800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15G6-8HMJ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Martin DX1AE X Series

Get that rich, dynamic Martin sound for an affordable price -- courtesy of this acoustic-electric's solid Sitka spruce top and Fishman Sonitone electronics.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"You absolutly cannot beat this Martin for the money, NO WAY!!!!" submitted September 26, 2011

By a customer from gulfstreammergers.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Worship Leader
Music Style: Praise & Worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I do not think you can buy a better sounding guitar for anywhere near the price of this Martin. Also, the minute you pick it up , the feeling is like no other guitar I know of, solid to the core. Plays great, good action, clear crisp, Martin sound with plenty of projection. As much as I like the looks of the Epiphone EJ 200 for example or the Epiphone John Lennon guitar, or some of the Takamines, they are so dull sounding compared to the Martin. The only other guitar under $2,000 thats as good is another Martin or many of the Guilds. The Guilds have a different sound and feel but very high quality and all solid woods. I play this guitar thru a Fender Acoustasonic Jr DSP and its fantastic. Feature: I purchased a Martin 640 case to go with the guitar. This Martin as most Martins is not flashy and is low on "extras" like inlays, bone nut and saddle etc. I did add bone bridge pins which I highly recommend. You can get them for anywhere between $25 to $100 and its well worth it. Adds even more to the already strong sound.I do miss the bridge inlays and markers. But honestly, unless someone really knows their guitars, it would be very difficult to tell this Martin from a $2,500 Martin. You have to go over $3,000 to get a different headstock that someone would really notice. Sound controls hidden in soundhole work better than having them outside in a clumsy black box drilled into the side of the guitar. The new Martin performing series this year has come out with flush rubber like dials on the outside of the guitar that also have tuning included that look great and fit right into the design of the guitar. Ease of Use: Plays great, feels awesome in your hands, action could be lower but this is not a $2,000 + guitar either. I've been playing all my life and I'm in my fifties and this guitar is excellent for a beginner or a seasoned pro. I use it to back up my Guild but I have recorded with it as well, its that good. Quality: Very well made. We will see how the HPL sides and back hold up but comparing it to other guitars in the price range you do not see any sloppy workmanship like excess glue, pieces not fitting togerth perfectly etc, seems very well designed and made. Value: Again, you cannot find a quality brand new guitar like this without spending at least double or triple. Manufacturer Support: Not had any problems or reasons to call. They have been good about notifying me of Martin events and special deals etc. The Wow Factor: Not sexy but you feel like you are driving a rolls royce not a yugo Overall: As long as it holds up, I will enjoy this guitar.
27 of 28 people (96.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a wonderful opportunity to have something really worth the price: Don't blow it!" submitted October 11, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Aspiring guitarist. Songwriter.
Music Style: Pop acustical
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: O.K., I gave it a nine. It's not a 4,000 to 10,000 dollar insturment made of Brazillian Rosewood! What this guitar does do however is give you real value for your money. It's a real pleasure to say something nice about this guitar! First of all you should know I'm a beginner. I've been playing since April. As a beginner I started with several low end guitars before I sat down and played this Martin. The cool thing about finding the right guitar is that the right one for you will sing to you personally as you play it. And this guitar did just that! Is it worth it? You bet! In my way of thinking you should buy a guitar that you will aspire to be worthy of enventually. When you do that it makes you want to be better. It's true that you could spend less, or more for a guitar but why bother until you are good enough to get paid for playing? If you are looking for an excellent well balanced tone, an easy neck and an insturment that stays in tune it's worth the extra cash to really get value recieved. Nuff said! Feature: Nope. For $500.00 bucks you get the guitar. But after you strum it for awhile you won't mind at all. In fact you will easily fork over the money for a good case to protect it. A Martin, regardless of the price, sells itself. Ease of Use: You'd think that HPL, or high pressure laminate back and sides, means settling for a cheap sound. But with this guitar you would be wrong. The tone is wonderful and will only get better with age! That’s attention to detail in the Luthier’s art. Making a really good guitar means attention to the elements that make up its design and construction and this is where Martin excels. Quality: Everything about a Martin is excellent! When you buy one you are buying an American icon and that's true no matter if it's made in Martin's US factory in Pennsylvania, or the one in Mexico. Chris Martin IV, just like his fore barriers, understands that the company’s reputation rides on every instrument that leaves the factory. It’s been that way since 1833 and it’s still true today. Value: Like I mentioned earlier, you are buying more then just a guitar, you are buying a classic American icon. Just like a Harley, or Corvette. You will enjoy playing this guitar every time you pick it up. And everytime you pick it up you will get value received. Manufacturer Support: They are there when you need them. If there was a problem they will help you solve it. The Wow Factor: You are going down a road that can be financially dangerous. In the end; you will, if you keep playing, have a small room filled with guitars that are your best friends. Each has its own wonderful voice and each provides a sound you crave depending style of music you play. That's the professional view. If playing casually is what you want to do, then you will only have one good guitar that you bought that grew to be your best friend. Doesn't it make sense to go an extra mile for an instrument that will always go an extra mile for you? Overall: If I had children they would be fighting over this guitar after I've gone the way of the dodo bird. It rewards anyone who picks it up to play it.
25 of 28 people (89.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin quality and sound at a price anyone can afford" submitted July 27, 2014

By Julian Porter in Vass, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Play with friends and at home for fun. Started playing in 1967, so over 40 years now. Mostly classic, rock, folk and folk roc
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently bought a Martin DX1AE acoustic electric guitar from zzounds.com. It came in only four days, and was even better than I hoped. Sounds incredible, and plays like a dream! I am very pleased with this guitar and find that it sounds as good as my best friends 1972 D-28 which costs five times more than mine. Get one for yourself,you wii be stunned by the sound you get for the price !
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin DX1AE X" submitted May 29, 2014

By Lonny Terkay Band in Lakeland, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: try to play for pay as much as I can, lead vocals, guitars, bass un signed recording artist cdbaby.com
Music Style: mainly acoustic rock ala zac brown neil young
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: very nice guitar, the action is always wined about in guitar reviews I on the other hand felt my guitars action was too low, the only thing I did was shim the saddle to raise it up, also this is to all guitar makers please loose the grovers or anything else that is not locking, they are all junk next up grade is hipshot locking tuners its really counter productive to do the string wrap thing, now on the sound Martins are always on point with being great with their quality and sound, I bought this as my back up to my Ovation which is need of a re fret after 20 years of use, over all its a hard to beat guitar for around 550 range
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin DX1AE" submitted November 14, 2012

By Joseph R S
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50yrs Performed with 12 piece Orchestra arrangements. I play Accoustic Guitar,Piano.
Music Style: I play Folk, Rock, Christian...Favorite Guitarist Glen Campbell. Other Artists Gordon Lightfoot, Beatles,Neil Diamond,Eric Clapt
Back to Product Information
Overall: I stopped by Guitar Center recently...This Guitar tone quaity is so sweet similar to my Martin D35. simple electronics on board @ this price is a steal. My Buy list for Christmas along with a Fishman AMP...will be awsome for small venues.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect condition" submitted January 9, 2014

By Henry B in Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Lead guitar, drums, vocals, some violin. Outlaw Country band SS Web, lots of touring
Music Style: Outlaw Country band SS Web, lots of touring.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This great guitar was ordered as "blemished" - but if it's blemished, I sure couldn't see it. Wonderful sound, quick shipment, thank you! So sorry Martin has discontinued this guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good, solid guitar, especially for recording." submitted November 18, 2010

Eric from zZounds
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Musician
Music Style: Rock/Blues/Folk
Back to Product Information
ZZOUNDS CREW REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Good, quality sound, translates well on the electric sound as well. Feature: The tuner and preamp is kinda meh. Not very good for a live setting if you need to make changes on the fly. Quality: Very well made. The Wow Factor: It IS a Martin!
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth every penny." submitted June 12, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It has a very deep rich tone that fills a room. I owned one of these in the past but had to sell it due to money issues. I bought it again because I liked the sound and quality of it that much. Feature: It's an acoustic/electric but I've mainly played it acoustically. Quality: Fantastic quality for the money. Don't be fooled by the fact that it's made in Mexico. I would put this guitar up against any other in terms of quality. It doesn't have many bells and whistles but what do you expect from Martin for only $500? Value: Definitely worth the money. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it. Overall: I will not be on the lookout for another Acoustic any time soon. This one does everything I need it to do.
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good guitar.......good sound.....good playability.....great price....." submitted December 29, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 45 years or so....home recording is what I do now with an occasional jam with friends.
Music Style: Rock....some country.........
Back to Product Information
Sound: I played this in a store and it was easier to play and sounded beter than other guitars that were twice as much money. Feature: I kinda like that the volume and tone knobs are inside the sound hole. Just makes the outside look a little caleaner. Ease of Use: Like I said before ....it plays very easily.. Quality: Well, it's not solid wood but the laminate they use is supposed to be very strong and it saure seems to be. Also, it was great right out of the box. Value: For the price it's unreal how nice this guitar is......really.... Manufacturer Support: No problems so no contact with Martin The Wow Factor: Hey........it's a Martin guitar Overall: I'll have this as long as it lasts. I will not be spending $2000 any time soon on a guitar as long as I have this.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15G6-8HMJ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!