800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16XP-F19R
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: M-Audio Firewire Solo

The M-Audio FireWire Solo is a FireWire Bus-powered device allowing you to record wherever you want to as long as you have a FireWire enabled computer.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Glad I went firewire not USB." submitted February 6, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: part-time singer/songwriter
Music Style: Acoustic pop rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: First time recording through firewire and I have to say it's great. A cheap and easy way to get great sounding vocals. Feature: Nothing to much to speak about. I was glad it had phantom power but despite that I haven't noticed anything else worth mentioning...besides what's standard. Quality: It's really nice quality no doubt. You can record two tracks simultaneously which is nice. Can't wait to put this thing to full use. Value: Not too expensive yet still so nice. Manufacturer Support: I don't know much about support but I do know that MAudio has some reasonably good fan feedback so I trust they make a quality product and thus they probably help their customers with these products. The Wow Factor: it's mildly attractive. Overall: I will use this until it breaks. Or I'll upgrade to more inputs but the sound quality is not going to every get old.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

M-Audio Firewire Solo Customer Review submitted May 11, 2006

By a customer from scyam.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Just got the product and have only recorded acoustic guitar and vocal. Guitar DI'd and the sound is vcery good. Vocal were through a Rode Nt2 and are excellent. I will be using the SP/DIF interface from a Boss GT6 and I am looking forward to see what level of quality recording this gives (I don't expect anything less than excellent) Feature: XLR with 48v phantom power, line in, DI for guitar and SP/DIF for feeding from top range effects units. What more could you ask. Overall: For the solo musician this is an excellet I/O device for recording to a Laptop /PC.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

M-Audio Firewire Solo Customer Review submitted March 18, 2005

By a customer from yandex.ru
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home production
Music Style: From Hip-Hop to Thrash Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: I like the sound very much. No cracks pops and clicks and my laptop is running faster now. The recording is crisp and clear, especially when you record with a preamp. Feature: Came with cables and software. Lol. It also came with a 110V power source, so when I automatically plugged in I had a little explosion :) So I had to go and buy a 220V adapter, because the manufacturer just FORGOT to supply its product with it. The card took no damage tho'. Apart from that it has guitar and mic inputs. That comes handy but it has no built in preamp, and that seems very strange to me. Oh and I have 4ms latency in Cubase, feels good. Quality: Hell yes it looks and feels good indeed. Steel and solid. And a blue led. Yummy. Value: I paid 200$ for it, if you need a 200$ firewire device with mic/guitar/headphones ins - I recommend you taking this baby Manufacturer Support: I know nothing about the M-Audio support, all of their products work flawless for me. The Wow Factor: It will serve me well for a couple of years I know it, after that i'm going to switch to something really expensive, to a different level. Overall: Great external card for 150-200$. I'm loving it.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If ur looking for something mobile... this is it!!" submitted March 23, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Ive been using the SOLO for the last 9 months, and I like the sound of this. Feature: seems to have all the approproate features. Ease of Use: easy to hook up. just one firewire cable (power & audio). Manufacturer Support: no comment Overall: i would rate this 9 because ive also worked a lot on digi hardware. this thing is good, but still would'nt say it has the brilliance of sending something they a 002 or a HD system.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"life long commitment" submitted March 22, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: student at full sail
Music Style: hard rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the sound is not bad, compared to my 1/8 inch microphone input. i cant complain it gets the job done. Feature: it would be nice if it had two 1/4 inch inputs. it does on the back but you can only use those as stereo inputs. if it had one of those crazy 1/4" / XLR inputs that would be amazing. Ease of Use: not the hardest thing to do, just plug and play. works well with garageband and logic pro 8. Quality: the firewire solo is a brick this thing seems like you could run it over with a truck. the 1/4 inch jack is a little wobbly but i havent had any problems with it comming loose. everything else is sturdy as can be. Value: for the money hell yea. i was thinking bout getting the presonus firebox but thats like a hundred dollars more. and this stands up to my buddys firebox for sure Manufacturer Support: very helpful in allowing me to find out that the back inputs are stereo pairs :( The Wow Factor: its a box with some holes in it. i mean yea know it is what it is. you want sex appeal buy a PRS guitar. Overall: the firewire solo should last me untill i need to record a band. right now until i get my project studio off the ground it works really well. i will probably use this thing for the rest of my life. its small enough and tough enough to take on the road with me. so yea rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great card, fits needs perfectly, affordable and pro tools compatible." submitted September 27, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician, Producer, Recording Engineer
Music Style: Hip-Hop, RnB, Various others
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: both the input and the output are really clean. i suggest utilizing the balanced outputs so that you maximize the sound quality. Feature: it comes with everything it mentions. though my box did lack the reason adapted program and pro sessions, no biggie considering that i use reason 3.0 anyway. its a great product if it fits your needs. i use it between my laptop and my desktop, and the unit switches between the two without any problems. Quality: the build on the unit itself is well weighted and it shows its ruggedness. ive had some problems with it. one of them was when i attached my firewire ipod cable through it and connected my ipod (then i switched it to my open firewire slot on my computer which solved this), and another wierd instance was when i had music playing through it while my computer was booting up still, most likely my fault, but the sound didnt work until i restarted it again. but other than those two easy to fix problems the quality on this product is great for 200. Value: if its what you want, fits your needs, then here is your product. Manufacturer Support: though i havent had to contact m-audio because of this product, i have on diffrent occassions and they were all helpful and responded in a reasonable amount of t ime. even in one case they replaced my whole radium 61, and they shipped it back very quickly. The Wow Factor: its sexy cause it matches all the other m-audio products i own, along with my ibook. its also easy to carry around cause of its small footprint. Overall: it fit my needs exactly. a stereo line in, a mic with phantom power, a guitar in, firewire and balanced outputs. its really really clean both inputs and outputs, and for other cards inthis price range, the firewire solo is a perfect choice. and since its protools compatible is just icing on the cake.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great product for the buck.If your serious, Save up and buy something better" submitted September 17, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ,Radio Broadcaster,Producer
Music Style: Trance,Progresssive
Back to Product Information
Sound: This product is decent for its sound.The only problem when you crank the volume knob it crackles through the speakers.Kind of annoying when your mixign and you need to check things out at certain levels. Feature: Has phantom power which is nice. great for any beginner vocalist who is recording off a condenser mic. Ease of Use: This is simple. A cave man could use it ;) Quality: I wish the volume knob didnt crackle as much when you turned the volume up or down.Phantom power for a mic and rear and front inputs work flawless. Value: For the price its worth it.Get it if your a beginner thats into recording or a novice producer.I dont recommend it to pro producers or anyone with qulaity speakers and gear.Spend alittle more for some better quality interface Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it yet The Wow Factor: Looks ok.Not really a looker type product. Overall: overall i give this a 7.This product is great for someone who records here and there and uses this with a set of active monitors.It does the trick and its all you really need.As myself as a producer with sort's of synthesizers and microphones and a radio broadcaster.This doesnt come up to par.If your like me or plan on getting into recording and slowly building your studio.Save up and spend your money on a quality interface.It will be well worth the wait and hard work saving up for something nice.If you need something quick and does the job normaly.Then this is your toy
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"money worthy,oh yes" submitted July 3, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: prett good,if you've got a condesnser,can't complain,the microphone input has alot of volume specially with phatom power. guitar input is weaker in comparison Quality: yes,dropped in bare times,the mic input is slightly dislodged,but still in full order.the casing is very tough. Manufacturer Support: once when i thought it had been hot plugged...in theory it should have been by now...fairly helpful support The Wow Factor: to me it doesn't look to sexual but it does its job very well,plus it's not half as ugly as some unit sin the same price range Overall: might keep it for a while till it either breaks,or until i wanna upgrade to a desk.if you require hoem recordin facilities and only need 1 input at a time i strongly reckommend this unit
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice external sound card. Works with Vista." submitted February 3, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Not sure which DAC they use in this unit, but the sound is nice. Feature: Has balanced and unbalanced analog in/outs. Good quality. Comes with short firewire cable (I had to buy a longer one). Ease of Use: Just plug and go! Avoid hot-plugging this unit (common sense). Quality: Made of metal. Solid. No issues. Value: $200. A good external sound card. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: Very utilitarian. Not fancy at all. No complaints Overall: I will keep this for a couple of years, then maybe move on to a top level DAC
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The sound is NOT great but OKAY" submitted December 25, 2007

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is borderline.... i do hip hop and R&B if your looking for a more clean sound this is not it. Don't get me wrong its pretty nice for the price but far from professional. After you play around with it and want to reach another level of quality you will surely need to upgrade from this. Right now im looking at getting the RME Fireface 800 or 400 i keep hearing good things about the 800. Feature: It did include some other components but i didn't use any of them. Ease of Use: It was pretty easy to use. I just followed the installation instructions and plugged it in when it told me. It's a smart idea not to unplug this thing while its on though (hot swap). I have heard of that leading to the death of these type of interfaces. Quality: it didn't seem like it was made cheap. Its a pretty heavy little metal box that i sit ontop of my pc when i recorded. The quality of the sound is not professional though. If you have a Great microphone you will not be able to hear how great that mic is through this interface. This is what i have learned and would like to share with any potential buyers of this product. If you are looking for that pro sound this is not for you. Value: I will give this product a 10... Because for the price it gets the job done. I have given some cd's of mines to my friends and they liked the songs. This audio interface would be good to have for practicing your recording skills working on your technique more than anything. Then when you upgrade you will most likely suprise yourself how great you will sound. I wouldn't have spent more than $200 for this product though and I don't think its worth anymore than that. Manufacturer Support: I have never had to use the support The Wow Factor: Its nice looking on the outside but i really don't care about that. I want to spend money for the performance not the look of the box. Overall: Overall this product gets a 6 from me and thats pretty high. For me this product can't get a 10 because there is much better out there. Don't get me wrong though for beginners this is a decent interface. Im on a different level now though so im ready to upgrade to a better interface with a great preamp
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I could eat a floppy disk and PUKE a better driver." submitted March 8, 2007

By a customer from milwaukee.k12.wi.us
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Alternative Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Still does not work. Windows will not properly register the driver. Feature: Accessories are included - cables, power supply, everything you need. Except a functional driver Ease of Use: Driver will not handle anything but the ONE chipset they tested it with. Get a TI firewire card or you are SOL. Quality: Well built hardware. Useless software. Value: If it will not work, it is useless. Manufacturer Support: Never came up with the right answer. All troubleshooting had to be done by me. All they could come up with could be found in the (downloaded - the one that came with it was useless) manual. The Wow Factor: Pretty but pretty useless Overall: Do not buy M-Audio firewire products. Their drivers are miserable.
2 of 9 people (22.22%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Worst" submitted September 13, 2006

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I could not get Solo to work consistently from the rear port. It would not work at all from the front port. I have no confidence in M-Audio products. Manufacturer Support: Could not reach support.
2 of 7 people (28.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Seek another option" submitted December 20, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: alt-indy-strangewave-prog-jazz-psychobilly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Started using it on my Mac OSX w/Garage Band 3 yrs ago, worked GREAT. My bro and I recorded a few studio mixed songs, a few live ones, used it to run iTunes into big house PA system. The sound was great. Feature: No MIDI in/out, and it looks like this is standard on most comparable audio interfaces now. Ease of Use: Took me awhile to figure out the control panel on my Mac. It never worked on my PC, so can't help you there. Quality: Here's the problem - do NOT hot-plug or hot un-plug M-Audio products, or it will render them useless. You think they would do something simple like install a breaker to prevent this from happening. Mine worked, then the next minute it inexplicably died, perhaps because I hot-plugged it unintentionally. It's dead and gone, so now I have a $150 door stop that will probably turn into a chew toy for my new puppy. I will never buy another M-audio product. Value: I would have given at least a 3 or even a 10 if the thing were still working. It was great when it worked, but the value is ZERO when it just gives up on you with no hope of ever getting your money's worth out of it. Manufacturer Support: Didn't call on phone, but their webite was very, very helpful in telling me that there are about a half-dozen different ways to render this thing completely USELESS if you happen to plug it in wrong. Otherwise, web site very helpful. The Wow Factor: Again, this would be higher if it were more reliable, and if it still worked. People don't want to have to buy something twice.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16XP-F19R. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!