844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 201-QX2Q
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Phil Jones Bass C4 Cab

Featuring four PJB 5" speakers in a Baltic Birch plywood cabinet, the C4 bass delivers huge tone from a small and portable enclosure.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"This cabinet is incredible! " submitted April 9, 2014

By Herbert P in Shaker Heights, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing professionally for 30+ years
Music Style: I play most styles of contemporary music including but not limited to rhythm & blues, blues, rock, folk, gospel, country, jazz,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Because of health reasons I needed to downsize my bass rig. The PJB-C4 is just what I need to continue playing without breaking my back and the bank. I am using a Little Mark II amp head with the C4. This combination just sings clear and loud with a wonderful clarity. I am glad that it does not have tweeters, as they are not needed nor are they missed. The upper register is flawlessly smooth. I just received it and am still testing it with my different basses and in different live performance events. But so far it has not let me down in any way.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Phil Jones Bass C4 Bass Speaker Cabinet" submitted January 6, 2014

By John Reid in Levelland, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional player/educator
Music Style: Mostly jazz and R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm very happy with this purchase. I'm not new to Phil Jones' bass gear as I have owned and still do own several pieces that I use from time to time depending on the gig. This cab is probably my favorite so far. It sounds great and is small and very portable. For now, I'm using an Aguilar Tone Hammer head on it and it's a great sounding combination. I've heard that Phil's coming out with a combo version of this cab and I'm planning on buying it as soon as it becomes available.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great tone in a small package" submitted April 27, 2015

By Jim F in Robbinsville, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years playing bass in original and cover bands
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I picked up the C4 Cabinet as the extension cab to my BG400 combo. Great quality product and by far the best sounding small cab out there. This makes my combo come alive pushing all 500 watts. Don't let the size of the drivers fool you. I play a jazz bass through my rig and have no problem keeping up with 2 guitars and a drummer. I'm sold on Phil Jones amps, the tone I have been searching for.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I'm officially impressed" submitted February 3, 2015

By Dwane W in Grayson, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional gigging and session musician
Music Style: Christian, rock, jazz, modern jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was gigging with a Markbass 410 cabinet and really got tired of carrying it back and forth to rehearsals and gigs. I heard people say really good things about this so I decided to give it a try. I was completely blown away. This has the same amount of punch and presence as the 410! It handled my 500 watt head easily as well!Around the house, I use it with my 10 watt Phil Jones Bass buddy and my wife actually asks me to turn it down. This... is a great amp. I'm thinking about getting another one!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Instantly my favorite cabinet ever" submitted May 11, 2016

By David H in Tualatin, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing music 40 years. I play guitar bass synthesizer and can sing. I play local clubs and parties 10-20x per year.
Music Style: I play classic country, rockabilly, blues and classic rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This cabinet literally saved my musical career. I just can't safely carry my big cabinets anymore. But let's not get carried away by how small and lightweight this thing is. The sound quality and volume level that this system attains will blow your mind. My band has two guitarists, each with boutique 50W tube combos, and a kit drummer, and everyone was stunned. (We're not metal or anything, but we're loud enough everyone wears earplugs.) My bandmates assumed I was wired into two cabinets, but no. This little cab filled the whole room, powered by a simple Peavey MiniMax head, with *plenty* of headroom left over on the gain and master (neither level was past 1/3 of max). No compromises on low end response or clarity of the upper notes. (Note: I play 4-string, can't vouch for low B's). If you close your eyes you would think you were hearing a 4x10 or a 2x12. Thanks to Phil Jones, I can now look at smaller more efficient cars to move my gear around instead of pick up trucks! The only reason I did 4 stars on value is because these things are pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for....)
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Who needs vintage? This cabinet has big boom!!!!" submitted November 11, 2013

By Michael Maresca in Largo, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Serious hobbyist bass player
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Punk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This cabinet was surprising. I'd been using a Crate BE410 cabinet that has sounded great. Lotsa bottom end from the heavy magnets. This little guy matched it for tone and oomph at 1/3 the size. I understand the speakers have to move the air to be loud, but this little cabinet did it. My band mates could not tell the difference between these four 5" speakers and the big cabinet I've been using with them for the last 10+ years. Now I want to find the right micro bass amp to go with it to make my gigging rig even easier to carry. My one gripe was that it only allowed Speakon connection for the cable. Not, a big deal as I had an adapter handy, but allowing a standard 1/4" as well would be ideal. Well done, Phil Jones!!!!!!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Powerful lightweight" submitted December 22, 2013

By Tom G in Salem, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar 45 years, bass 15 years, not a pro, but play in a couple of bands
Music Style: band work (bass) is mostly soft rock, country, occasional reggae; at home anything goes but mostly finger style guitar
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The C-4 has a lot cleaner and more detailed sound than I get with my old bass stack. I mostly go for a mellow, finger style sound, and I find that I'm dialing the mids way down and cutting the highs a bit also for C-4. You definitely want to use a head/preamp that lets you do some frequency shaping. Feature: Best feature is it weighs 24 lbs. Compare to my old stack of 15" (55 lbs) and 2x10" (45 lbs). It beats schlepping 100 lbs of speakers around. Ease of Use: Connection is speakon only. I would have preferred a connector that allowed speakon or 1/4" phone plug. Quality: Looks to be of excellent design and workmanship. Value: Hard to say -- it's definitely pricey. In my case, light weight has a lot of value to me and was my motive for buying it. I'm happy with the purchase, but I'd be happier if it was less expensive. Manufacturer Support: I emailed support to get clarification of the 400W power handling rating and received a prompt and very thorough response from none other than Phil Jones. The Wow Factor: Getting so much sound from this tiny cube is pretty cool. Overall: See details below
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Does Not Move Air" submitted January 26, 2016

By Daniel B in Louisville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing bass for 30 years.
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I spent an entire Saturday doing an A/B comparison against my old 1990 Carvin 2x10. The sound was very sterile and uncolored, which may be a plus to some users. But my old 2x10 just sounded better to me. And at the end of the day my conclusion was that it just didn't move any air. I play bass because I love the feel of the low vibrations. This just didn't have bass that I could feel. This was made in China and perhaps some of the earlier glowing reviews were of American construction. I don't know. I sent it back.
3 of 7 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very cool" submitted February 5, 2016

By Marvin m in Richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you are trying to get a speaker for the football field this ain't it but as an extension this is what you need. ..I use it with a 15 and the C4 really brings my sound alive...great middle and highs..it also adds to the bottom. ..this cabinet is the Bombay. ..do your self a solid and get one
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very cool" submitted February 5, 2016

By Marvin m in Richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you are trying to get a speaker for the football field this ain't it but as an extension this is what you need. ..I use it with a 15 and the C4 really brings my sound alive...great middle and highs..it also adds to the bottom. ..this cabinet is the Bombay. ..do your self a solid and get one
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 201-QX2Q. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!