800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158J-ZQWV
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Samson C02 Microphone

These pencil mics from Samson deliver exceptional range and clarity on drum overheads, acoustic guitar, vocal groups, and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"lotta mic for the money" submitted May 9, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I use these as overheads in my drum booth at church / @ the hi hats and ride cymbals. They also pick up my crashes. These teamed with a sure sm57/beta52 drum mic pack are giving us phenomenal sound. The CO'2s are very articulate, and pick up well. A little EQ'ing on the mixer board for taste, and I like them a lot. I rate them a ten for the price. These do their job well. Feature: Semi sturdy feel. I would want a heavier duty Sure or Audix Condenser setup for full time travel/play/gigging.........I play in one place every week and they stay set up...perfect for me.....10 for the money Ease of Use: plug and play........10 for the money Quality: works for me.... Value: 10 for the money Manufacturer Support: I thought one was bad but it was an old cable i was using. I emailed sampson. They did respond. They told me they would replace it if they found it to be defective. I am ok w/ the way the handled business..but it truly wasnt the warmth of Gretsch supportor yamaha support that i have gotten...i give them a 7 for seeming to be a little cold. The Wow Factor: it sounds GREAT in a drum application.if you can make hihats sound good then these will reproduce it well Overall: 10 for the money...at this price buy a pair if your not gonna beat em up too bad on the road...put your savings into your instrument, these will mic it well in a live setup.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value" submitted March 22, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, vocalist, musical director
Music Style: a capella & small group vocals
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Use it for live vocals in groups of 1-16 people. Always satisfied. Feature: Shock mount is just adequate but better than none at all. Quality: Bought it on spec - if it was not good I would not have lost much money. Have been delighted with quality, construction, sound etc. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it, but email I sent asking for tech info never received a response. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal? It's a pencil mic. You want sex appeal in a mic - get a Shure 556. Overall: Would buy the same again in a heartbeat if these went missing.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Dark Horse in Shining Armour" submitted July 24, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music Producer
Music Style: Everything!!!
Back to Product Information
Sound: I luv the sound of these. Let me put it this way, compared it with an AKG C1000S and recorded samples on the same cymbal hitting a few spots. Then i played back to a few friends to hear and see their feedback. Everyone pointed that the Samson sounded better. Sometimes it's better not to tell people about the mic when you let them compare, they always tend to prefer the well-known mics more just becos of preconceptions they already have. Rate it an 8 becos i haven't had chances to compared them with NT5, MK012 or KM184s. Feature: What features are really needed, all needed is there... Ease of Use: Besides cymbals, i have used them as room mikes, but they tend to pick up only higher frequencies. Used them on vocals and they didn't fit my friends, actually was only right for my own voice. They are best on cymbals and as a bridge pickup mic for acoustic guitar. Quality: Does feel fragile, gotta take care of them well.... Value: Come on, look at the price... Whatz more, i only paid 50% of it for a brand new match pair, the shop was on clearance sale.... wow, i really had a deal... Manufacturer Support: Don't know... The Wow Factor: It looks really great... Overall: Stop talking about those big names, on mics it's not WYPWYG, i can name you numerous occasions where the more branded overated mics lose out greatly to the cheaper unknown ones. Like i say, i met a person who kept swearing on a branded mic even though the cheaper ones were obviously better sounding. People have preconceptions that are difficult to break...
17 of 20 people (85%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Samson C02 Condensor mics : Excellent value - great sound. A best-buy" submitted May 15, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi pro musician
Music Style: Classical / Latin
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have used this mic to record acoustic guitar. The sounds is as good as many more expensive mics. Feature: No issues - the mics had everything I needed. Ease of Use: No issues - just take from the box and use. Quality: No issues - I use these weekly in multiple venues. They are robust. They also look, and feel, well-made. Value: Excellent sound, and quality. None better at this price point. As good as many mics that carry considerably higher price tags. Manufacturer Support: Don't know - not used. The Wow Factor: I have it ! Overall: Very happy with these mics - would certainly buy again.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pair of Mics for Stereo Recording" submitted April 24, 2014

By michael king in Fairfield, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi Professoinal Pianist Hom erecording studio of mostly claassical music
Music Style: Classics, Rock Jazz, Ragtime
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent quality and price
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pair" submitted June 8, 2005

By a customer from tampabay.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician, semi-recording engineer
Music Style: Blues-Rock-country
Back to Product Information
Sound: Bright, accurate, and open. Feature: Single pattern, I use them to record live bands from the audience. They sound great Quality: they feel as solid as any Mic I own, or have use Value: For the price these sound fantastic. Actually, I won't say "Any" price but for what one might use these for I don't see the need to spend any more on a set of Mics. I've used Nuemann, Rode, AKG, Cad, Shure etc.... No less quality here, in fact I used one of these mics to do a voice over for my son's homework project, Perfect!! Manufacturer Support: don't know The Wow Factor: There really shiney....who cares the sound great. Overall: until I break them or get them stolen
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Bass Singer Friend" submitted June 18, 2005

By albass man
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: weekend quartet, church music
Music Style: Southern Gospel Church music from Hymns to praise music
Back to Product Information
Sound: It can be used for all four parts of my quartet. I would use it for the bass part if i did not have the Cadilac of Bass mic's, The Shure Sm-81. I was very suprised that such a love priced mic could had those real low notes so well. If i had not ben able to aford the Sm-81. this mic would have been more than adequate. Feature: The factory windscreen is poorly constructed for bass singers. I recomend getting a Windtech 1300 windscreen for the best sound. These windscreens are only about $5 to $6 on various websites. With the 1300, this mic becomes a gret inexpensive bass or any othe part mic. If your bass singer sounds good, everyone else will. It will not make you a bass singer if you do not have the vocal ability to sing that part Value: In my opinion this mic is terribly under priced. It should sell for at least $200 a piece Manufacturer Support: don't know have not need it
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"UNBEATABLE!" submitted March 1, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Hobbyist
Music Style: Acoustic Guitar
Back to Product Information
Feature: Has every thing it needs. Good durable case, foam wind screens for windy conditions, good quality shockmounts. Quality: These are very good quality. I can
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158J-ZQWV. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!