800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156G-G973
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Martin GPCPA4 RW Guitar

This modern Martin combines warmth and crisp clarity, thanks to a solid spruce top, solid rosewood back and sides, and Grand Performance cutaway body style.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Martin Delivers" submitted January 19, 2013

By Stephen J in West Lafayette, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for year and half. Mostly play at home.
Music Style: Retro Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Two weeks ago I purchased the Martin GPCPA4 Rosewood Performing Artist Acoustic-Electric Guitar from zZounds. This was not my first Martin, but it was my best to date. I have a Martin DX1 RAE and a Martin D16RGT. They are both fine guitars, but the GPCPA4 Rosewood is in my opinion a better guitar. I was impressed with the quality of sound right out of the box. The guitar came with a hard case as well. Deep rich bass and outstanding middle and highs. The sustain on this guitar is awesome! I am very impressed with this guitar overall. This guitar doesn't have the overly bright sound of most of the other guitars I compared it against, while chosing a new guitar. Even unpluged this guitar has great volume. The only thing it doesn't have that I would of prefered, would be a total gloss finish, not just the solid sitka spruce top, but that said it still looks beautiful. I would highlyreccomend this guitar.
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent guitar!" submitted June 4, 2012

By Kino M in Anchorage, AK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 23 years experience
Music Style: rock, blues, christian, reggae, rnb and pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very happy with my purchase of this guitar. First, thank you zzounds for your excellent customer service! This guitar just looks gorgeous. I picked this over a dreadnought just because I really liked the looks of it better and the sound is very well balanced! With the grand performance body, you don't loose the loudness of a dreadnought at all and you get this beautiful body shape and style at the same time. I love standard martins, but this performance artists series just suits me better because the neck profile is very fast and smooth and the bridge spacing is a lot better than any other models I've tried. Read about the neck profile details and bridge spacing of this guitar and you would know what I'm talking about. The guitar is very versatile. The cutaway is great because I play up there too. Unplugged, the sound is crisp, warm, balanced! Not too much bass that overwhelms mids and trebles. Plugged in, the sound becomes even better!!! THe fishman pickup is just amazing! You get a tuner built in too and that's very helpful to any musician I would say. Trust me, you will love this guitar unplugged or plugged in. I agree with other people saying that this guitar sounds like Martin and Taylor combined. How cool is that? Warm and crisp sound combined. Overall, I would recommend this guitar and for the price, you get the best bang for the buck! All solid wood, fishman pickup, glossy top satin sides, cutaway, big tuners, fast neck, great sound plugged/unplugged, beautiful case and it really smells good like a fresh wood its addicting! Thank you zzounds for a wonderful experience!
36 of 37 people (97.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Martin Rosewood GPCPA4" submitted July 30, 2013

By Ron K in Fishersville, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I usually play at home but sometimes in public. I have played for 50 years.
Music Style: Folk, Soft Rock, Country, Christain
Back to Product Information
Overall: I recently purchased this guitar. I had been looking to make a purchase as a retirement gift for several years. I spent as lot of time doing research as I felt this might be my last major guitar purchase. I couldn't have been more pleased. I always wanted a rosewood guitar as opposed to mahogany (every guitar I had bought in the past were mahogany.) First the appearance of the guitar was outstanding, like a work of fine art. The most important factor, however, was how the guitar sounded. I was very pleased with the rich, balanced sound. It was typical Martin sound, something that other guitar manufacturers are still trying the figure out. The amplified sound was also top of the line. Finally, I found that this guitar was easy to play. I know that Martins traditionally are tougher to play, but not with this one. You bought a Taylor for its ease of play and a Martin for the sound. This guitar has both. When you pick this guitar up you immediately feel that you are holding a quality instrument. In conclusion, the Martin Rosewood GPCPA4 was the best guitar in this category for the price. (The dealer told me that to get a Taylor solid Rosewood, I would be paying almost twice as much.)
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing!!" submitted November 20, 2013

By Shelly H in Johnson city, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Purchased this guitar for my son's 16th bday!! He has been playing it everyday!! He is constantly playing it back to back with his previous guitar, just to revel in the beauty if the sound. Beyond this being a beautiful instrument, I would never purchase from anyplace but Zzounds, they are the best.. I had it the very next day after placing my order. Love the guitar and this retailer!!!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar at a great price" submitted July 15, 2014

By Steve S in Ofallon, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist and semi-pro for 30 years.
Music Style: Acoustic, rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned every brand and level of guitar you can imagine and this is a winner. At first, I thought it was a little too thin sounding for my taste but when I replaced the light gauge strings with medium gauge (I usually use light), it made a world of difference in the tone. The Rosewood seems to like thicker strings and the tone and playability is perfect for me now. Electronics sound great on stage with minimal controls to deal with and a minimal cutout of wood so the guitar acoustically doesn't lose anything.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very nice guitar I love it!!" submitted February 2, 2013

By Marvin(Dean) Harvey in Anadarko, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I love to Jam, extreme hobby! Play lead and rythm guitar, some percussion!
Music Style: Rock, Blues, and some Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very sweet and crisp, so far I haven't had to make any adjustments yet. I play it through a small Fender Acoustic 100 amp(New) and I have no problems yet. Feature: So far I haven't had any major issues, I had to tighten the nut that keeps the plug in snug, I assume it worked it's way loose during shipment, just took me a few seconds to fix. There is a slight rough spot on the edge of the guitar in the cut away section, I don't think its a big deal(Could be glue, not sure and its very minor an not on the wood, you have to search for it). Ease of Use: Very easy to play, no problems at all!! Quality: Product seems to be very well made, when I look in the sound hole I do get a little nervous with the circuit board and wiring, couldn't tell you how good it is or how long it will last...this is my first electric acoustic and I assume they are all this way. Value: Yes! Manufacturer Support: My first buying experience with Martin. The Wow Factor: Just a beautiful guitar to look at that plays very easy and has great tone. Overall: Anytime I went to an actual dealer and tried out the electric acoustics I always drifted toward the Taylor's, I just loved the way they sounded. When I got more serious I checked the local Guitar store and tried out several guitars that would fit into my budget, the Taylor's that I liked were at least $200 more and this Martin actually sounded better in my opinion, I even tried the Breedlove's and in this particular price range I still chose this Martin. I went with zZounds because they were willing to do the 8 month payment plan, this helped me out a lot, I had always told myself that I would never buy a guitar without checking it out first, so I was a little on edge on how it would look and sound(each guitar is individually different). So far I couldn't be happier, the guitar sounds great! My other worry was how careful would the shipping company be with my guitar? I had chose the regular ground shipping because it didn't cost me an arm and leg, when I finally received the guitar my worries were unfounded the guitar fits so snug in the case that it is very protected.(My only gripe is that the shipping company could not find my address and I had to wait an extra day and ended up going to the actual shipping center to get it, I won't tell you which company it was but it has these two letters in the name FX)
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Rosewood Martin!!!" submitted September 10, 2012

By Jim K in Huntersville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Worship Leader
Music Style: Worship, folk-rock, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you are going to get a performing artist guitar and dont need or want the aura electronics, save some money and get the Martin GPCPA4 Rosewood or DCPA4 Rosewood model! They both have the F1 built in electronics that are great and if you play thru an acoustic amp or especially if you are run thru a soundboard, you probably dont need the aura anyway. A steal for a solid wood Sitka top, rosewood back and sides, Martin! The sound is rich, strong, and precise! I did buy the Martin GPCPA 2 but I think this guitar sounds just as good, just less bling, inlays, gold tuners, aforementioned aura, etc. Great service as always at zZounds!!! My third Martin purchase here! Highly recommend!
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Big Bang for the Buck!" submitted October 11, 2012

By Jim K in Huntersville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professionally, Worship Leader
Music Style: Worship, Country, folk-rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: WOW! All solid woods with Rosewood back and sides! This is a classic Martin. I also have purchased the Martin GPCPA2 which is the same guitar but with inlays and the aura sound versus the analog. The GPCPA2 is definatley better looking but for twice the money, save yourself the cash and get the GPAPA4 Rosewood! Auditorium power with the clear, crisp Martin sound, this is the real deal! Best deal on the market for a performing and studio quality guitar! I really like the Fishman F1 sound with built in tuner knobs that are almost flush with the guitar. Also, at the back of the guitar you have a hatch to insert the battery instead of the battery being in the hard to access soundhole. There is a separate strap knob as well instead of trying to get your strap over the input jack! Great guitar, highly recommend the guitar and buying it at zZounds which has the lowest prices and excellent customer service and communication. They ship fast to!!!
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156G-G973. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!