800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1438-T53J
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Peavey MAX 115 II

With a 3-band EQ and selectable Punch, Mid-shift, and Bright switches, there's no limit to the tones you can create with the MAX 115 combo.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"great amp" submitted February 25, 2013

By jerrod k in wooster, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been thumping away for about 15yrs.
Music Style: christian punk/pop punk/emo etc
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: punchy, bright, warm fuzzy distortion etc. all the sounds i like Feature: the tt boost is warm and fuzzy, the punch is punchy, the midshift (still playing with that one) bright is great for pop punk etc and the psyco acoustic technology is great to add alil extra something. built in tuner would be better if you could use it unmuted Ease of Use: push buttons and rock Quality: its a peavey know for quality and longevity Value: defently worth every cent Manufacturer Support: haven't needed it The Wow Factor: super flexible and doesn't break the bank and at 50lbs doesn't break your back Overall: you get your moneys worth. you are paying less than a $1 a watt. its loud and versitile. all the contouring buttons actually do something unlike some other amps. i have always loved peavey bass amps and this one does not disappoint. if you need power and flexibility but r strapped cash wise and want a trusted manufacturer look no further.
29 of 30 people (96.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Roland V Accordion" submitted March 1, 2014

By Nick Vernola in Cumming, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home play a few years
Music Style: Standards
Back to Product Information
Sound: With that been said, it needed a wide range of ability from Tuba to Flute. I tested 6-7 amps in the music store, they all distorted somewhere in the highs or the lows. NOT THIS AMP ! It was a great choice for me, and certainly my Roland V was a real test for any amp. This one got a 99... while not heavy, if you do gigs, I would suggest caster wheels in longer hauls. Feature: Everything I need Ease of Use: Easy enough for a 66 year old man to figure out. I even hooked up a wireless connection to avoid a tethered performance. No change in sound quality. Quality: Very well Value: On top of it all the price was best of everything I looked at. Manufacturer Support: NA Overall: I wanter to purchase an Amp for my Roland Virtual Accodion, which is a reed less electronic wannabe accordion. Its a wannabe, because it wants to be everything, like a sax, Trombone, Trumpet, mandolin, flute, harmonica, Tuba, Base Fiddle, and Base guitar, 20 different organs and 35 different accordions and 100 plus other instruments.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey 115 bass amp" submitted March 2, 2014

By Greg Daust in Pigeon Forge, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 yrs....guitar, bass, uke
Music Style: classic rock and country rock Plus original tunes
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is so AWESOME of a deal !!! I'm just starting to play bass after playing guitar for 45 years and this amp is just exactly what I wanted ....just the right size and playability for my purpose....AND i LOVE the gain,and effects AND MOST of all the built in tuner !!!!! great amp....you won't find better for the price !!!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Spectacularly awesome!" submitted November 29, 2013

By Vido B in St. Paul, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years, been in bands, have played gigs, and recorded in studios.
Music Style: Blues, blues... and, did I mention blues? Rock, rap, and R&B and occasionally country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This amp is a power house! I currently have the volume on 3 (out of 10), and I can feel the bass rumble through my whole apartment. To clarify, that's with the amp's volume turned to 3, and the volume knob on my bass at about 3/4! Peavey is well-known company that makes great mid-range gear. I mean, this isn't a three thousand dollar Genz Benz, but for what it is/does, I wouldn't change a thing. That said, the effects don't seem to dramatically change the sound like one reviewer said they do, but I haven't really played with them all that much. Overall, I highly recommend this amp - if you buy it, you'll be (more than) happy with it!
14 of 15 people (93.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey MAX 115 II Bass Combo Amp. " submitted February 19, 2014

By Kevin B in Pittsburg, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Self-taught bass player since 1984 and I also play harmonica.
Music Style: Classic rock (60's 70's 80's), blues, 80's metal, old school punk, old country, old/new rockabilly, and progressive rock from th
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great bass amp for the price and it is light weight. Perfect for practice, small gigs, running direct to the board, and perfect for old bass players like me, with a bad back, that can’t haul giant full bass rigs around anymore but still want some power in a portable rig that fits easily in a car. The tone is very good for the price/size of the amp, it is really easy to dial in the sound you want, has plenty of power for me, headphone jack, music input jack and a pretty good built in tuner. I have a pedal tuner that is much better but the built in tuner gets the job done and is a handy back up tuner that you will never forget to bring along or need a battery for. The overdrive is pretty good for a fuzz tone but it is not a big deal because I use a BOSS Bass OD pedal. Overall I am really happy with the amp and the price I paid. I will see if it can take the same punishment my old 1980’s Peavey (Black Widow equipped)TNT 130 could.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey MAX 115 is the amp for YOU!" submitted September 24, 2013

By Brad Chamberlain in Louisville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician for 13 years
Music Style: Alternative/Rock, Jazz, Country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I know you're thinking to yourself, "how good can an amp sound that's $299?". Well let me tell you this amp rocks! As bass players we keep our sound simple and shine with our technique. With this amp you can get so many different sounds. From midrange country to super low jazz notes to punchy rock tones. Feature: Peavey including the sound preset switches and on-board tuner are great. The push button presets help you dial in on the different tones the amp and your bass have to offer. Peavey offers their famous TransTube preset as well as a new preset called Pyscho Acoustic Technology. Adds more bass to your notes without you have to compromise your sound. Best part is it does it automatically note by note! My personal favorite preset is the punch switch. It helps me cut through at shows. This amp is VERY loud. My band plays at medium venues (clubs, bars, festivals) and I have not had to turn up the gain and master volume past 4! Ease of Use: This amp is easy to use and easy to dial your sound in. And that's the way it should be for us bass players. Leave the complicated non-sense to the guitar players :-P. Quality: Amp is very well made. Decent in size and light weight. I believe this amp will last me a long time. Value: For $299 and with its features I would put this amp against any combo amp out there. A lot of people would be shocked by it! Manufacturer Support: I've never had to deal with Peavey before but I've heard great things about their customer support. The Wow Factor: Amp looks nice and cuts through your sound like a panther! Overall: This amp ROCKS! Read below to find out why! Get this amp and it will satisfy your hunger so that sound you've been craving.
17 of 19 people (89.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I've Heard Better" submitted February 27, 2014

By Richard W in St. Johnsbury, VT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: PLaying over 40 years. Bass, acoustic guitar.
Music Style: I'll try most anything - and have played most everything over the years.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's loud. My band practices in a fairly large room, yet I never put the Max past 2 on the main volume control. It's loud. There's two problems. First, there is a definite increase in volume when I hit a low F. Kind of like a big blah that wanted to feedback. That could've been my bass, I suppose, but I'm playing a Jazz and haven't had that problem before. Rather odd, I think. Second, the amp just doesn't have that low end "thunk" I'm looking for. Admittedly, it only uses a single 15", but I suppose I was expecting better from Peavey. It's probably better suited to today's music but I'm an old Motown guy and the amp just didn't cut it for me. There is also some white noise even without the bass plugged in. I'm guessing it has to do with the built-in compressor that probably wasn't set correctly at the factory. But it is loud. Feature: Pretty straightforward controls with the tone section getting added tweaks via frequency-specific on/off buttons. I would have liked a parametric option in the mid-range and also a way to defeat the horn - but that's just me. And where are the effects send/return jacks? Ease of Use: For me, the amp was very easy to use but really lacking in features. Quality: Everything seemed okay with the kinda large exception of the controls, which felt rather flimsy. I could wiggle the knobs around which put me off almost immediately. Not sure how they'll hold up on the road but I wasn't about to chance it. Value: I suppose so given the mea culpa's above. The 15" speaker holds up nicely - I Manufacturer Support: Not an issue for me as I returned the amp. I have dealt with Peavey in the past, though, and found them to be responsive and helpful. The Wow Factor: No Wow Factor for me. More like a "huh?" factor. Overall: The one thing this amp has going for it is that it's fairly light and therefore easy to lug around. That being said, I was rather disappointed in a few of the amp's characteristics, which is rather surprising for me as I've had good luck with Peaveys in the past.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavey MAX 115 II Bass Combo Amp" submitted February 16, 2013

By Josh T in Kennesaw, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years playing and 15+ as a guitar tech. Get together with friends and jam.
Music Style: Rock, cowpunk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Being familiar with Peavey from a guitar tech standpoint, I was interested in checking out this combo for my personal playing. Great little practice amp once you dial in you tone. Plenty of power and punch for small rehearsals too.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You get what you pay for. " submitted April 10, 2014

By c jeffries in muscadine, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing bass guitar 23 years
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This amp has been advertised as a 300 watt amp at 4ohms. This amp is actually 200 watts at 8ohms. At low volumes this amp is really good. The tone is great but if you turn it up loud enough for a band situation the tone goes down the drain. If you are just gonna use it as a practice amp in your bedroom then this is an okay choice but for rehearsals or performances, forget it. I bought this amp and was sadly disappointed. The amp does have lots of features but most of them just seem to muddy up the tone even more.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"peavey Max " submitted April 24, 2014

By David C in Amarillo , TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing about 45 years, now just jam at home
Music Style: Old rock, blues, re- learning jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very good amp, great sound,light weight for a amp that size. Still learning
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This amp Is AWSOME!!!!" submitted November 13, 2013

By CLIFFORD CASH in Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar and bass for about 40 years
Music Style: rock, country, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this amp so I could Jam with my Grandson (I'm almost 65 years old and he is 16) and we love to play metal. I was planning to use a hd500 for a metal bass sound, but, with this amp, I don't need it. My daughter and son in law came running in yelling, TURN IT DOWN!!!! IT'S SHAKING THE WHOLE HOUSE!!!! I had the volume on 3, lol. It is VERY loud and the low end is punchy and not muddy. And it has a direct out if you want to make it even bigger. I highly recomend this amp for ANY kind of music, in most music venues. Oh, did I mention, It's a peavey. Nuff said
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"descent bass amp on a budget. " submitted May 1, 2014

By c. jeffries in muscadine, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: played bass for 24 years, mostly in church.
Music Style: Southern gospel, contemporary christian rock, praise and worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: was under the impression that this amp was 300 watts but it is actually only 200 watt rms. It is 300 watts peak power. That info came straight from a tech at Peavey via email. The amp does have a descent sound. That is if you don't push it too hard. Have had this amp for about 3 weeks and it has functioned without any problems.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Peavy Max 115 Bass Amp Combo" submitted December 17, 2013

By Amy F in Grass Valley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's perfect. Not to big and heavy. The sound is amazing! Dials seem a little on the flimsy side so am being extra careful.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Blem?!? I don't see no stinking blem!!!" submitted March 5, 2014

By Rusty Irons in Lambertville, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 yrs and still learning!
Music Style: Christian rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds comes through again! This unit, sold as a Blem came in perfect condition and plays out great! Like other reviewers, I'm not all that much about the effects or the tuner. However, what you get is great low end sound that will fill up a room. I look forward to taking this baby outside and cranking it up in the summer when we play as a band. It's slightly on the heavy side, but overall, it is manageable and fits in my small Mazda trunk. I love the sound of the 15 inch speaker and Peavy has done a great job putting this together. I also like the metal grill, this thing is built tough!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pray Max 115 " submitted February 9, 2014

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 4 years, bass guitar, I play at church
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am enjoying my amp.I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an amp.I am more than satisfied.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1438-T53J. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!