800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12FC-VRTV
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Peavey Vypyr Tube 60 Amp

The Peavey Vypyr Tube 60 pairs tube amp tone with powerful modeling technology. With an easy-to-use interface, the Peavey Vypyr Tube 60 rocks.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"cheap tube amp. but it's FAR from cheap" submitted February 19, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: lead guitarist in gigging metal band
Music Style: Hard Rock, Metal, Alternative, and Acoustic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: it's not cheap. it sounds like a $1500 amp. pure tube sound and top notch analog effects. and the pedal compliments that looper in it. Feature: i don't really think i need to go into detail. there are more effects and features than i know what to do with on this amp. and they all work flawlessly. Ease of Use: it's very easy to use once you figure it out. took me like 2 minutes to get it. Quality: built like a rock. though the knobs could be something other than plastic Value: similar amps i've seen double this price. nuff said Manufacturer Support: not needed. hopefully i won't. The Wow Factor: this is a pretty good looking amp. but it is a little generic. black casing. gray speaker guard. i'm gonna "defang" the plastic thing on it. i think that thing looks a little silly. Overall: just get it. especially if you're on a budget (which everybody is these days) this is THE amp.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This amp is the amp I've been wanting ever since I learned to play, I've played through and owned several tube and solid state a" submitted October 7, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active, reclusive musician...
Music Style: Rockin'-Metal-Industrio-Punk-a-Billy
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: There have been only two "true" tube amps I have played and think I would be fully satisfied if purchased... that is if I could even come close to affording them right now; a Diezel Herbert which I think was over $3500 and a VHT Pitbull, which was close in price as well. Either way, these are made for WEALTHY PROFESSIONAL RECORDING ARTISTS!!! With those two amazing amps aside, being perfect 10's in my opinion tone wise, how does the Peavey Vypyr rate, an easy 8... that's right, I've dialed in tones that satisfy my tone lusty ears that are purdy dang close to the tones acheived with both of those amps, this isn't a plug in, hit a button and sound like Slash or Van Halen right away type amps (no amp does this anyways). But, you can, with the right ears and some tweaking, dial in pretty much ANY sound you're looking for with these amps, I am convinced. $450, 60watts and one twelve in. speaker... I'm happy, and if you're not, keep saving... I'll be Rocking out. Feature: Go to the website to see the list, the coolest fact about these is that while they may be new on the market, your amp can GROW, with the technology with the free upgrades to the firmware. Which to me, I think is WAY cool considering if you purchased any other "modeling" amp in the past, it would soon be obsolete much like the computers of today. Btw, you don't NEED, a sanpera, but they are pretty damn cool if you want to use the looper or the wah (both of which perform and sound perfect. Ease of Use: Easy, once you get it, you got it and the sky is the limit. Quality: It's a PEAVEY and they don't put out crap. Value: Buy one and play it, if you don't think that it's $450 dollars well spent on a piece of guitar equipment, well, maybe you should A) Keep saving your money or B) stop playing guitar, because I wouldn't want to hear anyone play a guitar if they couldn't get some amazing tones out of this baby. Manufacturer Support: Peavey. USA. The Wow Factor: Just hearing about it and what it did over the past year, I wanted one. Stock, I think they are physically ugly though, so I "de-fanged" mine and man is it one sexy looking retro-classy rockin' combo from outer space... Overall: Well I don't know, I think it's just a matter of time before I will be lusting after the 120 watt combo, or maybe even the head... but I am partial to combos... I like it all in one piece, like a suitcase full of destruction, power and beauty at the same time.
16 of 18 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey VYPER 60 watt Tube" submitted January 8, 2014

By Jason E in Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years experience,play 6 string Rythm,I jam at home.
Music Style: Rock/Heavey Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is by far,the best amp,I have ever owned.Well,almost own,still have 2 more payments on it.I use to have an Marshall 4/12 stack,this amp is by far louder and more easier to use.I love it.Get it,it's loud,and has some awesome featuers and sounds.I am probably going to get the pedal for it,I have bought an RP350 Digitech,I think I will resale it and buy the pedal for this amp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice amp for the price. Has cool effects too!!" submitted January 7, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Multiple
Back to Product Information
Sound: Has great sound at high and low volumes even even if i plug an $80 guitar into it. Can easily be made to sound like whatever you want it to. Feature: Cool effects to play around with. I wouldn't call them top quality but they are good especially for the price. Ease of Use: Easy to use once you figure out the controls. Quality: Quality is okay. The knobs feel like they are about to break off is the only problem. Everything else is great. Value: Heck yeah its worth the money! Best amp under 600 bucks. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to call for support. The Wow Factor: Looks amazing! I absolutely love the whole design of it! Overall: Great for anyone wanting to play with some cool affects or just wanting great tube sound for a low price. Very loud!! Wouldn't turn it up all the way unless your gigging though.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice Item" submitted February 20, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Classic Rock, Metal Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very happy with this product so far. I 've had it about a month now. It offers a ton of options when in use which is what I am looking for in an amp. Overall a great purchase which I would make again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Vypyr Tube 60 Combo Amp" submitted February 23, 2014

By Mark F in Argillite, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 44 yrs. I play Guitars(all kinds), Mandolin, Banjo, Bass, & Keyboards.
Music Style: I play different types of music. From Classic Christian to Classic Rock & even some Bluegrass & Country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Only had this a couple of weeks now. It's a tube amp with multiple rack effects and stomp boxes built in. There are an endless number of sounds preset. And you can create so many more. The best purchase I've made in a while.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey vypyr tube 60" submitted February 10, 2014

By Brad B in Manchester, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5 years guitar
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is good. You obviously have to fiddle with it a bit to get a good sound, but once you get it it's nice. Pretty good for metal, I'm sure it can do bluesy stuff too. Ease of Use: Tiny learning curve, nothing major though. But does take some getting used too Quality: Well I've only had it a month, no problems yet Value: I got it for $270. So I got pretty good value. But for $365 I can't think of anything to beat it Manufacturer Support: Haven't need it Overall: Nice little amp. I needed something loud enough to play with a drummer. Bingo.pretty decent sound quality. I mean, I've never spent any time with a 6505 or recto. So I can't compare to the real thing. But this sounds pretty nice, although it does sound muffled sometimes. Cleans are pretty great, doesn't have a lot of headroom though. Overall, good purchase.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Peavey Vypyr Rocks!!!" submitted September 21, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Advance
Music Style: Various
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is clear, and you can get the sound for any style of music. Feature: All of the features are useful. All of the effects, and amp models you need. I would like to get the Sanpera II Footswitch for the Peavey Vypyr. Ease of Use: Just turn it on, and plug it in and you have already started producing great sound. Quality: Well Made Value: It's well worth the selling price. Manufacturer Support: No, I didn't need to. The Wow Factor: It looks cool, I like all of the LED's. Overall: I may not need another amp.
9 of 11 people (81.82%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BUT IT NOW!!!" submitted September 5, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sound quality is perfect out of this thing from rock hard metal to clean warm sounds. Feature: it is beats to get the sanpera 1 or 2 it really unlocks the true potential for this amp. Ease of Use: dial in what you want and there ya go. Quality: very sturdy amp and pedals it just a vrry good amp. Value: very good value would buy this amp for the price. Manufacturer Support: dont need. The Wow Factor: its SEXXY look awesome light show when u turn it on. Overall: the best ampo ut there for the price ALOT better than the line 6 spider..... they sound like some 1 is crunching on tin foil..
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12FC-VRTV. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X

ALL ACCESS PASS

5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER

  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!