800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1442-931Z
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Pioneer DDJ-SR

Meet the 2-channel sibling to Pioneer's hit DDX-SX DJ controller. Mash the DDJ-SR's rubber pads to trigger more effects in the included Serato DJ software.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Pioneer DDJ-SR" submitted May 14, 2014

By Anthony T in White plains, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: At home DJ for about 19 years
Music Style: Reggae, R&B, HIP-Hop, House, Neo soul
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What a difference from previous virtual DJ setup! Every time I turn the DDJ on, it works flawless. Setup was sort off tricky because I had update the firmware, it took a couple of tries since i had to go to Pioneer's website for instructions. Once setup was complete the DDJ-SR function great. I had some issues with the unit freezing up but, once i update the firmware to 1.07, i have no issues since. i'm still trying build my crates in Serato, so it will be awhile before i will finish my library. you definitely want to create your crates as that will help your selections to load must faster. Overall, a great product and i'm 100% happy with this unit. Additionally, the transaction with ZZsounds was painless and fast!! A great store as well.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"amazing controller!!" submitted March 29, 2014

By Andrew M in houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: Dubstep, drum and bass, techno, trap, house
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Upgraded from a ddj wego and this is miles better. Awesome features, the performance pads are responsive, big jog wheels, the serato software is excellent. If you want a professional feeling controller for a great price this is your controller. Pioneer made another excellent product which is always expected of them.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love it" submitted December 24, 2013

By Mike M in Shreveport, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Djing since 03 at home and in the club off and on.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I really like this controller. this is the first one i've owned, but Ive used a NI S4 and a couple others before. You cant go wrong with Pioneer. The pads are really fun, and the jog wheels are great too. There was an issue at first when moving both pitch faders at once, but that was solved with the latest firmware update. If you dont need the four channels and stand alone mixer of the SX, get this.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pioneer DDJ SR" submitted January 12, 2014

By DJ Ultimate D in Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ and Producer
Music Style: hiphop reggae r&b
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: There was a small mishaps with the shipping but it was resolved with a credit being issued for the undelivered services. The controller itself looks nice but the software has bugs that need to be worked out. I am currently working with Serato to resolve the issue. I would go with the Pioneer DDJ SX over the DDJ SR. Im looking into returning the DDJ SR and ordering the DDJ SX. it is more stable with the software. Overall the controller is good.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect" submitted January 31, 2014

By Colleen S in Fort Walton Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I just listen to a lot of music, it's my fiance that's completely obsessed with music! It's part of his career as a producer/DJ
Music Style: Funk, Rock, Hip-Hop, Reggae, and certain kinds of Dub
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this as a gift for my fiance, I had preordered it not know it wasn't the SX version. Well needless to say, when I gave to him worried of the outcome he was thrilled! And might I say shed a tear or two. And found that he enjoys it much more than the SX. And zzounds are amazing with trust people to try the product, and pay in installments! Made it easy and affordable!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Controller" submitted January 23, 2014

By a customer from Yahoo.com in Daleville, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ- 20 plus years
Music Style: Hip Hop, R&B, Old School, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just got this controller about a week ago and its incredible !!! I have used other controllers but this is the best by far !! The pro looks and feel are great features and the pads add versatility to your mixes ! I was not impressed all that much with the Serato DJ (too much setup involved with library ) so i choose to keep running my Virtual DJ with this controller and it works wonderful after setting up the parameters. You will not be disappointed with this !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect... exactly what I needed!" submitted December 24, 2013

By Vinyl Guy
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: hip-hop, rap, top 40, pop, electro, dance, house
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was bred a vinyl DJ since '97 then jumped to Serato with control records. Although vinyl is still my overall preference (especially for clubs), the DDJ-SR is exactly what I needed for mobile gigs and recording mixes at home. It's compact, light weight, everything (cues, EFX, etc.) is laid out perfect on the controller, and definitely an easy transition from vinyl!... no lag to reaction times, spinback feature in Vinyl mode, jog wheels much easier to control than other controllers I've tried and (if needed) the Sync feature to quickly beat match your next song versus using the pitch. I chose this model over the DDJ-SX because of the price point and I since I'm more accustomed to a two-channel DJ setup. I have yet to try the on-board mic input since I send all my gear to a Mackie mixer but it sounds great over my system! I was considering other controllers but went with Pioneer for their great reputation with DJ equipment and I'm glad I did! The DDJ-SR did not disappoint and I highly recommend it to anyone! Only con for the meantime is that, since it's a new product on the market, carrying cases are limited.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"my ddj_sr" submitted February 10, 2014

By chuck s in kansas city, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been a dj for over 25 years and my.last equiptment before this was my pioneer cdj decks which I have had for years..
Music Style: Rap,rnb,oldschool,reggea,house,and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very satisfied with the product I purchased and the payment plan makes things even.smoother. now that I have read all the downloadable info on all the extra features and have started puttin them to work.im happy I decided to make my purchase.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"PATHETIC!!!!!!" submitted June 16, 2014

By DJ MATT in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, DJ
Music Style: House, Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: ON A MAC POWERS UP FINE BUT NO SOUNDS!!!!!!! TOO MANY BUGS. GOING FOR THE TRAKTOR S2, WHICH WORKS AND IS MORE ACCURATE!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1442-931Z. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!