800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158N-SP4V
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Martin 00CXAE Guitar

The Martin 00CXAE offers high-quality design in a thin-body format. With active electronics and a Stratabond neck, the Martin 00CXAE packs a punch.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"a Great Guitar" submitted January 5, 2011

By a customer from live.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer Songwriter, Active musician
Music Style: Mellow Rock, Reggae, Grunge
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is very full and very nice, you wouldnt think this guitar with such a small body width could produce a loud fulll sound. Feature: The Fisherman Electronics, is very nice aswell, it gives you quality acoustic sound, with the phase button it gives it even a more acoustic sound along with other setting control, The tuner is really awesome! very simple; its fast & easy. Ease of Use: it's a great comfortable guitar, I love it, as I said before it gives you a very clear tone. Very playable Quality: Beautiful guitar, really, the black body and the wood grain neck, its really beautiful. The action around the 12th fret could be little lower as there is a rise to the stings. It's not too bad, but I'm already considering taking the guitar to a shop and get the bridge filed a bit. Because to me the guitar is worth keeping and giving it your exact feel. But hey! thats what you get when you order online. The jack output-input bolt came alittle loose, I'm guessing since it been sitting around in a warehouse for awhile and being in a box in the cold crossing states the bolt gotta little loose, I put my hand in the sound hole when I took off the strings to clean the fretboard and whatnot, just tightened it by hand. hasn't gotten loose yet. Value: Found it for an even cheaper price then the one posted and they gave it to me for a lower price then that. The guitars worth every dollar though, I'm glad I bought it. Manufacturer Support: I plan on getting the action a tad bit lower for my liking as I use heavy strings and gives alittle rise down in the end. Other than that great The Wow Factor: it's sexy! all there is too say Overall: This guitar should last me quite along time. Here's a video of it.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KIZARvp_e8
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The little guitar that could." submitted August 10, 2003

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Amazing how well it sounds for what it's made of and it's small size. It kept up well with all the Asian Dreadnoughts and held it's own against the higher priced american ones too. Plugged in it sounds fantastic. Feature: I think all acoustics should come with a free hard case. Quality: Very clean looking guitar. All hardware feels tight and there are no rattles. Value: An excellent value especially for a high tech American made guitar. The Wow Factor: A very unique look and a a great sound. Overall: I went looking for an acoustic guitar that played as easily as my Les Paul and my Strat. I thought the Fender Stratacoustic might fit the bill but was very dissapointed by the Stratacoustics unplugged sound. Picked up the Martin and was not expecting much better but what a suprise! So much acoustic sound I couldn't believe it. It's light, tough and smooth as silk to play. To top it all off it sounds fantastic plugged into an amp as well. I ran it through a Digitech 2101 rack with heavy compression and there was almost no hum. Before you buy your next acoustic you owe it to yourself to give this baby a test drive.
37 of 38 people (97.37%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great "Bang for the Buck"" submitted January 13, 2011

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Country, and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I was very surprised by the rich, quality sound coming from this unit. Feature: The electronics appear to be well made and durable. After a period of time I will know for sure about the durability Ease of Use: I had originally bought this guitar for my wife who is an intermediate/ beginner player, but it plays so nicely she has to wait her turn because I enjoy playing it so much. Quality: It's a Martin enough said Value: For an inexpensive Martin Guitar this one has a lot of "Bang for the Buck" Manufacturer Support: I have not had any support issues with this product. Overall: I expect to keep this product for a long time.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A different take..." submitted April 2, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound-wise this guitar is mostly top notch. What it lacks in depth it makes up for in playability and original tone. If you are looking for a deeper and richer sound you may have better luck with a full body guitar, but plugged in you can tweak this guitar and achieve almost any tone you want. Just bare in mind that this guitar is geared towards being plugged in. As a side note it has a pretty decent sound unplugged in recording situations with a good mic. Feature: As I said you can make this sound almost any way you want. It has adequate features and pretty is as advertised in that department. Ease of Use: Smooth as silk in playability especially if you get comfortable and top quality strings. Haven't played many acoustic guitars that felt this comfortable especially for this price. Quality: I only put a 6 here because this is the area I felt was the most lacking. I'm not going to say that you need to treat this guitar with kid gloves because it is built well and will last, but there is a catch. (At least with the guitar I bought ...and it is entirely possible that my guitar is a bit different due to differentiating circumstances with factory handling and shop handling.) That being said in four years I have had to deal with a more than usual measure of repair issues. Its cool because its a Martin and they take care of you in warranty issues, but it is annoying when you depend on one instrument. Basically I would not suggest this guitar for those of you who don't have a wall load of guitars and rely on one guitar every day to take care of your needs. If on the other hand you have a couple of guitars and are looking for something that can be a unique stand alone instrument this is more for you. This girl is not going to be as understanding when your a little tipsy at a gig and she falls off the stand. I'll leave it at that. Value: For the majority of players this guitar is going to be absolutely awesome for its price. For the sound and the playability alone this should be a 9 to be honest. I'm just trying to give a little bit of a different perspective for people who might be in my shoes. This is the most expensive guitar I've ever owned and I was expecting a durability factor that I didn't quite get. It exceeded my expectations in its sound plugged in however. And I've never played a guitar that sounded quite like this one. As an added bonus its a slick looking guitar too. Manufacturer Support: This one would depend on your local area as Martin has repair centers that they license. In my case... I'm in a small town and we have basically one repair center and its about 15 miles from my house. There is always a long wait and if you read my "quality review" you can understand my plight. 3 to 4 weeks is a long time to wait for a guy who only has one guitar. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal isn't a problem here. Overall: I think I've covered most of the bases here. I give it a seven because it isn't meeting MY needs for various reasons. I hope I gave a bit of information here that might apply to those of you who have a limited budget who plan on using this guitar every day HEAVILY. This might not be the best bet for you. That being said ... Its a hot unique incredibly cool Martin guitar that I'd stick on my rack and pull out when I was looking for that specific sound any day of the week if I were rolling like that. (Hope that makes sense.)
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"just read this! this will tell you the truth" submitted February 18, 2005

By a customer from hoa.centcom.mil
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I just love the guitar, singer/songwriter
Music Style: Id say country/rock/blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: The first thing you notice when you play a guitar is how it sounds. But what you dont always get is how it feels. When I picked it up and played some scales, I could feel its passion and its mystery on my heart....literally. I think it might have something to do with the metallic/wood combo, but it vibrates your whole body. It makes it easy to love playing it. Feature: Sounds great plugged in, it is a dark sounding guitar. It is a great guitar to have laying around for song writers if anything just to have a different sound with the same chords...you know what I mean Quality: its a martin, come on Value: If you are looking for something different, then this is your guitar, if anything to just go and play one and you will know what I am talking about. But if you have to money and love a quality instrument look elsewhere. It is a fantastic guitar but lacks volume and ressonance in the living room. However for the money I highly reccomend that you at least play it! DONT BUY A GUITAR EVER WITHOUT PLAYING IT FIRST!!!! The Wow Factor: Sleek and sexy, a black martin? Who would have thought? Good job Maritn
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What A Buy!" submitted May 18, 2005

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: novice guitar player
Music Style: folk, pop
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was looking for something different, and boy did I find It. The sound is amazing, especially plugged in to an amp. Feature: Guitar came without a hardshell case, but considering the price. I am not complaining Quality: It's a Martin, Nough said! Value: This guitar looks great, sounds great, and is easy to play. You would have to pay a hell of a lot more for a guitar of its equal. Manufacturer Support: I haven't needed customer support yet, but Martin's is a highly regarded company The Wow Factor: Just look at it, and more importantly; just play it! Overall: this guitar will last a life time.
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect!" submitted November 13, 2009

Overall
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Professional
Music Style: Classic Rock, and Modern Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is surprisingly good considering the small size. Feature: We plugged it into a PA, and it was awesome sounding! Ease of Use: It's a no brainer. Quality: Love it! Value: Absolutely worth the price, the best value we found. Manufacturer Support: N/A None needed yet. The Wow Factor: We own it! Overall: It's a Martin, we hope to have it forever!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Martin 00CXAE Guitar Customer Review submitted January 17, 2005

By a customer from snet.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds alot better than guitars four times its price. Feature: I think they made the right choice in have a synthetic body, it keeps the price a bit lower and gives it a different, yet better, sound. Quality: I am definately not afraid to bring this thing with me anywhere I go. Value: Are yiu kidding me? This thing is worth every cent! The Wow Factor: A cheap, great sounding guitar... Where do I sign up! Overall: The bottom line is, if you want a great sounding guitar that can take a beating and keep on going but still won't break the bank, look no further than this one here.
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A beautiful,carefully made guitar with perfect sound and ease of play!" submitted July 12, 2006

By a customer from gmai.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist - Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: extremely 'fat' sound when plugged into an amp,despite the thin body!very tempting for my ears!I would just refer more bass in the living room! Feature: too bad it doesn't include a hardcase. Ease of Use: When yo play with this guitar,you feel like you're touching silk! Quality: I think that this guitar can last for a lifetime! The Wow Factor: I have fallen in love with that little lady!
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love/Hate relationship" submitted June 16, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: varied
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As for sound quality I am well pleased. It is a very full sounding guitar considering the body size and it actually records very well plugged up or unplugged. My only complaint with the sound is that it doesn't quite match up to the wood-body full Martins that you may be used to ..but it comes darn close! Feature: It is a pretty basic acoustic electric. It does sound quite nice plugged in to a PA with the Fishman pick up. Ease of Use: This guitar is a breeze to play. It is a Martin after all. Very little adjustment was needed if any. Quality: Here is the down side...I have had this guitar for four months and my bridge has come loose. I am concerned that perhaps my playing may be a bit too much for this guitar and that is a major bummer for me, as I like to experiment with tones and bang around a bit. I haven't been rough on this guitar in comparison with any other five dollar cheap guitar ..and those have never done this to me before. I may have just got a bum deal ...not sure yet. Value: If it turns out that Martin fixes this guitar and it is the same as it was ....I would say the value is well worth it. Manufacturer Support: I don't know yet. I'm waiting to see. The Wow Factor: I've never seen a guitar that is more sexy than this Martin. It is a pretty lady. Overall: The verdict is still out on that....but if it gets fixed and it stays good...I plan to keep it as long as it lasts.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Working Man "Martin"" submitted July 28, 2006

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: 40 yrs
Music Style: ROCK , R&B, COUNTRY ,JAZZ
Back to Product Information
Feature: No wood in this guitar. Ease of Use: Use pedals you can get any sound. Quality: For being USA made and by one of the best Company's (MARTIN) it is very cheap, If you would have to pay full price on this Martin you would have to be a nut. This Guitar is not built as good as most Epiphone that use wood. Think Martin should stay with what they do best and forget about making a cheap guitar for the working man just so he can say he has a Martin Guitar. Not happy at all with this guitar and I did alot of research but don't pay anymore then $400.00 for this guitar and the case that you can buy for this Martin is also VERY VERY CHEAP, it's made out of junk. Value: This product is not worth the selling price at all or the case the case should cost $40.00 and the guitar $400.00 Manufacturer Support: Not delt with Martin yet, whish they would have put some time into this guitar. The Top where it saids Martin & Company that is just on with glue and will fall off real soon. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal is very dual the color is cheap it looks and feels loke a kids guitar and will not last unless you take care of it like a baby and don't play it much and keep it away from others to try it out. Overall: I will sell this Martin and spend my working money on a guitar that is Japan or any other country, just cause made in U.S.A. don't mean a thing cause I Q.C. was out to lunch when this guitar went out the door.
4 of 28 people (14.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158N-SP4V. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!