800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1714-2FV3
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Martin D 41 Acoustic

Get that classic Martin sound and homey feel with the D-41. Everything about this acoustic is handmade, from the abalone inlays to the scalloped bracing.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A work of Art. A thing of beauty and a joy to behold and to play." submitted April 8, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Honestly I did not expcet a brand new guitar to sound htis rich and full. It is remarkable. It seems to sound better each day. This guitar is an absolute dream and worth every penny. I have a 1975 Dove that has aged nicely and still sounds great but this new D41 blows it away. I regret not buying it years earlier. Feature: Easy to tune and holds a tune. Ease of Use: It is as playable as the player. There is not a professional player anywhere that would not enjoy this guitar. Quality: Finest workmanship. A true work of art. Value: Worth every penny Manufacturer Support: NA The Wow Factor: It is beautiful to look at and to play and the set up was dialed in to perfection. Overall: Nothing about this guitar I do not like. I would upgrad to the Geib 500 series case. I chose this guitar because I could not afford a D45.
32 of 33 people (96.97%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is THE guitar to consider if you are looking for superb sound and clarity in tone. A stunning instrument at the very least" submitted November 11, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: country - folk - blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As I started to write this, I found myself searching for just the right words to describe this guitar and my experience with it. There just are not any. It is better than any description I could apply. What is very remarkable about this guitar sound is how exquisitely it rings when properly tuned (it is the easiest guitar to tune that I have ever played). All one has to do is listen to the sustained ring from a played note, and the clarity and longevity of the crystal clear tone puts a smile in the soul that lasts the whole time this beauty is played. Every guitar player should own one of these in their lifetime. It is WAY more than worth the money spent. Rick Buzzard Quality: I challenge anyone to find a more exquisitely made instrument. It is a dream to hold, play, and listen to.
20 of 21 people (95.24%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Play the "as good as" guitar." submitted September 20, 2008

By a customer from charter.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35+ years... active musicians, educator, performer
Music Style: rock to worship
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: I've been playing guitar for 35+ years and have always dreamed of owning a D45. Well, I've found that my dreams can come true: the Martin D41 is the perfect fit for the accomplished player who has a modest budget. "The Price is Right" while considering this instrument. Imagine, playing a piece of history. With the Martin Company being in existence for 175 years that alone should say it all. I once had a friend that used to say "Why buy the guitar that the biggest sales pitch is it is as good as the Martin when you can buy the "as good as" model itself? Believe me to sit down and play the D41 (or D45-minus 800 pieces of abalone inlay) you will find it intoxicating. The sound surrounds you in a complete way that to experience the way it sounds and feels is only the true measurement of it's worth. My words can only entice you let the full, rich sound of the history of how the D41 is made capture you too. I have played many, many acoustic guitars and own many as well from my Taylor 814CE to my lowly Gibson dreads. Understand, you must own a Martin to complete your guitar inventory. My problem is I only want to play my D41. I also love the 175 years of history behind my Martin. It is truly the "as good as" guitar. Why own anything else? Feature: flawless features... from looks to sound... Ease of Use: Plays very effortlessly... it better! :) Quality: 175 years of history behind it... the only guitar company to have such a claim. Awesome! Value: This may be debatable... but if you're a player... there's no question. Manufacturer Support: Everything is tops... again, the best. These people know and care about guitars. The Wow Factor: own one... D41... and love it.
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"D-41 you wont be sorry" submitted April 30, 2010

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: lon time player
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
Sound: When and if I play one of my other (non martin guitars) It is a big let down. Martin has a sound that cant be beat I have owned and played gibsons Taylors washburne epiphons Play nice but just ok sounding Feature: FLAWLESS Ease of Use: so easy to play Quality: Flawless Value: Worth every 1,000 Manufacturer Support: Ordered custom pearl work so easy The Wow Factor: FLASLESS PEARL WOOD FINISH NECK FINGERBORD
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A little pricey but you get what you pay for!" submitted November 19, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: singer/song writer
Music Style: A mix of rock, bules, country, and gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Extremly well balanced frequency and string response from high to low. Excellent compromise of projection (attack) and sustain across its range. Excellent intonation from the first to the 15th fret. If you dig in with agressive pick attack you can overwhelm it. Perhaps a little delicate when a person is accustom to playing old Guild Jumbos. Value: Perhaps a little pricey but it continues to deliver after 7 years of ownership. Manufacturer Support: Never needed support The Wow Factor: An absolute masterpiece of "modern" art
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A True Classic" submitted May 5, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Folk, Jazz, Blues
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: resonance is amazing, good high, mid and low, doesn't sound muddy at all, and even as the strings age it doesn't lose its crispness Feature: beautiful form fitting case, great abalone inlay Quality: wood grain is gorgeous, unlike Taylor, no excess laquer, so while it may ding a little easier, you can still see the grain very very well Value: expensive, but well worth the investment, since Martin guitars age very very well, and hold their value.... The Wow Factor: Beautiful guitar, the inlay shimmers in the light, a very handsome instrument Overall: Last 6 string I will probably invest in...
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Martin D 41 Acoustic Customer Review submitted May 7, 2003

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Blues, Blues-rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound quality is excellent - does not lose midrange balance like many other dreadnaughts I have played Feature: Quality materials... what else can I say? Excellent case also. Quality: Excellent quality... no problems at all (have had it for 14 months) Value: A little pricey... although other instruments at this level cost as much Manufacturer Support: Haven't used support yet... no problems
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Second only to a D-45 in sound and beauty!" submitted April 12, 2006

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Folk Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Absolutely a great guitar, a working man
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin D-41" submitted October 30, 2012

By william Shaw in Richmond, PE
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home,been plating for 25 years
Back to Product Information
Overall: Best guitar I have ever played and owned!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1714-2FV3. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!