800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1615-JRBH
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Peavey ValveKing 212

The Peavey ValveKing 212 offer boutique features and Peavey ruggedness. With switchable Class A-A/B operation, the Peavey ValveKing 212 is built to rock.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"I paid $679 for a 50 watt tube amp and only $579 for a 100 watt with simular features. You cant beat it for the price" submitted March 27, 2006

By a customer from swbell.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician and Guitar teacher
Music Style: All forms of rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This amp rocks, the tone is to die for. It has 3 new adjustments,1 for switching between A and B class and 2 damping controls. With a little tweeking you got any sound thats out there. Now theres no need to spend over a thousand for a good tube amp, this ones a winner. The cleans are equal to that of a fender and the distortion is better than my marshall stack Wow! Feature: no accessories were included I ordered the footswitch, however you dont need it to change channels. but it does make it easy. Ease of Use: It took 2 minutes for me to discover how to use all the controls. The manual is short sweet and straight to the point. I does help to know a little about tube amps to understand the A/B switching. Quality: For the money this amps construction is good, but remember your not buying 1200 dollar amp. The good thing about it construction is that it doesnt weigh a ton (69 lbs)for a one hundred watt amp, this is great Value: This amp is truly the best bang for the buck!! Manufacturer Support: I have owned many peavey amps over the years , the best thing is if you need anything just call. I called and got a footswitch and had it in 3 days The Wow Factor: The logo on this amp is awsome. Very appealing look Overall: I've own or have owned most brand tube amps the features on this one are simple and very effictive and are great. I would like to see the addition of a reverb switch input jack If this amp ever gets stolen I would have to replace it at once
30 of 30 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"CANT GO WRONG WITH PEAVEY!!!" submitted March 24, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist, active musician
Music Style: metal, rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I purchased this amp from this website and it is a great tube amp. It sounds great. With this amp you get the best overall value without going broke. I considered buying a more expensive amp such an Orange or a Marshall tube Amp, but i'm glad i did't. I am very satisfied with my purchase. It is extremely loud and great for anything. I play mostly metal, but it has an amazing clean channel. Feature: My only complaint about this amp is that it doesnt come with the footswitch. Ease of Use: This amp is very easy to use, nothing complicated. Quality: This amp was built to last. Peavey is definitely a brand you can trust. Value: The value is GREAT. I paid 649 for a brand new 100watt tube amp. I'm from out of state, so i paid zero in taxes and zero for shipping and handling. I recommend this amp to anyone. Manufacturer Support: Peavey offers great customer support. I emailed them with a question and they responded very quickly. Overall: Overall, its a great amp. I plan on keeping it until it no longer works. hopefully thats a long time from now. i have no regrets about this purchase, peavey definitely a trusted name in the music industry. And i plan on purchasing another peavey amp in the future, not to replace this one but because i like havin an amp in every room of my home.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A professional amp for a serious musician who takes pride in quality tones" submitted January 28, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician of 10 years
Music Style: Punk, Classic Rock, Expirimental
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: The Peavey Valve King 212 has some of the greatest sound potential that I have ever seen, without the use of effects. The tone is so flexible that many owners believe it to not have such a great sound. Each option is so precise and sensitive that it can be hard to create the distortion that you are looking for, but it is in the amps capabilities. It only takes a good knowledge of what needs to be adjusted. Ive owned this amp for a year and I play it everyday. Feature: Two distortion channels (regular and high-gain also loudness boost) A crisp clean channel with a bright setting and an A/B class tube converters (never seen one of those before) not to mention spring reverb and high and low end dampening settings Ease of Use: It is a large amp that could be considered fragile (tubes) It has alot of knobs and the tones are very sensitive so it might take a little bit of practice to achieve optimal tone editing. Quality: This is a top of the line amp. Its price is low for its quality and in my opinion it is as high a quality that anyone would ever need in an amp. Two great sounding, very pretty speakers and a handful of very impressive tubes. Value: This is a steal for the price. It will be the last amp you ever need Manufacturer Support: Mine shorted out due to bad electricity in my house and I just brought it in and got it fixed for free in a few weeks. Not bad at all. Though it was a slight challenge finding a place to go to so I would not have to ship it in. The Wow Factor: This is a sexy amp. I eyeballed it for months before I was able to get it and through all of my researching I didnt find anything that looked so close to my ideal combo amp Overall: I will never get tired of this amp. I will only get better at using its features. Warm rich tones from here on out.
17 of 18 people (94.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT AMP, VERY HEAVY, SOUNDS SWEET, AND YOU WILL NEVER HAVE TO LOOK AT ANY OTHER AMPLIFIER AGAIN; GO PEAVEY; YOU REALLY DID A W" submitted February 22, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I think peavey has really do it this time!!! This amp has some serious potential to be the front-line worldwide. I am not saying that other amplifiers compare, but this amplifier can make the dead rise. I was recently at a church musical, and many people that were sitting down, had to stand up especially when I struck some "old fashion" blues chords. I play a Epiphone Semi-hollowbody Sheraton II which is a very beautiful guitar with the imitated sound of a Gisbon; I mean that baby looks and sounds great. I play this guitar through this amp, and you have some good tones. If you are looking for an inexpensive amplifier, with all the pro aspects, then this amp is the way to go; DID I MENTION IT WAS ALL TUBE, YES ALL TUBE, GREAT SOUND, LOUD AS EVER, EVEN ON VOLUME 4 IT IS STILL LOUD!!!! GO PEAVEY!!!!!! Feature: This is a great amp, but the only thing that I really hate is that it does not come with a channel selector pedal. You have to do everything by hand on the amp. If this bad boy had a channel selector then you could sit down and never have to move... Great Amp, GO PEAVEY!!!!! Ease of Use: PLEASE BE PATIENT WITH YOURSELF; YOU HAVE TO SIT DOWN AND REALLY STUDY THIS BABY!!! THE ONLY WAY YOU ARE GOING TO UNDERSTAND THIS AMPLIFIER; YOU MUST STUDY!!!! YOU CAN DIAL UP MANY SOUNDS, BUT IT WILL TAKE TIME.... GO PEAVEY!!!!! Quality: THIS AMPLIFER IS GREAT, AND IT IS MADE VERY DURABLE AND TOUGH; BUT THE DOWN SIDE IS THE TUBES. I MEAN SOME AMPLIFIERS MAY FALL AND MAY NOT BE DAMAGED, BUT THIS AMP IS REALLY FRAGILE DUE TO THE TUBES. IF YOU PURCHASE THIS AMP, THEN GO AHEAD AND BUY THE GATOR G212 AMP CASE; BELIEVE YOU NEED THIS ESPECIALLY IF YOU GO AND GIG AROUND; THIS AMP IS HEAVY, AND I MEAN SERIOUSLY HEAVY, SO YOU NEED THAT CASE...DO THAT... Value: GREAT PRODUCT WITH A GREAT PRICE... THIS AMP IS VERY AFFORDABLE IN THIS TOUGH ECONOMIC TIMES.... BELIEVE ME Manufacturer Support: NO PROBLEMS AT THIS TIME, BUT I BELIEVE IF I NEED TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE CONCERNING THIS AMPLIFIER THEN THE PROBLEM WILL BE RESOLVED... The Wow Factor: I am very in love with this AMPLIFIER...... THIS BABY LOVES ME, AND I LOVE HER!!!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Peavey ValveKing 212 Customer Review submitted April 16, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought this amp several months ago for my southern rock band, mostly just because my lead guitar player has the Peavey XXX and we wanted our sounds to be similar but not identical. When I test drove it, the quality of the sound coming from those tubes was very full and rich, and versatile. I was looking forward to going to town with the crunch channel, and for awhile I did, until I also bought a Boss GT-8 guitar processor (I cannot recommend this product enough) Ever since I bought it, i havn't touched the crunch channel, because the clean channel of the Peavey is absolutely perfect in its warmth and fullness for any and ALL of the amazing tones the Boss puts out. Usually you'd play a digital effects setup through a solid state amp like a crate, but the texture through the clean channel with just enough texture from the tubes sounds amazing. Don't waste money on a $1500 amp, this has the pro sound you want!
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great little all tube amp" submitted March 7, 2007

Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hoobyist
Music Style: rock/country
Back to Product Information
Sound: great amp for the money....could use a better more versatile speaker (celestion 75 watt maybe?) the A/AB class switching doesnt seem to make any difference. Feature: excellent quality.. good tone..needs more versatile speaker Ease of Use: very easy Quality: well made Value: excellent Manufacturer Support: no
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This thing KICKS A" submitted February 24, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: lHobbyist
Music Style: Classic Rock, Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Nothing but compliments on how it sounds! From clean to OD this thing kicks it. All tube! I use it with a Les Paul with burst bucker pros and can get about any thing I want out of it. Truly a sweet sounding and very loud amp. Feature: It's got what it needs resonance, presence, effects loop, a good reverb and also the texture control to kinda fine tune a bit. Ease of Use: Fairly easy, a good amount to play with but that's part of the fun. Quality: This thing is sturdy! Appears to be very well built and I have not noticed any flaws. Taking it on the road I think I would have a set of back up valves. Value: I don't think you can find a better deal for an all tube amp than this. The foot switch is not included but hey, another 40 bucks, it's a steal. Manufacturer Support: None as of yet and none expected. Overall: I believe this amp will last me a good long time, thinking about adding a 4-12 VK cabinet. If it got gone I'd get another.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Peavey ValveKing 212 Customer Review submitted June 29, 2008

By a customer from purdue.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is incredibly flexible you can do everything from country to metal Feature: The sound is so versatile though the reverb is a little lacking but this can be fixed with a new tank. Ease of Use: The amount of knobs takes a bit of getting used to Quality: My reverb tank only had one screw in it but besides that its built like a tank Value: The amp is incredibly flexible and sounds awesome I highly recommend it Manufacturer Support: I have not used it The Wow Factor: I own it and its awesome Overall: I use this amp to practice on in my bedroom (and no its not too loud it sounds great at low volumes too). It is the best amp I have ever used I highly recommend it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"VK 212" submitted December 3, 2012

By Jaime M in Mesa, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Retired professional - (semi retired) 37 years of playing and giging. I play the guitar, bass, vihuela, guitarron
Music Style: Christian contemporary singer/songwriter, Prefer Texas blues, Los Loney Boys, SRV, Eric Johnson, but have gigged (since 1982) in
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Nice dark tone. The clean is the best channel, reverb is noisy I don't use it past 2. The 3 band EQ is available but it doesn't tweek the tone a whole bunch. Best to use an EQ pedal and leave the amp with all knobs at 12 o'clock. I own a Classic 50 212, the VK is a great backup amp but is not in the same league as the C30 and C50. DOWNER: It doesn't come with the footswitch! Bad Peavey, very bad.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"PEAVEY DOES IT AGAIN AND AGAIN" submitted June 19, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: GOSPEL JAZZ FREESTYLE
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: REALLY SMOOTH, GLASSY, RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. I ALSO OWN A WINDSOR 100W HEAD AND HAD TO DO SOME TUBE MODS TO GET WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR Feature: NO ACCESSORIES Ease of Use: TOOK SOME TWEAKING TO GET A GOOD CREAMY LEAD TONE. THE CLEAN CHANNEL IS ON POINT Quality: BEEN GOING BACK TO PEAVEY SINCE THE LATE 70'S STILL TIGHT WELL MADE Value: YEAH.........IT'S WORTH IT Manufacturer Support: GOT,MAN INSIDE ON THAT, A FRIEND FROM NEW ORLEANS. SOUND TECH WHO MOVED TO MERIDIAN MS. AFTER KATRINA TO WORK FOR PEAVEY SO CAN'T COMMENT ON THIS POINT The Wow Factor: DONT NEED IT TO LOOK LIKE MUCH, JUST NEED IT TO SOUND DECENT Overall: I NEED THIS. I DESERVE THIS. NEVER PART WITH IT.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1615-JRBH. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!