800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-P2ZT
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Remo WeatherKing Head

The WeatherKing head from Remo helps to dampen overtones and tinny resonance to produce a deeper, more "growly" tone than the average drumhead.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"REMO HEADS ROCK!" submitted June 18, 2006

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These heads sound amazing. They can be tuned high, but still sound great tuned low. Feature: What features do drum heads have? Ease of Use: Very easy to tune, and they don't go out of tune as quickly as some "other" drum heads. Quality: There were no marks when I got them. They are very dependable drum heads. I don't even bother to have a set of backup heads because these badboys can take the abuse. Value: You really get what you pay for, and these drum heads are worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: I didn't need any support. These heads rock. The Wow Factor: I don't think drum heads really have sex appeal, but they sure sound great. And the rainbow effect on them is amazing if the light hits it just right. Overall: I will probably use these heads until they are in pretty bad shape, which could be a long time. They can handle abuse. I might try the coated tom heads just once to see how they sound and then decide if I want to go back to the REMO pinstripes. But for now, these heads are doing there job and get a big A+.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good damped drum sound" submitted April 4, 2015

By Vicki p in ponchatoula, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: amateur drummer
Music Style: Rock, hard rock, oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just purchased a new pdp 7 piece maple drum set about a month ago, even though the stock Remo 1ply drum heads sound really good to me, lots of overtones, I'm replacing the heads with the Remo pin stripe heads they cut back on some of the long overtones.also I can't say this enough Zz sound isthe best place to buy from super fast shipping, FRIENDLY staff great pricing.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This drumhead is killer-diller" submitted November 18, 2007

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Metal, Heavy Metal, Blues, Jazz, Trance.
Back to Product Information
Sound: What can I say. The punch is intense. When you hit the drum, it hits back in your chest. The deep thud is incredible, while it still attains its resonance. Quality: High Quality. I've been beating them hard for about 3 months and have not had a single dent. Value: Great value. Cheap and great sounding. The Wow Factor: The pinstripe is sexy. Looks sexy. Sounds sexy. Makes me want to move when I'm playing on 'em.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beat on these 'till you be all wore out!" submitted June 9, 2004

By a customer from rebar,com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: If only Led Zep did'nt give up.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Phat! That's right, PHAT! Deep. Rich. I use ZeroRings to help control the amazing amount of rolloff these heads can produce. Feature: They're drum heads. What features? Quality: I've had mine on my kit for years. No, I won't say how many. Too many. But they hold true to tone and take the punishment. Value: Best heads I've used. Cost a tad more than some, but worth it. Manufacturer Support: No need for support, but Remo is still in the biz, so you figure. The Wow Factor: These heads are too coo on account of their rainbow/weird light reflection which is seen at certain angles. Overall: Like I said. These heads are durable. I should replace my snare head, but you guys don't have any batter heads for sale. Bad!
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"OK, But Not As Good As I Expected.." submitted December 14, 2013

By Adam K in Port Jervis, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drums and Guitar >10 years
Music Style: Everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Honestly, after reading tons of reviews talking about how awesome these heads are, I went out and spent 40-some dollars on them. Regardless of how I tuned the batter and reso heads, I could not stop the awful sounding overtones. I could barely even hear the note. All I heard was metallic-like ringing. I needed big strips of moongel and/or Remo rings to cut down, which I'm not a fan of doing. Now I know what you might be thinking. "That's because you don't know what you're doing." But I do; I buy new heads every couple weeks, and I've been doing it for a while now. I did like the 16 tuned low, and the 12 wasn't too awful. The 10 just didn't cut it for me. I think the clear Vintage Emporers are the way to go if you're looking at clear Remo products.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Warm Sounds From A Cool Drumhead." submitted February 2, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: All types of music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a very warm sounding drumhead. On some drums you may need to use some Moongel or other muffling to dampen the overtones but it shouldn't be much of a problem at all. The drumheads sound even better in a recording setting and because of the drumheads wide tuning range it isn't hard to get the sound you want. Note: It might not be the best for Jazz. Feature: I guess the black ring around the edge of the drum is kinda cool. Ease of Use: Not hard to tune. No harder to change then any other drumhead. Quality: This drumhead will last a littel longer then most drumheads (especially 1-ply). Value: OK value but about the same as most drumheads. Manufacturer Support: Did not need any support. Overall: For now I'm satisfied with this product.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Sound and very durable" submitted January 31, 2004

Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: This skin is very durable and has a sweet deep sound - good for rock and metal. I hit my drums pretty hard and there is not a mark on the skins which shows they are strong.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-P2ZT. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!