800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12CW-6C2N
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Rode NTK Tube Mic

The Rode NTK Tube is a studio condenser mic featuring a large 1" capsule gold-plated membrane and hand graded and selected twin triode tubes.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"looking for that U87 sound at about 600.00??" submitted February 5, 2008

By a customer from mac.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording/mixdown engineer, producer
Music Style: Hip-Hop, R&B/Soul, Reggae
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: an amazing all around mic. From instruments to vocals, this mic right here is going deliver. Ive had this particular mic now over two years. Nothing negative to say about it. It gives me the right amount of warmth that I'd expect from much more expensive mics. Paired up with an LA-610, this mic gives that amazing big round sound that every hip-hop record is known for, but at the same time very translucent. Simply said.... Just amazing. Feature: I wish it came with a shockmount, but its actually very inexpensive. The 30-foot cable to connect to the power supply was a great idea. Ease of Use: just plug it in, let it warm up for aout a half hour. Then your ready to start recording. Quality: very rugged mic. It even comes in a vey rugged hard plastic carry case that holds everything!! Value: Its worth it. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to call support since I bought the mic.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a great microphone for vocals and acoustic instruments" submitted December 13, 2005

By a customer from chloeind.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: sound engineer
Back to Product Information
Sound: compare it to "anything" out there. it is the best not only for the money! Of course I use a preampa nd I take a little 10khz of(about -2db) Sounds superb on vocals and acoustics! Feature: it comes with everything but the shockmount which is about 50 bucks. compare that to what Neumann is asking for an EA-1 shockmount for their TLM103!! You'll be pleasantly surprised! Quality: very well built
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review submitted November 27, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: artist,recording engineer, songwriter, producer
Music Style: Hip-hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: Well before I purchased it, I did some research on it. Initially I wanted the standard (neumann U87). Alot of my research revealed that the NTK actually outperformed the U87 in quite a few head to head tests. I narrowed it down to three: The U87, TLM49 and the Rode NTK. I tried them out head to head. Eventually I ended up buying the NTK because it is up to par with many neumann mics. Feature: Power supply and mic. What else do you expect? Quality: Built like a tank Value: Worth every penny
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This might be the best buy in the music industry, seriously." submitted April 16, 2004

By a customer from hotmai.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Hiphop mostly, but some of everything
Back to Product Information
Sound: WARM? I don't think that's strong enough, I am sad that I haven't had to use it more, but while using a tube preamp art with this it sounds so perfect Feature: Strong, I mean to me the main feature is the sound... and that's why I'm scoring it a 9. I'm not rating this "for it's cost" I'm giving it a 9/10 against EVERYTHING on the entire market Quality: The quality was perfect, a sturdy case , a rock hard microphone, and it's wonderful. Value: 10 really isn't high enough Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it, so I'd say that speaks for itself The Wow Factor: It's nice, the way I have it setup with a nice popfilter and a few other things makes it even more desirable Overall: Of all the equipment I own and have purchased I'm most pleased with this. I can't stress what a difference a good microphone will make, and you won't be sorry when you hear yourself or anyone else on this mic. I've used it from someone who can sing opera to hiphop vocals and all were definitly sounding great.
12 of 14 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT TUBE MIC" submitted January 4, 2013

By George R in Waltham, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: RECORDING ENGINEER
Back to Product Information
Overall: I love the way this NTK tube mic handles vocals especially when getting close up for bass boost. I have a Neumann TLM49 which honestly isn't a bad mic but for almost all the many vocalists I've recorded the Rode NTK is incomparable and beats it hands down. One thing I find works great with vocals is to to take out some 6khz around -4db. This will take out some of the top end siblance that can occur with some vocalists. The mic works great on acoustic guitars,drum overheads ETC. Will make any home studio sound very pro-like if used properly. KUDOS to Rode on this mic- as well as their NT1A and K2 mics.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"nice, crisp, warm, solid, transparent tube mic!" submitted August 22, 2010

By a customer from pflug.nl
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I use the mic for radio and voice-over work. It's crisp, detailed, needs no EQ whatsoever and you can play with proximity for depth. Feature: Bought it with a nice shockmount. Ease of Use: plug in and go! Quality: Mic itself is solid! Manufacturer Support: never used it The Wow Factor: I have it, and keep it!!! Overall: just superb!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A very sexy microphone" submitted September 8, 2003

By a customer from certipsec.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: This is a very warm, better than real, mike. Any track recorded with the NTK will become a jewel in your mix. A wide cardiod pattern so lots of leakage. Get the SM-2 shock mount and a good stand. Feature: The power supply has a very cool and sexy blue light on it. Wish it came with the SM-2 as standard feature. Quality: Superb. Well built. A tank (can use for hand to hand combat). The circuitry is beautifully made. Value: A tube mike that sounds this good at this price is great! The Wow Factor: Every singer I have put this in front of has wanted to take it home and spend some quality time with it! Overall: I would replace it!
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Decent value" submitted October 26, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Back to Product Information
Sound: For 500 dollars, you get a good, but not great mic. The sound is not realistic, but it very warm. If you're looking for rock or hip hop vocals the bombast in the sound is nice. But if you're looking for clean sound suitable for jazz or classical, you're just not going to get it from this mic. Feature: The clip is plastic and wears out after a while. But the separate power supply is a nice addition. Ease of Use: It's very easy to use. Quality: Sturdy mic that can take a little bit of a beating. Value: You get what you pay for in mics. At 500 bucks you get a decent mic. But if you want the real deal, you're going to have to pay about 2K for a good mic. Forget the hype. There are no short cuts in the mic world. It's like preamps. You want great sound. You need to pay big bucks. And by the way, if you don't have a decent preamp, no mic in the world is going to sound good, even this one. Manufacturer Support: The original I bought was defective. Rode was very apologetic and replaced it with a new one promptly. The Wow Factor: Huh? It's a mic not a sex object.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing" submitted September 19, 2012

By Shawn Siddiqi in Rochester Hills, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love it clean clear crisp!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review submitted October 6, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I can play a few instruments, but I am a Voice Over talent and producer that is why I visit this site.
Music Style: I truly like all kinds of music from Jazz to Country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought the NTK about 2 years ago, I have been relatively please with the sound it produces... There are times when it sounds great, and other times when it get's a little grainy sounding, with lot's of electronic click in the recorded audio. I did by a new tube about a year ago, that did seemed to help make it sound fuller. Feature: I use it for VO work, it does what it is supposed to do, record my voice. Ease of Use: Plug it in and it does the rest. Quality: This seems to be a well made mic, the tube that came with mine was a cheap tube made in China.. it sounded ok a first, but then I replaced it with a new Mullard that actualy was made in the 60's, and it really made it sound even warmer without sounding muddy. Value: Yes. Manufacturer Support: I will give RODE the benefit of the doubt, I have never had to call on the support department. The Wow Factor: It's a good looking mic that does the job... I guess that's sexy. Overall: I hope this mic last for a long time, that does not mean I would not buy some others, but you can build around this mic.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THIS MIC IS GREAT SOUNDING..WELL WORTH IT!!" submitted June 2, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Back to Product Information
Sound: sounds like a champion..very crisp and warm sounding Feature: not too many feature with this mic...but it needs none..very quality sounding as is Ease of Use: slap it on a mic stand...you ready to roll Quality: its a RODE...enough said Value: was well worth the 500 dollars Manufacturer Support: havent needed em yet The Wow Factor: very sexy piece ill tell you..plus my girlfriend like to play with it if you know what i mean!! Overall: THE BEST MIC IN THE MARKET FOR THIS PRICE RANGE
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super Quiet Tube sound, With lots of Shimmer." submitted September 28, 2003

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound, SUPER Quiet for a Tube mic. It's a little hot in the sibillant frequencies, and will need EQ-ing for some voices. You can really here the spike at around 8KHZ and again around 12KHZ. Very Flattering to female vocals, and as well as any warm or muddy sound source. Can really give articulation to dull sounding acoustic guitars. Great for many guitar amps, as an overhead for certain types of drum sounds, and it really blossoms at higher amplitudes. Feature: Cheap, With Tubes, what more could you want? Hmmm.... maybe adjustable polar patterns, an included shockmount, and a hair less high end. Quality: Looks great, holds up well. Manufacturer Support: The folks at rode are a pleasure to talk to, and make pretty much the best mics at each pricepoint.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review submitted February 19, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Back to Product Information
Sound: the mic sound alive when u use focusrite voice master pre amp to pump juice in it. to me and everyone that heard the mic in my recordings,say it sounds like super clean mic and sound very expensive. Feature: power supply any cheap mic dosent have one but the rode ntk has one.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review submitted August 10, 2005

By a customer from comcast.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 YEARS IN MUSIC BUSINESS
Music Style: JAZZ,FUSION ,HEAVY METAL
Back to Product Information
Sound: SUPER SOUND !!! Feature: YOU WON'T GO WRONG ,IT'S A RODE NTK Quality: THIS MIC ROCKS Value: THE BEST VOCAL MIC OUT THERE!! The Wow Factor: I'M REAL HAPPY WITH IT!! SOUNDS SUPER SMOOTHE! Overall: THE BEST
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"what a vocal mic!!" submitted August 10, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: vocalist
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: super duper sond Feature: has everything you need for your studio vocals and acoustic guitar etc. Quality: this is a rode,need I say more? Value: tops Manufacturer Support: haven't needed any The Wow Factor: I got it! Overall: best
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12CW-6C2N. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X

ALL ACCESS PASS

5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER

  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!