800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175M-XVKJ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Martin D35 Acoustic

This acoustic guitar features an ebony fingerboard, spruce top, and Indian rosewood back and sides. It's perfect for the player looking to make an upgrade.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"I am 66 years old I have played since I was 13. This is the best of many instruments I have owned." submitted November 30, 2006

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: In the past band and with gospel singers
Music Style: Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: My Martin was made in 1967. It is still in almost perfect condition. Just a little finish off around the soundhole. It sounds good even when the strings get old. Feature: no accessories were included. Ease of Use: Best on your fingers ease of play great Quality: No problems. Finish great after 39 years. Nothing loose nothing broke. Durable material was used for this guitar. Value: yes you get what you pay for. High or low At this price I would not order from the internet I would like to play it first. Manufacturer Support: I have had two other Martin guitars. One in the 70's and another travel guitar bought in 2005. The travel guitar is just ok no great sound or ease of playing there. The Wow Factor: Mine will stay where it is. Beautiful and beautiful sound is always good Overall: I have four other guitars. I would sell any of them for a GOOD price. I would not see the D35.
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Warning: If you try a Martin nothing else will be good enough!" submitted August 31, 2003

By a customer from zoominternet.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock, country, classical
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Martin d35 has a dep rich tone. It can play any mood or style, and the dynamics come easily. It has great sound and tone all the way down the neck. The d35 sounds wonderful played along with the violin, and piano. It would sound great with any instrument. Feature: The guitar can in it's own hard shell case that helps keep the humidity at the right level. All of the parts are incredible. The frets and bridge are set up well. The tuning pegs are smooth and perfect. Quality: My Martin was handmade with solid wood on the sides, back and top. Mine is the d35 with a 3 piece split back. The wood and finish are perfect. All the wood is smooth and evenly grained. I can tell that they put a lot of pride into their work. Value: You get what you pay for. The enjoyment that I have gotten from my Martin acoustic guitar is priceless. It is worth every penny and more. If you spend a little more you'll enjoy your time spent with your instrument. I'm a beginning guitarist and I play the violin. I know the value of a great instrument. If you love your instrument, it's sound and it's easy and fun to play it is worth it's weight in gold. Manufacturer Support: Martin Guitar has a great website. The answered my questions quickly and sent out information to me in the mail for free. The were courteous, professional and friendly. You can also tour their factory. The Wow Factor: It has an alluring sound. The wood is gorgeous and blemish free with a terrific wood fragrance. One you pick it up you don't want to put it down. Overall: I chose the Martin D35, because having a great instrument is the best way to enjoy learning and playing the instrument. I know I will be playing my Martin Acoustic for years to come, and it will last to be pasted down in my family. If I don buy another guitar I would chose Martin again. I had a friend play almost every make of guitar at a local muscic shop and I chose Martin every time, because of it's deep rich strong tone.
36 of 38 people (94.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Proof Positive" submitted April 6, 2005

By a customer from netzero.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Folk rock/pop
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought my D35 in 2000. I use Martin SP guitar strings (custom light gauge -- .011). With new strings, the sound is incomparable. However, as the strings get older, it seems to lose its brightness a bit more noticeably than on my other acoustics (a 2003 Gibson J100xtra and a 1984 Guild D16M). It's got a very integrated sound, very together, not noisy. Intonation is excellent. I am basically a fingerstyle player and it responds very well to the subtle nuances that really make the quieter picking tunes I play sound that much better. But I do have to change strings fairly often (once or twice a month) to keep the sound just the way I like it. Feature: I give this the highest rating because I like the austere, elegant look of this guitar. There's just enough there to make it look finished without looking gawdy. The Gotoh tuning mechanism is very accurate and responsive. The binding on the neck, the top and bottom of the body is very attractive. The solid Sitka spruce top grain is awesome and the finish is so fine. And of course the 3 piece back is a striking feature. Quality: Exemplary! The construction of this instrument is masterful. The woods and finish are awesome! The impression it gives is one of a very fine instrument, but yet it is not fragile and can be put through the paces with some abuse mixed in without affecting its appearance, construction and function adversely. But one still needs to take some common sense measures to maintain its looks and playability, like not storing it in a position where the neck is loaded, storing it in its case and ensuring that the air during heating season is adequately humidied. Value: This guitar is like an old friend to me, one whose companionship I value greatly. I don't ever want to part with this one. Manufacturer Support: I've not had any real need to solicit the services of Martin's support. So I'm just guessing on this one! The Wow Factor: No comment except that, "I BOUGHT IT!" Overall: A fine instrument overall, in terms of sound, playability and construction. The D35 is proof positive that a Martin guitar is deserving of its enduring reputation as a superior American-made instrument.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"D35 MARTIN IS WHAT IT SAYS IT IS!!!!!" submitted March 4, 2006

By a customer from VERIZON.NET
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: BLUEGRASS GOSPEL
Back to Product Information
Sound: GREAT BASS SOUND FOR BLUEGRASS LEAD OR RYTHM FLAT OR CROSS PICKING! Feature: THE WOODS UUSED IN THIS GUITAR ARE A PERFECT BLEND OF LOOKS AND SOUND! Ease of Use: PLAYS LIKE A DREAM. Quality: IT'S A MARTIN WHICH STANDS FOR QUALITY. Value: YES EVERY PENNY! Manufacturer Support: MARTIN IS ALWAYS ON TOP OF THE GAME. The Wow Factor: JUST RIGHT IN ALL ASPECTS! Overall: I HAVE ANOTHER MARTIN D3R,AND FIVE OTHER FLAT TOPS THIS IS MY DREAM GUITAR I'M HAPPY WITH MY WASHBURN D44 HARVIST AND D1,BUT I HAVE A REAL GUITAR NOW!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin D-35 Acoustic Guitar" submitted March 13, 2014

By Kris R in Atlanta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar mostly and a little piano - not professionally.
Music Style: Classic Rock, Hard Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The guitar is perfectly crafted in every way, when you hold it in your hands you understand what good craftmanship looks and feels like. When I got the guitar (which arrived within days) it was very dried out, it came out of New Jersey and it was winter-time, and an extreme winter at that. All that being said, I was a little diappointed because the action was way too low when the guitar arrived and my dream guitar had fret buzzes all over the place. I spent a couple of weeks with humidifiers in the case trying to get the guitar to the right humidity which helped a little and then I bought a Martin truss rod tool. When the tool arrived all it took was a quarter turn and the guitar played like a dream (intonation still in tact). My disappointment was in the way the guitar was kept before transport NOT the workmanship of the guitar which not only plays like a dream now but projects the sweet / rich sound louder than any acoustic I have ever played. And it is a BEAUTIFUL guitar!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin D35... great guitar." submitted November 1, 2003

By a customer from eircom.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: everything from Rock to Folk
Back to Product Information
Sound: I'va played lots of Martins and have to say the D35 has the best overall ballance I've heard. Great bass and crystal treble. Quality: The 35 is very light for a dreadnought, but it has an absolutely HUGE sound. I think it has something to do with the three piece back. Value: I also have a Takamine EN10 (great gigging guitar), a Yamaha F180 and a '70s Landola hand made acoustic... none of them sound as good as the Martin. The Wow Factor: I searched all of New England for this guitar. The three piece back alone is gorgeous. Overall: My guitar is a 1978 Martin D35. It has three tiny cracks in the sound board, which have been repaired with timber studs, and yet it sounds fabulous. From the first strum I knew this was the sound I was after.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"martin guitar purchase" submitted August 17, 2014

By Timothy Davis in rutland, VT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: played guitar 40 years...martin guitar...play solo. ..love to street perform
Music Style: Old Country...bluegrass...old timey music...folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Thanks to zzounds pay as you play program I was able n to purchase my dream guitar. Times are tough and money is tight. However I am playing my d35 martin guitar that comforts the hard tumes. This is my second pay as you play purchase. I am thrilled to do business with zzounds...they are fast...and very proffessional...first rate service. Get your dream equipment now and be sure to pay them back and you will have a special benefit in your musical life....zzounds rocks
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Classic Sound!" submitted August 21, 2012

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I like this more than my Taylor. Has that classic sound and feel. You can really dig into it and strum hard with not much fret buzz. The Taylor buzzed way too much even after I adjusted the truss rod. Now I know why Johnny Cash used this guitar!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Martin D35" submitted November 9, 2012

By rick r in denver, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 yrs. I play guitar, banjo, fiddle, keyboard, harmonica
Music Style: hard rock-country and everything in between.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought mine from zZounds in 2004. This is my favorite guitar! I have 7 guitars, classical, electric. This one is the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Martin I was sent was terrible. Zzounds immediately took it back, which means they know how to make the best of e difficult" submitted October 24, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician/Pastor
Music Style: Country/Rock/Blues/Gospel/Praise
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: When the unit arrived, the neck was so bowed it was virtually unplayable. Because the neck was so bad, the sound also suffered. Feature: As I said I immediately sent it back Ease of Use: Badly bowed neck. Should have never been sent out. Quality: Simplt terrible. If this is what Martin producing they should be ashamed!! Manufacturer Support: Zzounds took it back.....no questions asked. That is why I keep buying things from you guys!!
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Martin I was sent was terrible. Zzounds immediately took it back, which means they know how to make the best of e difficult" submitted October 24, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician/Pastor
Music Style: Country/Rock/Blues/Gospel/Praise
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: When the unit arrived, the neck was so bowed it was virtually unplayable. Because the neck was so bad, the sound also suffered. Feature: As I said I immediately sent it back Ease of Use: Badly bowed neck. Should have never been sent out. Quality: Simplt terrible. If this is what Martin producing they should be ashamed!! Manufacturer Support: Zzounds took it back.....no questions asked. That is why I keep buying things from you guys!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175M-XVKJ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!