800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20D-Y029
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Marshall 2061X Head

Plug into this all-tube head for huge tone out of a tiny package. Choose between the lead and bass channels on this EL84-powered head to sculpt your tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"THE 2061X AMP HEAD IS THE BOMB!!!" submitted June 18, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: ROCK/BLUES
Back to Product Information
Sound: This amp is just awesome! Although very expensive you can see and hear the quality and it really comes through in a huge way. I needed am amp for giging as i dont dare take my vintage Marshalls from my home this amp has tons of head room and can get though any mix and is loud enough as any of my 60 watt Marshall or Fender amps. I have played many venues that seat 5000 people and we mic the amp and it comes through loud and clear. Crank it and it is all Plexi overdriven rock tones and turn it down and get the nice cleaner blues tones. Versatile as they come! Feature: I like the idea it is all knobs and no swtiches and also the fact that it is a no nonsense amp with just a volume and tone knob and thats it. Makes it great for giging. The only reason i rated a 9/10 is no reverb but use any reverb box and that is taken care of but you really dont eveb need it. When this amp is cranked is naturally gives off a very small reverb tone when using the 2061cx cab. I dont know why it does this but it is a nice sweet spot. Quality: Hand made and the quality is great. Not flimsy but very well made. Value: Hey a bit pricey but you only get what you pay for. Manufacturer Support: I called Marshall for some tech support when i first bought it and the tech spoke to me for 35 minutes on the phone and made sure i was satisfied with the answers to my questions and call. The Wow Factor: Has a great vintage look to it and it very light weight.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Money well spent for a quality product." submitted June 22, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist/Musician
Music Style: Rock/Blues/Billy
Back to Product Information
Sound: Wow what a tone with no tricks or buttons to push. Sound is huge and very loud. So light for gigs and mand made to boot. What a package! Feature: Not many buttons but this is the best part of it. I get my tone adjusted very quickly in the dark when gigging. Quality: Hand made and wired. Quality stands out big time! Value: Pricey but worth it! Manufacturer Support: Spoke to Marshall to ask about reverb and they had me on the phone for 30 minutes. The Wow Factor: Exellent vintage look with plexi tone. Overall: i have no plans to sell.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"True Vintage Tone" submitted March 8, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Studied Classical Guitar for 3 years at the University level, Playing Blues/rock for 35 years.
Music Style: Blues, rock, classical, and bass.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This amp is pure Marshall tone! It distorts at the higher volume settings which would satisfy all who desire that classic rock sound. And for us blues players, just roll back the volume and it cleans up very well. This is only with a Strat, a cable, and a pick! Add some analog boutique fx pedals, and you will sore to heights where Stevie and Jimi dwell! Feature: The best thing about the features is its simplicity. Volume and tone is all this amp needs. Ease of Use: This amp is the easiest to use. I run the following fx in front: FOXROXX CC2, ZTF flange, ZIM distortion; ANALOG.MAN BiCompressor, King of Tone, Modified Tube Screamer; EH Deluxe Memory Man; TEESE Picture Wah...etc. Quality: The fit and finish are superb. It looks like a very desirable amp where one might be tempted to buy it as a collectable investment. Value: Anything that was developed during the "Golden Era" of rock and roll, ie. '68 -'72 is worth a second look. The price of this amp it worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: No problem. You can register the product at Marshall's website. The Wow Factor: This amp screams....Vintage. Overall: I own about 7 other amps (mostly Marshall and Fender). This amp stands out by itself! VERY SATISFIED!!!
2 of 9 people (22.22%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No Way, unless you gave it to me" submitted February 24, 2007

By a customer from spotcheckbilly.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording artist
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
Sound: 20 Watts tube... It sounds like you would think 20 watts of tube should. Turn it up, distortion and feedback Feature: How har should a 20 watt amp be to operate? Ease of Use: Plug it in, turn it on, turn it up, play. Quality: Marshall Quallity is abouth Value: Resale a 20 watt tube amp that cost you over a $1000, I doubt you will see 10# of your mony back Manufacturer Support: Marchall is a great company. Why a 20 watt tube head for this price? Have they lost it? The Wow Factor: The only appeal of this amp is the Logo - Marshall. Overall: I own 2 20 - 30 watt tube amps that sot 1/10 of this one and they are great amps
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What are you waiting for?" submitted November 1, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is the tone the "cheaper" amps emulate! A real guitar player only needs volume and tone and this amp provides that option in spades. want more distortion? Jump the channels! Buy a fancy pedal! Want more volume than this amp puts out? Mic it it and have some put in your monitor! Not "fuzzy" enough for you? Chances are you can't really play. Can't afford it? Buy a Line 6 and pretend, or invest in your craft! Want tone? Use this amp. Feature: It's simplistic, it's durable, it's old school construction and it does not diappoint. Ease of Use: You'd have to be a moron to not be able to figure this on out Quality: Absolutely fabulous! This amp records really well too. Value: It's a hit in the wallet but worth every penny! Manufacturer Support: Never had a reason to call Overall: For that classic plexi tone at a volume level that won't kill your pets, spouse or neighbors, this is the real deal
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No bang for your hard earned buck!" submitted August 1, 2006

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Classic rock/classic metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: It has to have almost no sound whatsoever. Ease of Use: A monkey could use it, just has 2 controls for each channel. Value: Hell no! $1,850 for a 20W amp head?!?! Man, you could get some screaming 100+ all-tube power for half that! What a rip-off!
4 of 26 people (15.38%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Vintage Hand Wired Marshall Crunch @ 20 watts" submitted December 28, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Pure Tone. Power tube EL84 crunch. Very harmonically rich in tone. Feature: 2 knobs per side Quality: Solid. Hand Wired. Birch Cab Value: Expensive but you pay for what you get know a days Manufacturer Support: Called once and they answered and were informative The Wow Factor: Very Sexy! Vintage Marshall looks and feel Overall: Completely Satisfied
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20D-Y029. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!