800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1415-J40Z
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Martin OMCPA4 Acoustic

This versatile Martin acoustic-electric guitar is perfect for solo performance, on stage with a band, and in the studio.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"It cannot get any better" submitted April 18, 2012

By Jesus R in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Humble
Music Style: Alternative, folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a sound-machine, whether plugged or not. The scalloped hybrid system that Martin devised (and patented) make it much more delicious than just about any acoustic you're ever likely to try. The Fishman Analog does the most important thing acoustic electronics can do: it stays out of your way. Feature: The spruce has the polished and perfect look that we've come to expect. The sapele is satin, and quite lovely. Even the finish makes this guitar feel like your favorite pair of jeans. When comparing it to Martins that cost twice the price (because of the electronics), you have to ask yourself whether you want a perfect acoustic or whether you want Garageband inside your guitar. Ease of Use: This is the lightest, loudest (for its size and even compared with its bigger, non-OM brethren, the DCP4A), best-made, and most comfortable instrument in its class. No guitar is a Swiss-Army knife, but this instrument almost makes you want to remain perfectly monogamous. Quality: USA, folks. Out of the box, you can tell that someone took pride in making this little gem absolutely perfect. Value: Everytime you play this beauty, you feel like you've saved two-thousand dollars. There are few guitars with this kind of value (Gibson 50s tribute Les Paul, the new Epiphone Masterbilt 500 [after an action adjustment]). Very few guitars come close in value. Manufacturer Support: I've dealt with Martin for other priceless gems (not for this one). Martin is an A+ company. The Wow Factor: It's beautiful; it's lightweight; it's elegant. That said, it is quite unadorned, but I personally appreciate that look. Overall: If I were in the proverbial burning house, and I could only take one instrument, this perfect OM woud be the one.
18 of 19 people (94.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You guys are awesome!!" submitted December 2, 2012

By Devin Abraham in Norfolk, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar, bass, and drums...
Music Style: Alt-rock, garage-rock, psychedelic, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm in the Navy, and I decided to try the pay as you pay plan. I got my shiny new Martin, which I've dreamed of owning my whole life... It came to my ship in perfect condition, and plays like a dream! It's like no other guitar that I've ever owned! Thank you guys for giving me a way to make it happen so that I can make it through deployment by songwriting :)
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice guitar!" submitted February 2, 2014

By Gil K in San Marcos, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Songwriter; playing guitar 50 years.
Music Style: conglomeration
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Reasonably priced for a Martin. Has Martin made-in-USA quality throughout. Was tuned right out of box and has kept perfect tuning for months without needing any readjustment, unlike my Guild. Sounds great with or without Fishman plugged in. The first Martin I've owned and I couldn't be happier. Love the cutaway design. My go-to guitar when writing songs. Nice hard-case too.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pretty Awesome" submitted April 8, 2014

By Kaulana M in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional
Music Style: Hawaiian
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is amazing! This guitar sounds perfect for my diverse playing style - lead and rhythm guitar. It's super compatible with my music style. It really matches any setting, because it has a tone control, that sounds really good either at max or at min. Feature: The woods used were almost the best woods for me. I love a real woody sound to my guitar, and this represented that almost perfectly. Something like a walnut, maybe, could have been better, but I'll have to experiment more. Ease of Use: This guitar is super easy to get a dynamic range of sounds from. You can get super clear, bright sounds, or just kind of a muddy sound for lead guitar. Quality: It is made very well, super reliable, yet I would be very, very careful with it, and I think this guitar will last for my whole life (I'm a teen by the way). Value: I think this guitar is somewhat worth the price. I can't complain, because it's a very awesome guitar, but I could go for either gloss back and sides, or an abalone rosette. Manufacturer Support: I actually ordered this guitar through a local music store, who ordered it through Martin, but my music store was very, very nice. They were so awesome! The Wow Factor: This guitar definitely deserves 4 stars, because it's not the best guitar, cosmetically. It could use some fancier features that could be like a deluxe model. But it definitely deserves a high rating. Overall: This is a fantastic guitar. Nice improvement from my last guitar. Better electronics, better sound, better feel, and I'm glad I've been studying guitars for the time I've been studying them. This really gave me a huge boost of energy. I can't put it down, it's so beautiful. I want to get a OMCPA1 someday, because it is cosmetically, a very beautiful guitar. I'm having so much fun with it. It's super comfortable, and just awesome. I think I would want gloss back and sides, though, and some abalone binding and an abalone rosette too, but this is perfect for now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Purely awesome" submitted February 25, 2014

By Byron Burnham in Orange, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 7 years, and just recently started playing drums a few months ago. I play in a band an jam at every
Music Style: Rock, country, hip hop, blues, and electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is by far one of the easiest, best playing guitar I've ever played. With the body being not as wide as the other models makes it a lot more comfortable to play. This guitar has so much tone hooked up to not will blow your mind, and you can't beat the deal that zzounds has. What a better way to have what you want right then and there, without having to spend all the money up front.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"So-So" submitted February 27, 2014

By Michael P in Georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: On stage, recording general playing.
Music Style: Classic rock, country, folk & bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I feel the guitar is overpriced. The synthetic fingerboard is a poor substitute for wood. The action was horrible and a bow in the neck. The sapele back and sides are esthetically unpleasant and sounds nothing like mahogany. I returned the guitar and was told by ZZ that I had damaged it. I had not that Is the way that I recieved it. The damage happened at Martin as it came in its unopened factory box. It had mars and dents in the neck that I feel were due to having it in the neck holding device and trying to take the bow out by turning the truss rod. Eventually ZZ saw that I had mentioned that in my original review and agreed not to charge the 10%. That has been awhile and I still have not received a refund or credit. ZZ has not responded to my email. Overall this is a decent $600 guitar and a poor $1300 guitar. I own Gibsons, Martins, Gretchs Fenders etc and this was by far and away the worst experience that I have had. It is not a bad guitar, but needed a complete setup and as stated the sapele in my opinion is a poor substitute for Mahogany. I feel that it is overpriced. I will never buy a sapele wood back or richilite finger board guitar again.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cool guiatar" submitted February 28, 2014

By ron b in Decatur, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar off and on for 20+ years
Music Style: Rock , Southern Rock , Country , Blues , Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this guitar has excellent playability , action and resonance, nice tone and is well worth the price. This is my very first Martin and I am satisfied.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent overall" submitted November 19, 2013

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: seasoned unprofessional
Music Style: whatever works on a steel string guitar
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great service, will shop here again. Very satisfied with this purchase. Solid wood, great price, no regrets & that new martin smell.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Extremely Disappointed" submitted January 31, 2014

By Michael P in Georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years...acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, bass, violin, play shows and at home.
Music Style: folk, bluegrass, country, rock, fingerstyle.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Right off the bat this guitar had an extremely high action and a rather prominent bow in the neck. On the back of the neck were dents, not in the finish but the wood. There is no truss rod wrench so I had to make a trip to town to find a hex that would work. Adjusted the truss rod and made a new saddle and got the action nice. The wood is plain and rather unattractive. I have an HD 28 and an 00 18 and this guitar is not in their class. As far as sound, Too much sustain, little bass and treble and it is completely dominated by the midrange. All notes seem to run together to make a brassy roar. A lot of that is due to the synthetic fingerboard, bridge, nut, saddle and the mahogany wannabe wood Sapele...it is advertised as being similar to mahogany...not even close. I made a huge mistake in getting this instrument and am extremely disappointed that Martin would send a guitar with such a poor setup. It was my mistake buying a guitar on the reputation of the company. I expected more. Martin will not get my trust again. I have a lot of guitars from various makers, Fender, Gretsch, Gibson, D'Angelico.....this is by far and away the worst guitar that I have owned considering the price paid. The HD 28 and the 00 18 that I have are fantastic...but this......it will go in the pile of "Don't make the grade" instruments. It did have a nice case though.... Now I'm $1300 in the hole and still trying to find a decent fingerstyle guitar.....
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1415-J40Z. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!