800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15Z5-KPWR
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: PreSonus AudioBox 1818VSL

Need more channels from your USB interface? The AudioBox1818VSL gives you 8 XMAX mic preamps, plus ADAT and S/PDIF I/O for up to 18 inputs and 18 outputs.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Presonus 1818vsl" submitted April 22, 2012

By Reginald W in Louisville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been a singer and producer for 18 years.
Music Style: Hip Hop, R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Nicely built unit..Very quiet preamps.Virtual Studio Live is awesome. IPAD control not out at the time of this review. I use this in conjunction with Studio One Professional. Very easy to get set up...
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Works even without a computer!!!" submitted January 30, 2014

By Chad H in Longview, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sound Engineer
Music Style: All Types
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was hesitant about buying this interface because of the last review submitted June 5, 2013. It made me feel as though I'd be missing a feature I wasn't even sure I'd need. CAN IT BE USED AS A MIXER OR NOT? However I own the 44vsl which has pretty much the same front panel controls as the 1818 VSL, except the 1818VSL has 4 more mic pres and 4 more gain knobs. "YES IT CAN!!!" What the previous reviewer didn't realize is that while this interface is designed to work primarily with a USB computer setup and the VSL software, it also works great in "standalone" mode even as a mixer. "HOW?" This is possible by tuning the front panel knob labeled "Inputs"/"VSL"(MIXER).In actuality when the knob is turned to "VSL" it causes the interface to depend on the computer and DAW to route any audio signal coming in through the inputs or out to the headphones or back panel outputs. When the knob is turned to the side labeled "Inputs", the interface acts as a small format mixer with very basic controls. "TRIED AND TRUE" I plugged in my electric guitar, turned the knob all the way to "Inputs" turned up the gain a bit and with a pair of headphones in the Headphone jack I could hear the guitar signal loud and clear. It wasn't designed to work as a Mackie or an Allen and Heath mixer, although on a very basic level the Presonus Engineers did a good job of designing it so that it can take in and route sound without the use of a computer. How a professional sound engineer overlooks this I don't know! PRESONUS makes a quality interface!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"PreSonus Audiobox 1818VSL" submitted June 2, 2014

By Richard Applebaum in Sacramento, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Acoustic Guitarist; Garage Band drummer;
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fantastic product! This product provides all the same functions as the model that features the physical sliders, buttons, etc. Instead, this product puts all those controls into software that is accessible via Mac or PC, and from there in a VNC (remote) session to iPad. Fantastic product. People with experience on mixing boards will find it very easy to use. Newbies (like me) will need to read the manual, tutorials, etc. OR, find someone that's using one to assist (local churches are snapping up PreSonus equipment like crazy because they provide great audio mixing and value).
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Presonus AudioBox 1818VSL performance" submitted December 1, 2012

By Mike Patterson in Arrington, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional free to musicians recording studio with all instruments supplied.
Music Style: All styles of recording accepted at Mike AX-UP Studios.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Presonus AudioBox 1818VSL is a professional high quality awesome USB interface.This complete system is the foundation for our studio and works flawlessly.The factory support and online support from Presonus is beyound expectations. zZounds engineers helped our studio in our search for the perfect DAW platform and we are hooked on Presonus. Thank you zZounds!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great deal, Great interface. No buyers remorse here!" submitted January 11, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Sound: Clear, clean pre-amps with a lot of gain available. I tracked 8 channels last week on drums and every track is clean and well behaved. I tracked at fairly low levels and brought the tracks up when mixing with little to no noise increases. I'm very impressed with how this sounds. The VSL monitoring program is very good. The channel strip on each input is nice. The parametric EQ and compressor sound great for clean, uncolored effects. The delay effect is basic, but sounds like a clean, standard digital delay. I'm not super impressed with the included reverb, but for monitor mixes it works just fine. Feature: Tons of inputs and outputs. The ability to use the channel strip and effects on each channel is likely to be more than I will ever use. I do wish the channels in the VSL software could be labeled with custom labels (rather than 1, 2, 3, etc) The knobs and chassis are aluminum. Solid feel and feedback. The knobs have detents, which I like. Ease of Use: Get your thinking hat out, because this is a complicated piece of equipment. It is designed to be that way however, so it should come as no surprise. If you're buying this, you already know you need to read the manual. So get to it. However, if just you plug it in, load the drivers and press record, it will work. The first time I ever pressed record on this I recorded 8 channels for three hours. No problems. Quality: Physically, this thing will last a long time if you keep it racked. It looks good. I wouldn't suggest you drop it or spill fluids on it however. One thing I'm keeping an eye on however: it seems to get pretty hot when left on. I've left it on overnight, etc and I just don't do that anymore. Value: Price per channel this is a fantastic deal. A no brainer for those on a budget wanted an 8+ channel USB interface. Overall: I expect to use this until I have a need to record either more than 16 channels simultaneously or I need to record 16 channels at more than 24 bit 96k
41 of 43 people (95.35%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Move On!" submitted March 5, 2014

By a customer from bigpond.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: If you have a newer computer move on. This will not work with USB3 ports. Presonus have not updated the drivers in 2 years and blame every one else for the issues (Intel, Apple, Microsoft etc). Try a RME or a Focusrite. They work just fine on the same systems, inc USB3!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No use without a computer!" submitted June 5, 2013

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional musician and sound engineer.
Music Style: All styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This interface is completely useless unless it is plugged into a computer. There is an app that installs on your desktop and unless it is opened you will get NO sound from this unit. You can't use it as a mixer EVER. Only as an interface and only with the Audiobox app opened up. Good unit but useless as a stand alone. Previous interface was a Lexicon I-Onix U-82. This was a tremendous let-down for me personally.
2 of 10 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15Z5-KPWR. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!