866-ZZOUNDS (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZZ-JJQZ
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Orange CR120H Crush Head

Plug into 120 watts of Orange tone! The CR120H is a solid-state amp head with all the warmth and grit of an Orange tube amp, thanks to its four gain stages.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best solid state amp I've used!" submitted February 2, 2014

By Chris R in Pompano Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass Player/Guitarist for 12 years
Music Style: Ambient - Post Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was looking for an amp for live performances and I came across this amp. It has a very nice warm tone that you don't typically hear with solid state heads. Doesn't break up at high volumes and just pumping the volume halfway this thing is window shattering loud. Great amp for the money if you don't have it to invest in a good tube amp. This thing is a killer and worth every penny!
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Truly a monster of an amp!!!" submitted July 6, 2014

By Robert E in Dingmans Ferry , PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 25 years. I've been a professional for the past 14 years. Mainly session work.
Music Style: I play anything from country to hip hop. But my love has always been heavy metal. It's what inspires me. It gets me groovin.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This amp has completely and utterly blown me away. I play mostly heavy metal and this amp just rips. The dirty channel has tons of gain, and it's nice, thick, and chunky. But it's a sound all it's own. Playing leads on this amp is just awe inspiring. The note separation is so perfect, great control of all my notes, even when I'm playing super fast speed runs, and sweep arpeggios. The sound never gets muddy. It's stays crisp, and every note is clear. The clean channel is just beautiful. The level of warmth you get out of the clean channel is just perfect. It actually gave me goose bumps. This amp just sings in every way. I've owned a lot of amps, from a dual rectifier, to a mid 90's peavy 5150. And this amp is truly right there with those amps. And the part I like most is while it's super heavy, it's still will make your sound unique, which I personally think is awesome.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid State Awesomeness" submitted July 1, 2014

By Jesse H in Scott City, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pub/Club Musician, 11 Years. Fender American Standard, several pedals Martin Acoustic.
Music Style: Rock/Blues/Experimental
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: So i bought the Orange CR120H about two months ago, at first i was skeptical, BUT i have always wanted an Orange, at a lower price; this beats that in spades, hands down. Two months several rehearsals & 3 gigs later the skepticism flew out the window. Solid State has never sounded so good, EVER. It has it's own unique sound and does not try to emulate Tube reaction, so that's what i appreciated from it personally. I have wowed friends and bandmates that are tube purists. And i have recieved compliments at shows. Get this head, you wont regret it, usefull as a practice amp for your band, if you don't want to wear your tubes, but still want to sound great at rehearsals. Or play it live for small to medium sized gigs. If the gigs are larger, and you need a louder head, simply mic it. Overall great amp, it's my main workhorse at the moment.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sounds like a tube amp even though it's not...." submitted August 3, 2015

By James D in COLCORD, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar for 40 years, play about 50 shows a year.
Music Style: Hard Rock/Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I wanted a solid state amp that sounded like a tube amp and was less fragile and needed less maintenance. This amp fit the bill. My guitarist friends were blown away by the tone I'm getting. I play live a lot and this unit has no problem cutting through the mix. First show I used it, I received many comments from fans of the band: "Your guitar sounds great tonight!" It's built like a tank. The controls are easy to use and understand. No brainer for anyone to check this unit out.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

" Orange Analog CR120H really close ot the Rockverb " submitted March 23, 2014

By Robert U in brooklyn, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40+years
Music Style: 60's Rock ,and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Orange Amp, CR 120H. I received my Orange 120H, next day from Zzounds, very reliable, and great prices! As for the 120H ,well after purchasing the CR 60C in November I was hooked and had to try their version of a 120 watt solid state head ,I wasn't disappointed once again . After many years of tube heads, Marshall, VOX, Fender, ect, ect I finally found a solid state amp that I would consider to be up there with BBs L5 SS ,yes! This amp head ,as do there other CR pro series has great character ,from blues tones ,cleans that sparkle and crunch from the 60s ,I'm not joking ,I was very surprised ,and very satisfied . This head is really the closest to any tube head I've ever played ,really creamy ,warm and soulful ,also built like a tank , I do suggest you give this a try . It will surprise you to say the least!!
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Orange tone minus the tubes and Maintenance!" submitted November 17, 2015

By Christian V in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Touring, Recording Professional musician
Music Style: Hard rock, Metal, progressive and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the closest that a solid state amp can get to a tube amp, let's not forget that this amp is actually an analog one, I got this as a backup, I originally own the Rockerverb MKll but after using this cr120 I consider both of them as my main ones.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sounding, well made, and beautiful" submitted August 6, 2016

By Gilbert R in Richmond, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: 4 stages of gain that is comparable to a tube amp. The cr120 rendered all my overdrive and distortion pedals useless! You can get some great tones out of this amp. Clean channel is nice and warm. zZounds' Play As You Pay is just a genius option for working musicians. Love this amp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"On another level" submitted May 31, 2014

By BJA Anderson
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist of about 10 years.
Music Style: Soul, Gospel, most recently Death Metal
Back to Product Information
Overall: To say this amp is good for a solid state would do it no justice at all. Calling it just "good" does it no justice. I had a performance the same day I recieved the amp, so there was no chance to rehearse with it or even tweak the settings much. Luckily, this thing is a beast out of the box. The cleans have a different kind of clarity. The gain knob on the Dirty Channel covers everything from bluesy breakup to a creamy high gain that really punches through the mix. After messing with it a bit, I couldn't find a bad sound. I fear if I open the amp to see what kind of sorcery is in this thing, I may never be the same again.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"excellent orange sound" submitted October 13, 2015

By Edward K in Shelter Island, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play in bands/at home/records
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's truly as advertised. It isnt the tube 120 rockerverb, but it certainly is close. Really awesome sound for a solid state head
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Broke on me in a few months" submitted February 28, 2016

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought it brand new at guitar center. Straight out of the box, it made a weird low pitched clipping sound the first time I ever turned it on. Thought it was the speakers at first. Never happened again. 4 months later it started doing it again. It got worst and worst every time I played from then on. It sounded like the speakers crapping out but soon realized it was the amp. Only had it for 4 months :( Other than that, I was very very pleased with it. Tone is amazing and clear. I would buy it again but am a little apprehensive after what happened.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Solid State Amo since the L5" submitted March 21, 2014

By Robert U in Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Over 40Years
Music Style: Blues , 60s Rock !!
Back to Product Information
Overall: Orange Amp, CR 120H. I received my Orange 120H, next day from Zzounds, very reliable, and great prices!As for the 120H ,well after purchasing the CR 60C in NovemberI was hooked and had to try their version of a 120 watt solid state head ,I wasn't disappointed once again . After many years of tube heads, Marshall, VOX, Fender, ect, ect I finally found a solid state amp that I would consider to be up there with BBs L5 SS ,yes! This amp head ,as do there other CR pro series has great character ,from blues tones ,cleans that sparkle and crunch from the 60s ,I'm not joking ,I was very surprised ,and very satisfied . This head is really the closest to any tube head I've ever played ,really creamy ,warm and soulful ,also built like a tank .So if you get 450.00 Dollars, I do suggest you give this a try . It will surprise you to say the least!!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Insanely Great Experience buying Orange CR120" submitted February 24, 2016

By Brian Criswell in Seminole, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist for many years and toured as a tech with national acts.
Music Style: Rock, metal, sludge, stoner, doom, grind.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have to give it up to zZounds, the payment program is amazing and super helpful. Musicians everywhere who struggle to buy gear this is a godsend! The staff are super easy going and helpful and I would recommend them to Anyone! zZounds has earned my, respect and business. Thank you so much for helping my dreams come true one payment at a time! The Orange Cr120 is an amazing product!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZZ-JJQZ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!