800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZN-JRN4
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: M-Audio Oxygen 8 Keyboard

8 assignable knobs. 1 assignable slider. 6 transport buttons.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Not a bad unit if one lands in your lap" submitted January 6, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Pop, Jazz, New Age, Techno
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Makes no sounds of its own, except a slightly plastic percussive sound when you hit it with something. Feature: Pretty feature-packed for such a small keyboard. 8 knobs for midi controls, a data entry slider, and each key on the keyboard can be assigned as a midi controller at the push of a button -- then back to being a key again. In the back it has two midi outs for controlling computer gear and tone modules separately, and a USB interface as well. It also has THREE power options, 9v wall wart, 6 AA batteries or USB power from your computer. It is at its most useful as a midi controller, though, and less as a playable keyboard. Its very stiff plastic keys are not comfortable to play, the pitch bend and modulation wheel are in a strange place to save space, and the 21-key range is uncomfortably tiny.. even smaller than my old Moog Prodigy and Roland SH-101! But it does have a couple of lightning-fast response Octave Down/Up buttons. Still, just keep in mind that 21 keys is really small and buy it for the midi control features and you'll be happy. Quality: It's pretty solid. It's plastic, but make no mistake it's not a flimsy thin plastic. The rubber feet had fallen off mine during shipping, but they stuck right back on and haven't moved since. I've got no complaints about its ruggedness. The keys just respond pretty stiff. Value: I got mine as a bundle with the FM7 (no longer available). As a standalone, I think it's a little pricey for such a small keyboard. It's real value is as a midi controller, but you're paying for the additional feature of the keys. The Wow Factor: Let's be honest, it looks like a toy. It looks out of place next to my other gear. My 4-year-old thinks it looks cool and can't understand that I didn't buy it for him. If it doesn't prove a bit more useful soon, I'll probably go ahead and give it to him for his own computer. Overall: Ah. I got it as a bundle for less than the software alone normally costs, so I can't complain one bit. But at the market price, I don't think I'd buy one, I'd have to go for something bigger and test it out first to see how the keys respond. But the bigger ones cost as much as used synths that still have dynamite sounds, like the Korg M1 and a lot of new, low-end Yamahas that still have midi in/out. So I can't really justify buying just a midi controller.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not bad, not great, it just makes its job." submitted September 2, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, songwriter, keyboard player
Music Style: Rock pop, latin
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: The knobs and the slider are programable, wich is useful although the programming method is a little unconfortable. Quality: You know M-audio, they're not exactly the best out there. The keys feel cheap, but it makes its job. You have better options and quality with Evolution but Oxygen is the less expensive, so it
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great budget keyboard" submitted January 6, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Trance
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: N/A Feature: You get what you pay for. The keys are cheap and plastic-y, but if you just need to tap out a melody into your sequencer then they get the job done. The keys aren't weighted so you may need to adjust the note velocities after recording. The 8 knobs are good, and the octave-shifting buttons are nice and quick. I wish I had got a keyboard with another octave of keys though; 2 is restrictive sometimes. Ease of Use: Everything works as it should except the transport buttons which I can't get to work with any sequencers (but that might be the sequencer's fault, idk). Also be sure to use the latest drivers from M-Audio's site, I had issues with the earlier ones. Quality: It seems more flimsy than it is; it's survived being dropped as well as more than a few rough airport luggage trips. All the same, it is plastic, so I wouldn't drop-kick it into a cement wall or do whatever drunk musicians do that makes physical quality so important. Value: When I bought it it was easily the most affordable option in its class, but that was a couple years ago so I don't know if any more worthy competitors have been introduced. I think price is its main selling point. Manufacturer Support: Haven't used it The Wow Factor: It's aesthetically appealing, but just doesn't look professional; it won't impress anyone except maybe your kids. Overall: If you need a keyboard and you're on a budget then this is a good option. I wish I'd bought one with 3 octaves though. It was my first keyboard so I thought 2 octaves would be enough, especially considering that I do simple dance music. Still, 25 keys just feels restrictive a lot of the time.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

M-Audio Oxygen 8 Keyboard Customer Review submitted June 7, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sound quality is not that bad im using reason i probalby just need better samples Feature: features are pretty good for only a 100 dollar keyboard Ease of Use: really easy to use no complications or tricks with this keyboard Quality: quality is pretty good the keys need to be a little bit more precise but all u need is a 12 volt 1000ma power adapter and ur good to go because there's a slight lag when u hit the keys Value: a very good price The Wow Factor: i have it Overall: really good keyboard i just wish the keys felt like those 600 dollar synths out there
1 of 4 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Still not the thing for a business traveller." submitted October 28, 2004

By a customer from email.arizona.edu
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Semi Professional, grad school level musician.
Music Style: Classical, Experimental, Modern.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's not a sound device, it's a midi controller. That said, at least the key action is silent. Feature: Actually a pretty good controller. I'm really wishing for a different product though. I want a few more keys, they don't have to be full size, or full travel, but I want at least another octave. And I want it to fit comforatbly in a laptop bag (along with the laptop), because this is what I practice on when staying in hotels, travelling for work. I carry my Oxygen-8 in my garmet bag, not in my laptop bag. So I still find myself "packing around it" as opposed to it being something I can easily carry with me. Quality: Well, I abuse it, so this might not be fair, but sometimes some of the keys get sticky. I wiggle them a bit, and it's all better. I expect to destroy this little keyboard within a year or so. Value: It was the only serious choice for the price range. Manufacturer Support: I love this company. The Wow Factor: I refuse to comment in this category. Overall: Well, I wouldn't buy it again, but that's because I'm holding out for something that travels better. If I can carry an extra bag when travelling, I might as well have an anvil case with a 61 key synth :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

M-Audio Oxygen 8 Keyboard Customer Review submitted September 16, 2004

Feature: knobs are not 360 ...so it's bit a hassle to turn them in zero position with "midi mute" before you use them to control any parameter... ...memory is reseting all your configurations every time you turn off this controller, beats me why ...very complicated to program
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worst peice of" submitted May 23, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: techno, trip-hop, acid jazz, electronic rock., ambient
Back to Product Information
Sound: Well, as it's a controller, it doesn't make any sounds itself. Feature: It's handy having keys and knobs when you use a lot of plug-ins and soft-synths. It beats using a mouse, but the keys on this unit are loose and feel like a $25 casio toy keyboard. The pitch bend wheel was broken upon arrival. M-audio fixed it, but I don't trust it, as the whole thing rattles, feels hollow and cheap. Programmability is extremely limited. I wish I had spent more time shopping before buying this. The Novation ReMOTE 25, for example, has TONS of useful features that this one lacks, including semi-weighted keys, dedicated transport controls, user-programmable templates for all kinds of software (with overlays), and a MUCH better design for the pitch bend and mod "wheel." Quality: Broken on arrival, not repaired when I sent it back, crappy drivers, I think it's safe to say that this product is lacking in the field of quality. I honestly have a guitar shaped yamaha toy keyboard that's a more useful midi controller than this thing. Value: Well, it was cheap... but I guess they aren't lying when they say you get what you pay for. The vlaue would be fine if it were a usable controller, but $140 for a paperweight is just silly. Manufacturer Support: The one positive thing I can say is that one gentleman in M-Audio tech support was very friendly and helpful. He even gave me his cell number when their office was moving, so I didn't have to wait until after their move was finished to get my product serviced. I don't know that this is common practice, but he did make me feel like he wanted to help me, and is the only reason this rating is not a 1. The rest of the support staff seems very unknowledgable and their steps of troubleshooting are not very comprehensive. As far as repair goes, When I sent the first unit back, they failed to diagnose and fix the problem of chronic loss of midi control. For this reason, I question whether I did in fact receive a new unit when I sent it back the second time. They did not pay for shipping for either time I returned it, so now I've spent nearly as much on this unworking toy as I would have on a Novation ReMOTE 25. It has been a severe disappointment dealing with M-Audio. The Wow Factor: I want it... to turn magically into Novation. Overall: I recommend not buying this for half of what they're asking. Save your money and get something that works. They should stick to slightly-above consumer level interfaces.
1 of 4 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"do not buy, no support for windows 7" submitted December 9, 2009

Sound: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Feature: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Ease of Use: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Quality: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Value: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Manufacturer Support: do not buy, no support for windows 7 The Wow Factor: do not buy, no support for windows 7 Overall: do not buy, no support for windows 7
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZN-JRN4. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!