800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161W-Y2Y3
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Monster Instrument Cable

Monster Standard 100 instrument cable features all the same heavy-duty technology and protection expected of Monster Cable cables.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Looking for a dependable cord? Look no further." submitted October 21, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Small gigs (garage band)
Music Style: blues, rock, and some metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is great. Perfectly clear without fading or buzzing out like some other cables. Feature: There aren't any special features with this cable, but what do you expect? Quality: This is what really appeals to me. These cords will last you for a loooong time. I've put mine through a lot worse than any self-respecting musician should; unintentionally slapping them against the walls, tripping over them, kicking them, and still the sound is clearer than ever. Value: Price is a little high, but you are paying for high quality stuff here. Besides, it's not much more than a dollar per foot anyway. Manufacturer Support: I personally have never had to deal with this because of the outstanding quality of my cords, but guitar center told me that they have a lifetime warranty, so if they ever fail you can exchange them. The Wow Factor: Looks very sleek and futuristic with its head design and silver plating. Overall: Awesome cord. My friend's first cord was not a monster cord, and after about a year now he needs a new one. So, do yourself a favor and pay for high quality now, instead of buying two or three other brand cords down the road.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AMAZING Cable, a little over priced" submitted September 8, 2003

By a customer from alltel.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Alternative Rock/Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: These cables are amazing, I have used quite a few "cheap" cables, and these cables blow them out of the water! I plugged it in and went from noisy flat tone to full out blasting clear no noise tone!! AMAZING! Feature: Its a cable, the best thing about it is the gold plating, and the nice flexible ends! You can actually not worry about breaking the ends, which is where 90% of the cables fail! Quality: As far as I know its the best, but there might be better so a 9! Value: Pretty expensive cable, but very very very good sound and quality! Manufacturer Support: Not sure havent had to use support. The Wow Factor: These cables look killer, they are shiny looking.. The ends are shiny, and high tech looking.. Not to mention the gold plugs! Overall: I will keep this cable for as long as it works.. If it stops working I'm gonna get another one. The only other cable I might buy (not to replace but to supplement) may be the whirlwind cables, heard they are great for live use (hold up better but not super sure!)
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Better than the generic cables" submitted January 16, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Metal Musician
Music Style: Metal, Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's a good cable, better than what you'd find for $5 or whatever. However, I would not say they are the best cables ever, they do have higher capacitance then the cable I'm currently using. This tends to soften out your highs, and I could notice from A/Bing the cables, that the monster muddys your clean tone (I use hotter pickups so a strat player or someone with PAF's might not notice as much). But the cable does provide a good distorted tone, and is definitely better than any generic cable. Feature: Plugs into an amplifier and delievers sound, and has switchable color bands to colorcode your cords. Ease of Use: I dont see how It could be hard to use a cable. Quality: It's a good thing they come with a lifetime warranty, I have had a few of these, and they do tend to start getting a bad connection after time mainly if your using it as an instrument cable (I still use one for connecting my Power Amp to my Pre Amp, and since it doesn't get moved around it works fine), its not the sturdiest cable. Value: Better than any generic cable, you do have to spend more money for a decent cable, though not necessarily this much Manufacturer Support: I did send out for a new cable once, and I don't believe I had to send the other one back, though I don't clearly remember. But it was easy to get it replaced, besides the wait (though I figure retail stores might honor warranty's) The Wow Factor: I use Bill Lawrence cables now, which they sell the cable by the foot, and the connectors for about $3.50 a piece. The cables are probably a got bit cheaper then monster cables and they really let your clean tone shine, and let your highs out. Overall: Like I said, better than most cables, never used planet waves, just ordinary inexpensive peavey cables and whatnot and the Bill Lawrence. These are a good choice for an upgrade but I personally would recommend BL cables.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"you get what you pay for, a high quality cable that will last and last...." submitted December 21, 2005

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Musical Background: Bassist
Music Style: 80's metal, classic rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Completely Crystal Clear compared to cables i have had before Quality: I'd give it a 12 for quality if i could. you should definatly pay a couple more bucks for a cable that will last you YEARS. and get one that has a couple more feet, i got a six foot one and i kind of wish i got a 12 foot, it was only like 5 bucks more :'( Overall: you get what you pay for, a high quality cable that will last and last....
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Its pretty good" submitted June 27, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: punk rock, classic, rock, some metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: it doesnt change the sound that much, sounds just like my old one Feature: comes with other color things, red, green, yellow and blue Ease of Use: you plug it in Quality: durablem, sturdy, and cool looking, it gives good quality sound, (same as any other though) Value: expensive, not exactly worth it, but it was all i could get
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very good construction and sound quality" submitted November 18, 2007

By a customer from webmailonus.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: All Types of Music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: amazing sound this is the cable to buy if you want amazing sound Feature: it a cord Ease of Use: if you cant use a cord leave the music business Quality: AMAZING SOUND!!!! Value: well worth it Manufacturer Support: never dealt with them but it says on the label if anything ever goes wrong with this cord you send it back to them and they send you a new cord free The Wow Factor: sex appeal of a cord? well it looks cool Overall: will buy many more of these cords
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great sound, terrible quality" submitted January 17, 2008

By a customer from verizonmail.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: definitely an improvement over the standard, cheaper cables. could hear the difference right away Quality: after hearing about the superior sound monster cables could give (not just in instruments, but home theater as well), I shelled out the extra dough for about 4 of these (2 standard instrument and 2 rock guitar cables). A couple years and several returns later, only one still works. On two of them, the connector came loose or just snapped off. On the third, the signal pops in and out. No, it wasnt just bad luck... I've returned the first two with the same result. And no, i dont jump rope with the cables or use them carelessly... not sure if its a question of quality or durability. Value: who wants to deal with returns every six months? not me. and for the price, this just isnt worth it Manufacturer Support: the customer service is great, they replaced with no hassle. Overall: the amount of money and hassle these things cost you, i wont be buying anymore monster cables
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not Impressed" submitted March 1, 2014

By Jeff A in The Dalles, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, jam at home
Music Style: heavy rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very short lived cable. Problem with the ends and cable grounding out on itself. With the molded ends you cant repair the ends to get you by. Their is better cables for the same or less money.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161W-Y2Y3. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!