800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176D-40WW
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: MXL770 Condenser Mic

Experience both a silky, up-front high-end response and solid low-frequency response with the phantom-powered MXK 770.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best Microphone in his price range !!!!" submitted November 14, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: R&B & Rap
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound Is sooo damn goodddd, clear and warm !!! Better then the rode nt1000 and beringer B1 & 2
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MXL 770 review!" submitted April 23, 2006

By a customer from shaw.ca
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Active Musician
Music Style: Mostly Rock, Pop, Alternative
Back to Product Information
Sound: I would recommend this mic for someone looking to upgrade from a Shure 57 or 58. It is quite good for acoustic instruments and vocals are just okay. Depending on the timbre of your voice, you may have to eq out some harshness. Feature: Package included a carrying case and isolation mount. Ease of Use: How easy can it be? Just make sure that you have access to phantom power! Quality: This is not something that I'd take on the road and it seems like a "studio only" back-up mic. The finish is well done and I've dropped it once with no ill-effects. Value: Pretty solid value for money. Manufacturer Support: N/A --- I haven't required support.
23 of 25 people (92%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pleasant price and even more pleasant surprize..." submitted July 14, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home Studio Owner, Songwriter
Music Style: Hip-Hop, RnB, Dance and wherever emotion takes me
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Captures even subtle nuances and characteristics...i use it for vocals only Feature: 2 switches were and surprizing bonus Ease of Use: Shockmount not as sturdy as one wouldlike it to be...have to make occasional adjustments Quality: For the price, I have to say I'm rather impressed Value: Great value because it exceeded expectation for the price range...I held my breath, but know I breathe a sigh of relief, it does its job well Manufacturer Support: Hopefully I will never need it The Wow Factor: Black is my favorite color so it is definately sexy Overall: I intend to purchuse a better mic in the future (and it's not because of this mics' performance) and this mic wont be collecting dust, its a keeper...
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

MXL770 Condenser Mic Customer Review submitted November 23, 2008

By a customer from windsterm.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: rap hip/hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: I give the sound a 10 for the price plus i cant really hear any differnce between the vocals I lay down compared to the ones of people in the industry...... Feature: came with a nice black case nice shock mount that not really that strong Ease of Use: very easy to use Quality: ive never really used nothing else except a behearing b1 mic and its way better than that so 10 Value: best in its class Manufacturer Support: never needed it so 10 The Wow Factor: very good color dont need much attention Overall: best mic for the price
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get MXL 770 or Die Trying !!! Huhuhahuahua" submitted June 13, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician", "Recording Engineer",
Music Style: R&B HipHop
Back to Product Information
Sound: I give it a 10 because this mic is just perfect for my needings. It's just the ultimate Rap Mic in his Price Range and better ! I Had several mic's including : Rode NTK, Rode NT1A, Rode NT1000, SE2200A, Behringer B1. The most of the condensermics are shining with Sing Vocals but when you start to Rap in those mics they they get very much distortion. Because the Capsule inside cant handle the pressure with rap vocals. But the MXL770 got a little 20mm capsule diagram, and when you open up the mic you can see that there is a 2nd eeny meeny popkiller in front of the capsule itselff, verry special in my opinion never see it before by other mics I used. So it's verry dificullt to distort this capsule, is very good protected and it's just 20mm in size. So you can wonder why is just a soo gooed rap vocal mic. I love this mic, I got the best tracks made with this one, better then de rode se and behringer. De Rode is shining with sing vocals. Feature: Comes with a verry good shockmount and case and I like the black collor :) Ease of Use: It's easy to get great sound out of this mic if you know what you are doing, you mixing skillz have too be good like mine and this mic wouldn't dissapoint you. It cost only 80 euro's !!! Quality: Just perfect and sexy and the collor is beautifull black !!! Value: Best Mic in his price range, and it cost just 80 euro's !!! Manufacturer Support: Never had problems with mxl products. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal is perfect !!! beautifill black collor. Overall: A Life Time !
9 of 12 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An excellent value!" submitted March 26, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Sound: This really is a nice mic. For the price, you can't go wrong. Full featured and fairly transparent. Feature: All you could ask for in addition to the db cut and pad is possibly more patterns. Quality: Not perfect cosmetically but, what is? Value: This is where this mic really shines. Great sound out of an affordable package. An excellent "first" microphone.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Feedback" submitted October 27, 2012

By Cortez Horn in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing couple of years, no instruments mainly software I have a small in house studio
Music Style: no specific style, what ever comes out.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Absolutely incredible. Pleases by the quality and design, worth every penny
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"xxl70" submitted April 16, 2014

By sterling c
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years
Music Style: Home rap
Back to Product Information
Overall: Good mic for price
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176D-40WW. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!