800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-C4N2
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Novation Impulse 49

Express yourself on 49 semi-weighted keys with aftertouch. This MIDI controller comes packed with drum pads and sliders that map to Ableton and other DAWs.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Novation rocks!!" submitted April 13, 2012

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, hip-hop/R&B and neo soul
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very good controller. Mapped to everything with automap 4. U still may want to do your own custom presets but out the box is still good works with logic and protools 9/10. Get it you wont be dissapointed. The keys feel better than the oxygen 49 and axiom i had both an it feels just right!!!
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Impulse? No, I thought about it a lot first." submitted October 3, 2012

By Benjamin Tucker in Louisville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 55 year, jam at home, play at church, flute, piano, keyboards
Music Style: electronic, jazz,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Actually, key strikes are a little noisy. Seriously, it isn't louder than the keys on my other synths but it actually sounds "cheaper" somehow. Feature: Novation continues to make this easy to use with your software with their Automap software. The adventuresome can "roll their own." It is especially suited to Abelton Live (the Lite version comes with it) and, like the REmote, to Propellerhead's Reason. Ease of Use: The features of this controller are complex enough that you will have to spend time learning about them to take full advantage of what it can do. I confess I haven't owned it that long yet. Quality: I hope that it holds up under use as well as Novaion's earlier models. Overall, I feel the knobs, sliders, and pads feel substantial. Unlike the REmote, however, the white keys have sharp corners which, for me anyway, detracts from the quality. Value: So far, I am very pleased with my purchase...especially with zZounds competitive pricing (after a little encouragement). Thanks, zZounds. Manufacturer Support: Online....compared to M-Audio anyway...outstanding. The Wow Factor: The odd-looking radiator grill end panels are either a cosmetic feature or something you want to try to ignore. I was wondering if there might be a way to replace them....something in 1/2 inch cherry for that classic synth look. There is an idea...custom end panels. I do like the red, black, and grey color scheme though. With the Launchpad, Remote, and now the Impulse, I have my software under control. Overall: After a bad experience with the much cheaper M-Audio Oxygen 49 and researching reviews of alternatives, I decided on the Impulse. I already owned an older Novation REmote 25 which, except for the joystick, has held up well despite a lot of use.
12 of 15 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Music Controller for Music Producers" submitted March 10, 2014

By Steven Reed in Ridgeway, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing Rythm/lead guitar over 30 years, keyboards over 20 years and music production about 16years. Berklee 2yrs.
Music Style: Philly soul, gospel, funk electronic, instrumental ballads.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: N/A Ease of Use: This product was is clearly made for Ableron Live users. I'm a Logic Pro X user and the product is a little dated for that reason. Other than that the auto map feature is very helpful in getting around certain Daws. Quality: The quality of this product is awesome! Overall: I find the Novation impulse 49 provides a big convenience in a tight spot for computer based and live producers! The auto map feature allows you to focus more on creativity instead of spending too much of DAW set up.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bummer " submitted September 26, 2013

By joel foust in paulsboro, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home producer and keyboard player
Music Style: hip hop and r&b
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this a month ago, and 3 of the lights for the mute/solo buttons went out. I called Novation, and they insist on sending via mail to a repair facility miles away - with no definite time for me to receive it back. I feel pretty ripped off right now, and I don't think I will buy anything from Novation again. I heard complaints about their products online, but I gave them the benefit of the doubt. I didn't think the same thing would happen to me. Well, it did. Take it from me - buy at your own risk. You have been warned.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy This At Your Own Risk" submitted September 23, 2013

By foust joel in paulsboro, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home and produce at home recording studio
Music Style: Hip Hop and R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just bought this a little over a month ago, and the mute/solo buttons stopped lighting up - they went completely dark. They seem to still work when you push them as far as muting and soloing the tracks, but they don't light up. I am really disappointed with Novation. $400 isn't exactly spare change when purchasing a keyboard controller. I would like to think the thing would work properly for at least a few years - if not more. I contacted Novation, and they gave me a place in Pennsylvania that does repairs. The guy is supposed to call me back tomorrow. Right now I have no idea how long this is going to take, but this is definitely an inconvenience. Who wants to go through this aggravation after buying something a month ago? The part that really ticks me off is the fact that is is just over th zzounds 30 return policy, so they won't let me return it. If you don't won't to go through what I am right now, don't buy this thing! I am not going to buy anything from Novation ever again. This guy had the same problem on youtube - look what happened to him: http://youtu.be/YNLr3KjbT4M
3 of 9 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-C4N2. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!