800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161J-Y4YZ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Roland KC550 Keyboard Amp

Be heard on stage with 180 watts of clear, deep power, thanks to the Roland KC-550 keyboard amp, with four sets of stereo inputs for all your gear.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The stuff" submitted May 5, 2007

By a customer from bamlett.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: R/E
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: I don't think you can find anything that gives comparable sound in its unique category. It was like hearing a 19' Bosendorf while playing my FP3. The bass and mid bass were the most like hearing a real grand. I know I've owned a couple. The higher I went up in pitch the less the keys sounded like the real thing but that makes sense since there is no way to get the surface area of three grand strings into that tiny little compression driver lens they use on the horn in the 550. Now if they'd used a compression driver with a 4'' titanium lens then you may get the sound of a real piano because you'd be able to deliver the kind of air a real piano delivers off the strings. The sampled sounds in a realistic sounding keyboard synth have already captured the resonance of the surrounding reflective surfaces so the only thing left to do is deliver roughly the same amount of moving air to get the density of sound (presence) for the highs. In order to do that roland would have to charge another 500.00 to put in a high frequency driver of that quality and the price of the cab would be very high. Therefore the sound of the roland 550 is about as great as can be expected for the price. Feature: You could go on forever adding features once you incorporate a 4 channel mixer in the system. However for the money I can add features like reverb, compression, and such. The only feature that I think is truly missing from this cabinet is the ability to switch the amp from 110 volt to 220 for international touring. These days anyone who misses that is living in the dark ages and I have to say that Roland is sadly remiss in many of it's products for not equipping their musical products with obvious dual voltage (preferably auto sensing) features. Ease of Use: It doesn't get much easier than this. Quality: I just got the amp so I have yet to learn its weaknesses. New it looks great. I'd probably have preferred one of the newer rubberlike finishes instead of the more old fashioned carpet surface which looks great out of the box but on the road and even at home it picks up every speck of dust in the world and every piece of velcro that passes by grabs hold of it. Not to mention that my cats are constantly being reprimanded and sent outside for thinking I bought it as a scratching post. Value: For the price I paid there was no equal anytime anywhere at any price that I know of that could compete. Manufacturer Support: So far I have not needed support for any roland products. I once tried to inform them of an unscrupulous retailer (seriously criminal) in another country and Roland USA head office had no way to process my complaint nor did anyone ever get back to me. The Wow Factor: I loved everything about it except the carpet. The carpet looks great but it is hard to keep looking great. For those who don't smoke but sometimes play where there is smoke -- that stench always comes home with them and it never comes out. Overall: I just got it so it is hard not to like it at this point. It was the best I could find... in fact I'd ordered a 350 and they sent a 550. For a couple days I thought I'd just forgotten how large it was and then talked to the rep who said he'd upgraded me because there was a technical problem with the one I'd ordered.
61 of 65 people (93.85%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland KC550 Keyboard Amp Customer Review submitted April 13, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Everything.
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: I knew of this amp's legacy long before I bought it, and it met every expectation. I tried it in the store, and it reproduced the lowest piano note with a true rich tone. TONS OF BASS!!!!ABSOLUTELY AMAZING PUNCHY TIGHT LOW END!!! I am using this with a full band, and it cut through the rest of the instruments even with half volume. Feature: This amp has four channels, one of them being a mic input. I imagine it would be great as a solo gigging PA, but haven't tried a mic in it yet. However, I bought this for a guitar synth, so both the keyboard player and my synth are going simultaneously, and this amp handles us both with ease. Value: I didn't check out any other amps, but I'm pretty sure this one sounds better than just about anything else out there. But I still wish it were cheaper :(
43 of 46 people (93.48%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Looking for a great amp? STOP...You've found it!" submitted July 9, 2004

By a customer from cfl.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Gospel and counry
Back to Product Information
Sound: I play Roalnd's V-Drums on this amp.The sound is great.We can plug the bass guitar in, at the same time, and both instruments sound great. Feature: The built in 4 channel mixer, stereo links, and aux in's, make it very versatile. Quality: It's got a heavy carpet cover, all coners have metal protectors, easy roll casters underneath, and a steel grill on the front. Value: Sounds better than other brands more expensive units. Manufacturer Support: I experienced a power surge and burned out the power pack. I took it to a local Roland repair center and had it back in one day. The Wow Factor: The unit is sleek and black. The front slopes back and projects the sound up and out. Like leaning a regular amp back against a wall. Overall: When I wear this one out...I'll look at a new Roland!
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"KC 500" submitted May 2, 2013

By Winston Wallace in Napa, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a professional keyboardist and have played professionally for 50 years. I started when I was 11.
Music Style: I have played virtually every kind of music, I even played at a Gypsy funeral once. You name it, I have played it.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This model predates the KC 550. I have had it for about 18 years, have played well over 1,000 dates plus enumerable rehearsals, and it is still going strong. I would love to have a new one to compliment mine but the economy, as a musician, is tough. I would recommend this amp to anyone, anytime. They made me enter a review for manufacturer support but I have never needed it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sounding speaker for big venues" submitted November 6, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: christian
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: very clean, ..warm , ..articulate ...and powerful sound. ...i've only used it in my home. ...it has a tweeter, and 15" speaker, so if you want that loud deep bass sound, it's there. Feature: has a main eq, ..high, mid, low, ....4 channels..stereo, ..one of the channels also has a low impedence input, ..ie for mics ...individual channels have volume knob only, ..and then there's a main volume knob. ....you can run a non powered output from the speaker, ...i wish it also had a powered out to run external speakers as well, ..but it doesn't have that...but you can connect it to other kc speakers to run it in stereo ....overall, it has almost everything a keyboard player needs. Quality: it looks tough and i haven't had any problems with it so far, ...if i had to, i would depend on it for live gig use.....although it's always good idea to have some sort of backup. ...but this speaker looks solid Value: i got it for a good deal ..but i think it's also worth the going price as well. it's a good product....i really haven't come across any "keyboard amps" per se, that sound better than the roland kc series, in particular this one. The Wow Factor: i tell you what, ...if you want a 'powerful' sounding keyboard amp, ..this is the one. But the thing is, not everyone 'needs' a 'powerful' amp, ...this amp has a very clean warm nice sound to it, ..but it also has the capability to make the walls shiver and give you a headache due to the enormous bass that this is able to deliver, ..not everyone needs that kind of capability in a speaker, ...especially if you're just going to be using it as a practice amp at home. ....but if you're going to be playing live at bigger venues also and need the volume and punch and clarity, ....you'll need this Overall: this speaker is more than what i need at the moment, in terms of power, ...it has a horn tweeter and a 15" speaker with 180 watts..... so it has the capacity needed for me in the future when i will be playing in bigger venues, ... whenever this speaker is in my room and my roland rs50 keyboard is plugged to it, i have the speaker only on about 25% of what it's capable of, ..because i don't need the amazing bass it is capable of while i'm practicing in my room, ....but it's capability becomes necessary in live performance situation when you're in a bigger environment, ...so it's pretty versatile. ...All in all, ...it's a very good quality speaker, ...i don't think there is anything you can say bad about it in terms of it's performance.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland KC550 Keyboard Amp Customer Review submitted January 11, 2008

Sound: Very good sound. Manufacturer Support: Tweeter blown after 6 months. From what I've heard this is a recurring problem with the KC550. Now, tweeter's on back order - come on! Overall: I have a 30 year old Acoustic Control Corp amp that is more dependable.
8 of 11 people (72.73%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good warm, rich, deep electronic voices but not good for acoustic piano" submitted September 28, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: This amp is great for strings, percussion, bass, electric vintage keys, etc. However when trying to play a full concert grand sound from my Yamaha Motif XS8 it absolutely fails to deliver...it is a huge dissapointment....the piano sound is like something coming out from a tin box. I am trying to sell this and buy high end PAs. Feature: The amp offers low, mid, high and power boost adjustments. The rollers are key! Ease of Use: Easy, simple to use. Value: For acoustic piano patches....the value is bad. Good for all other patches on your keyboard...warm bass and other electronic voices.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland KC550 Keyboard Amp Customer Review submitted July 9, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: classical trained, thrash/metal keyboardist
Back to Product Information
Manufacturer Support: tweeters blow so much that theyre constantly on back order. Overall: the tweeter issue ruins it.
9 of 14 people (64.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161J-Y4YZ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!