my first guitar with a floyd rose so im still getting used to it Quality: the quality is unbeleivable Manufacturer Support: i had no trouble with the order and they kept me posted on it every step of the way The Wow Factor: when i first saw it, it looked awesome. when i finally got it, it looked awesome. and when i first hooked it up to my mesa boogie mega stack it sounded awesome Overall: definately a great buy. worth every penny
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser Customer Review submitted May 5, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: 80's Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: I played a 2008 and I felt the older non coil tapping 81/85 pickup combo sounded better. The new is less cutting and more suited for rhythm playing. Feature: The features were above average but not stellar. The Floyd is a real Floyd and better metal. It still had a slight amount of slop the the movement of the trem bar. The tapping feature seems unnessesary in an active configuration. I doesn't seem to affect the tone much just output. The finish is pretty! Ease of Use: Above average again. I would have preferred a Volume/Tone/Tone config. Quality: Good solid high end componants. There were a few finishing flaws as you would expect from a mass produces instrument. Value: Good bang for your buck The Wow Factor: I almost bought it on looks alone. Overall: I think in the price range I was more attracted to the Ibanez RG Prestige models. The trem was original Floyd and had all of the original Floyd Plusses and minusus. It was great but it didn't have the right feel to it for speed metal. The neck was a bit thicker than I wanted and it's tone was a bit bass heavy.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEAST GUITAR" submitted April 6, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is amazing i think sounds just as good as jem(steve vias signature ibanze) or a nice gibson or jackson Feature: floyd rose, string locks, 3 way switch, 2 volume knobs and 1 tone knob, its all usefull, but i wish there were two tone knobs like a lespaul but its all good Ease of Use: its a guitar just play it, the floyd rose takes some learning but thatts it Value: its not cheap for me at least for me, but its a reasonalble price, and it sounds way better than the more expensive guitrs Manufacturer Support: they made it so good u dont have to use them The Wow Factor: very sexy guitar Overall: i love everything about this guitar, and ill always have this guitar or another sheckter
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Have an orgasm" submitted February 11, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Progressive
Back to Product Information
Sound: EMG´s !!! These are the best sound-machines for express your feelings!!! Could it sound better? Feature: Original FLOYD ROSE: Not a licensed one... it has the true, unique, original and legendary FLOYD ROSE: dive your bombs baby! EMG active 81/85: the choice of many famous players. Separate volume pots for each humbucker, 1 tone, 3 way switch. beautiful inlays and finishes. Quality: Solid construction, awesome finishes, divine binding, this is a ever-lasting metal machine!!! Value: the best quality / price relation... The Wow Factor: this guitar is orgasmic and sound great as it looks Overall: ARE YOU WAITING FOR SOMETHING BETTER???
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My dream guitar" submitted November 17, 2007

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Wannabe J-rocker
Music Style: Rock and metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is my first electric guitar and it was my dream guitar. It has everything I wanted and it sounds incredible. I play mostly rock and metal and this guitar sounds AMAZING. Feature: It has everything I wanted. The Floyd Rose is the best part of the guitar in my opinion but I love everything about this guitar and wouldn't change a thing. Ease of Use: It's extremely comfortable and easy to play. I haven't had to mess with the Floyd Rose yet - tuning/string changing - but I'm not worried about that at all. Quality: It's perfect. Value: I'd have been willing to pay even more for this guitar but I'm glad zzounds has such a great price for it. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with Support. The Wow Factor: I originally wanted the Black Cherry but it was out of stock and I was impatient so I got the black one instead. I do NOT regret that decision. The black is gorgeous! I love the cross inlays and binding. Overall: As I said before, this was my dream guitar and it has everything I wanted. I couldn't ask for more.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser Customer Review submitted August 22, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
Back to Product Information
Sound: awesome awesome awesome!!! this has incredibly fast action, and gotta lov the 24 fret with floyd rose tremelo. could not find a better guitar for the price range. on that note could not ifnd a better guitar for 5,000 dollars more! bottom line... GET IT! Feature: love the tremelo. it doesnt de-tune the guitar Ease of Use: incredibly fast aciton would be perfect for beginners as well as mainstream band players Quality: i got it and, let me tell ya, the picture does not serve it well at all! when i got it, i was soooo amazed by the craftsmanship on it that it was nearly orgasmic. Value: i would think that htis guitar could sell for thousands simple for quality alone Manufacturer Support: i sent my order for it, and got it 5 days later priority mail
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get this guitar and RAISE SOME HELL!!" submitted October 15, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Metal, Hardcore punk, classic rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Awesome tone, the emgs make it perfect for metal. The clean is beautiful, especially if you mess around with the volume and tone knobs. Feature: Active emg 81/85 combo, floyd rose tremolo, grover tuners, mahogany body.. can you ask for anything else? Ease of Use: This was my first guitar with the floyd rose so it took some getting used to, especially since i always go back and forth from standard to drop d tuning. Also, i was a little unhappy with the action which was a little too high, but you can get that fixed and its really not that big of a deal. Quality: Excellent quality. This is a very sturdy guitar, you can tell from the second you pick it up, and you don't need to worry about getting scratches on it because i've dropped it a few times and no scratches to be found. Value: Definitely beyond a doubt that you WILL not find another that has these features for this price. Trust me i did A LOT of searching before buying this guitar. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it. The Wow Factor: Very stylish guitar. I'm in love with the gothic inlays and this baby is gorgeous under lights, so it's perfect for gigs. Overall: I will be playing this guitar until Schecter comes out with a new and improved version of it, which might i add might be the perfect metal guitar.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"that kinky gothic chick form highschool" submitted September 18, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: metal, death metal, grindcore
Back to Product Information
Sound: this guitar sounds amazing, i hooked it up at a local store and couldnt believe what i heard! Feature: comon, a floyd rose tremelo, jumbo frets, emg's, its all here, and for next to nothing camopared to other guitars! Ease of Use: as long as your wise enough to figure out how to use the floyd rose, no probs Quality: very sturdy guitar, will last a lifetime Value: all these revies are true, you really aren't gonna find a better guitar for this price. trust me, GET IT! Manufacturer Support: i didnt deal with the company myself The Wow Factor: this guitar is like that kinky gothic chick in highschool you never got to hook up with, heres yer second chance buddy Overall: NONE EVEN COMPARE! GET THIS GUITAR!
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"IT FITS ME" submitted November 18, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Touring Musician
Music Style: Metal, Harcore, Grind, Shred, if its heavy i play it
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: This thing is an amazing instrument if you know how to use it. The emgs are great. If your unfamiliar with them then your in for a suprise. With my dual rec i have so much versatility. If its heavy i can get the tone w/ this guitar. Make sure the pickups are as close to the strings as you can get them w/out making the strings scratch them. It will optimize the effectiveness of the active electronics and your amp. Feature: The original Floyd is nice but its not the best trem. in the market like everyone seems to think. Don't get me wrong it is nice but im just letting everyone know there is better but it is probably the best you can get in a stock mass produced guitar. IF YOU DROP TUNE GET YOUR GUITAR SET UP CORRECTLY FOR YOUR PLAYING STYLE AND TUNING NO MATTER WHAT THE BRAND IS!!! Ease of Use: The first thing is get it set up for your tuning. The entire guitar is set up for standard tuning. The Floyd may need more springs if you drop really low and of course the lower you go the further off your intonation will be; get it set up correctly for your style. Not to mention fret buzz. EVERY guitar has fret buzz but it can be minimized or tweeked to accent your playing. How do you think Dime got the scream out of his guitars? Quality: The quality is very nice not as good as a full out custom but for a mass produced guitar very good. I recommend hand picking this guitar if you want one. Binding is always done by hand and the maple tops vary widely. There are no two hellraisers that look exactly alike. Value: For the materials, hardware and quality you cant get any better in this price range. Get it set up for YOUR PLAYING STYLE, take care of it (hardshell case, humidifier, polish, fretboard conditioner, ect)and this thing will take care of you. Trust me Manufacturer Support: I have no idea how good the support is b/c i have never used it and my guitar has been modded since i first got it so the warranty is voided anyway. If you take care of this thing you wont need it either. The Wow Factor: The heel of the neck is carved to give you the most comfortable feel on the higher end of the neck. That was what sold me on this instead of a Jackson soloist. The black cherry paint job is phenomenal. I feel that this is the most attractive guitar in my line up of a les paul, rhoads v, and ibanez rg. Overall: The only thing that would top this (after my mods) would be a custom made guitar. Don't tie yourself down to a certain brand or get caught up in the hypes. Find the guitar that fits you. If you like the feel and sound of something then get it. Don't let anyone tell you its good or bad unless they are letting you know how long it will last. The Hellraiser fit me so check it out you might like it too.
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I've got a new favorite guitar" submitted November 2, 2012

By Jesper Jorgensen in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing since 6 yrs old. Guitar, bass, drums, sax, harmonic. I write, play, and perform
Back to Product Information
Overall: Speak of value for money, here it is. Wicked sound and nice trim. All I would wish for is a 5 stage mike-switch.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser Customer Review submitted September 7, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: For high gain sounds this guitar is the best. It is easy to keep the sound very tight and articulate with it. I have a hard time getting a clean tone that sounds just right, but with some volume/tone adjustment it sounds pretty good. Feature: The Floyd is awesome. Actives make it sound brilliant. All around great components. Ease of Use: Stringing a Floyd and tuning it is not as bad as most peoople make it sound. And everything else on this guitar works very well, and with out any difficulty Quality: Not one scratch in the finish, no repairs needed, and it still plays like the day I got it if not a little better even. Very little basic maintenance is needed to keep this beauty in great shape. Value: This is where the C-1 shines. Other guitars may be as nice and may have some nice components, but for much less than one grand? You cannot find a brand new guitar with the same features and quality as this one without paying a whole lot more than what this one costs. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to deal with support and I doubt that I will ever have to. I'm assuming they would be very helpful, but I don't really know. The Wow Factor: Holy S*** is all that can be said about the appearance of the hell raiser. I have the Black Cherry finish, and with the black components and abalone fret markings, the guitar just overflows with sex appeal. Absolutely perfect in the desirability department. Overall: When I first started playing on a beat up used washburn, I decided after looking around considerably, that I wanted the C-1 HR. It has been the guitar that I wanted since I knew anything at all about playing, and it has paid off in full. The only complaint I have is a very small one, and that is that I cannot get the perfect clean tone in my opinion. It still sounds very good just not perfect on Clean settings. Other than that the Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR is an absolutely perfect instrument, and at a very reasonable price.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14HM-QK30. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!