800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1609-Z78K
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Mackie SWA1501 Subwoofer

Extremely powerful. Compact cabinet. Level control.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

Mackie SWA1501 Subwoofer Customer Review submitted January 28, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musican, home recording engineering/production
Music Style: Classic Rock, Blues. Roots
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It puts out a lot of bass for its size. It sounds fantastic. Feature: Has a good feature set. You can run through the speaker and take output that have the lows filtered out or take the full-range signal. I have found that the filtered signal is missing too much of the low spectrum if you are sending it to SRM450. Probably because its a passive filter as opposed to a crossover (I'm not sure) Ease of Use: Its pretty easy to use. You can tell when a signal is getting to the subwoofer by seeing a green LED. Once it gets a signal you are pretty much done. Quality: The construction of the cabinet is great. However, my unit failed after 3.5 months of using it 7-8 times per month. I spoke with a club owner who uses his 8-10 times a month and he has had several subwoofers fail also. My failure was in the amplifier unit. I'm still waiting to get it back, its been two weeks so far. I am the only one that moves the cabinet, so I am confident that it hasn't been mishandled or dropped. We also don't drive it that hard. Value: This is an expensive piece of equipment. So I would expect it to be well engineered and manufactured. While it preformed beautifully for the first 25 times I used it. I expect greater longevity for a $1,000 piece of equipment. Manufacturer Support: I tried calling them directly and they asked me to take it apart to check and see if the speaker was seized. I was a bit surprised, I didn't want to take the thing apart and risk voiding the warranty. I figured they would provide shipping to get it out to a warranty shop. They wanted me to pay for shipping (or drive it myself) 2.5 hours. Instead I took it back to where I bought it. They diagnosed the problem and are waiting for the replacement part (the amplifier unit) from Mackie. I have dealt with them on a smaller piece of equipment and they did a swap. I am a bit disappointed on this one, but its a much heavier piece of equipment and would cost a fortune to ship. The Wow Factor: This is a very sexy piece of equipment and when used properly gives us a "pro" sound. Several musicians who have seen us play are considering adding a sub woofer to their system. Overall: I will continue to stick with this product because I believe in Mackie and I think its a good product that may have a flaw. I am hoping that they get it sorted out, or that I received and faulty amplification unit.
33 of 34 people (97.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT SUBS" submitted December 19, 2004

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: run sound
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: sound awesome shakes the walls!! Feature: great features Quality: sounds great looks great and puts out more than enough bass when needed. Value: definetly worth the cost doesn't take up to much room but still puts out great bass. Manufacturer Support: one main speaker was making a craking noise when we got it mackie took it back and replaced free of cost with a new one havn't had any trouble since. The Wow Factor: LOOKS GREAT!!!!!!! Overall: i will be satisfied with this sub for a long time sub has a protection circut in cas the music gets to loud i've had it at 116db subs still didn't cut and sounded clear!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SWA 1501 Subwoofer... not all it's claimed to be by the 'Mackie Clan'" submitted March 28, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Band Leader / Music Contractor / Recording Engineer
Music Style: R&B, Rock, Reggae, Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have used this product for a little over a year now. I A-B'd this speaker with JBL, QSC and a couple of other competitors at my local Guitar Center. The Mackie had a tighter sound and seemed to have more presence. But, I've had problems using this speaker on the gig as 'live-band' reinforcement. I've blown through 2 of them already. Maybe it's how much I'm pushing them but I don't believe so. I've been running sound many years and I'm also using 'acucurve' limiter on the subs just in case... The SWA 1501 sounds great when it's working. Manufacturer Support: Mackie has no authorized warranty repair in Orange County Califonia. That's just not cool! I had to find out the hard way that when my speaker quit instead of just taking it back to Guitar Center or using OC Speaker... I had to send the product back to Loud Technologies in Seattle Washington! The Wow Factor: Great, small, can be handled by one person in transporting. Overall: It gets a 7 only because it wasn't totally reliable with my PA set-up.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Really nice sub." submitted July 7, 2004

By a customer from multimon.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: jazz / r&b
Back to Product Information
Sound: It is deeper than some other subs. It can really put out too. It has a nice mellow sound and it can really thump. I did a outdoor gig and it was killin em. Feature: It has only XLR I/O. Quality: A really, really nice sub. Value: Maybe a little expensive, but worth it. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed em. The Wow Factor: I bought it and I'm very happy with it. Overall: This is a really nice sub.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Mackie SWA1501 Subwoofer Customer Review submitted November 18, 2003

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: If your running two subs in stereo mode, it could sound a little muddy, howevere when you run then in Mono, they sound great. Feature: The high pass built in crossover comes in handy, howevere In future models, I would include the popular feature to be able to power a high frequency speaker as well.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beware... Either run product at a third of the gain... or re-cone speakers often" submitted November 4, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ
Music Style: Top 40 and House
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds really good... I have 2 1501's and 2 eon's... perfect for medium crowds and can handle a large one if needed. Feature: I like how it's simple to use... but the thremal function doesn't work untill it's to late. Ease of Use: plug and go... Quality: If you are lucky enough to find one of the older models you will be more then happy. If you purchase one built in the last 3 years beware. I've had to recone 3 speakers now due to thermal over load and voice coils burning out. The heat sink on the older one was noticably cooler (gain was 75%) then new one (only 50%!!). New ones are too fragile. I even rented one while cones were being repaired on mine and thermaled that one in 2 hours on a 50% load (manufacture date was 11/06) Value: alot of money for a big paper weight... once it over heats they are worthless unless you spend $150 to recone the speaker... Manufacturer Support: no experience with them The Wow Factor: I do admit the product is a really nice looking unit... but not worth the headaches... If mackie would stop pinching pennies and went back to their old ways the product would be great. Overall: Older made models are great! New ones... run away from! Mackie please get back to making quality and not this junk... you're wrecking your rep.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What can i say. mine survived a flood. complete water imersion for 3 hours. works fine without service need... FaNtAsTiC" submitted November 28, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Audio Technician
Music Style: House and dance music in general
Back to Product Information
Sound: Really nice and powerfull Feature: maybe it could have some tune up knob for frequency limiting... Ease of Use: Just plug and listen... Quality: What can i say. mine survived a flood. complete water imersion for 3 hours. works fine without service need... FaNtAsTiC Value: Could be cheaper like everything else Manufacturer Support: Never needed The Wow Factor: Yes you shoul want one or two :) Overall: What can i say. mine survived a flood. complete water imersion for 3 hours. works fine without service need... FaNtAsTiC
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No love for the SWA 1501 or Mackie products" submitted August 18, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The SWA 1501 sound great and you can feel the bass from a small cabinet when the amp does not burn out. Feature: I love the 100Hz built in crossover. Small compact unit and light weight for one person to move around. Ease of Use: A simple plug-in, but you have to keep an eye on it so it does not overheat the amp which leads burn out amp & driver. Quality: The SWA 1501 DOES NOT lives up to there name of Mackies. I own two 1400 amps; 6 450s & a pair 350s by Mackie. Have them for over 5 yrs and had only two problems with them. Most spent on a repair $385. The SWA 1501 I had for less than a year with a month left on the warranty. They spent most of there time at the repair shop. I only use them 4 times and each use the amp & driver would burn out within hours of use. Value: SWA 1501 would be a bang for your buck if the amp & driver does not go up in smoke. Manufacturer Support: I still have a month left on the warranty but Mackie refuse to repair the SWA 1501. They claim that they have satisfied my warranty. The Wow Factor: SWA 1501 is NOT worth it. I would NOT give SWA 1501 to my ex-wife or this I can use to piss her off. It sure did for me. Overall: SWA 1501 would be an awesome sub if the amp did not over heat. I love Mackie products but the SWA 1501 made change my mind about there products and there customer service.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1609-Z78K. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!