800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZN-MRMY
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Laney CUB12R Guitar Amp

Choose the wattage output with this combo amp. It features 2 input sockets, one for the full 15 watts and the other for .75 of watt output.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"King of the small amps" submitted January 24, 2013

By Matt F in Franklin, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years of playing, was in a band 25 years ago
Music Style: All music except Polka
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I wanted an amp for bedroom volumes and ocassional cranking.I luv this one, and i have had many over 40 years.Without trashing all of the others,here's the good stuff: Easy to control volume on both 1 and 15 watt inputs,Nice clean sound and nice distortion that is kind of a vintage and modern mix. Decent reverb that does not sound splashy or tanky with distortion.Effects loop that i can use for my drum machine.Lightweight,good workmanship, dead quiet,best price to value ratio.Break in the speaker ( you can look that up online )I ordered this from zZounds and got it in 3 days!!!Would i pay $100.00 for another channel? No, as i prefer a good clean sound with various pedals for distortion variety.But you can plug straight in and be happy.
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Laney CUB12R Guitar Amp Customer Review submitted September 7, 2011

By a customer from HERNDONCHEVY.COM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: SEMI ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: BLUES AND HARD ROCK
Back to Product Information
Sound: SOUND AND SOUND QUALITY ARE GREAT EVEN IF THE AMP WAS MUCH MORE IT WOULD STILL BE WORTH IT. FIT AND FINISH IS GOOD AND SEEMS LIKE IT IS VERY STURDY WHICH IS WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM LANEY. THE AMP IS VERY LIGHT GREAT IF YOU ARE HAULING AROUND TO PRACTICE OR A GIG. THIS NOT A METAL AMP SO DONT EXPECT TO GET TRIPLE REC SOUNDS OUT OF IT BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR MARSHALLY CLEANS, BLUESY CRUNCH OR HARD ROCK TONES IT WILL DO ALL OF THOSE EVEN MAYBE SOME OLD SABBATH. Feature: FEATURES AND TONE AT THIS PRICE POINT ARE GREAT. THE DIGITAL REVERB IS VERY USABLE AND THE 1 WATT INPUT IS NICE FOR PRACTICE. EFFECTS LOOP IS A NICE TOUCH TOO SINCE NORMALLY IN THIS PRICE RANGE YOU GET REVERB OR LOOP NOT BOTH. SPEAKER MAY BE A LOW END CELESTION BUT IT SOUNDS LIKE A CELESTION SHOULD. Ease of Use: VERY EASY TO USE NOT A WHOLE LOT TO CONFUSE YOU VERY SIMPLE Quality: SEEMS VERY STURDY. LIKE I SAID IT IS LIGHT BUT THE STEEL GRATE ON THE BACK TO PROTECT THE SPEAKER AND TUBES IS A NICE TOUCH Value: TRIED MANY AMPS IN THE $350 TO $650 RANGE THIS IS BY FAR THE MOST VERSATILE. IT IS NOT A ONE TRICK PONY LIKE MOST SINGLE CHANNEL AMPS. Manufacturer Support: EMAILED LANEY BECUASE NO ONE IS CARRYING THE FS1 FOOTSWITCH AND THEY GOT RIGHT BACK TO ME. The Wow Factor: I OWN IT LOVE THE OLD SCHOOL VIBE Overall: WISH THE FOOTSWITCH WAS AVAILABLE WOULD HAVE EVEN PAYED A LITTLE MORE IF THEY WOULD JUST INCLUDE IT.
31 of 32 people (96.88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Laney CUB12R Guitar Amp Customer Review submitted June 30, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Alt-Country, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have tried several other 15w tube amps in this class (including the Fender Hot Rod Blues Junior III), and I have to say that this is probably the best of the bunch, in terms of sound and value. Whereas I found the Junior to sound a little too brittle, the Laney Cub 12R gives a much warmer tone that's not harsh on the ears - thanks probably to the 12" Celestion Rocket Speaker. You get a little spank, WITHOUT the ice-pick jaggedness of the Blues Junior. I find the Cub 12R to very responsive and it complements the sound of my Gibson Les Paul Junior very well. Feature: This amp gives you a GREAT feature set for its class (especially for me, who bought mine as a blem at zZounds for MUCH less than the regular price). The separate 15w and 1w inputs give you the option of either full sound at gig-able volumes, or full sound at bedroom levels. The digital reverb is quite nice, though I hardly use it. The 12" Celestion Rocket speaker gives you warm, singing tones rigt out of the box. Some people have lamented that this speaker is a cheaper Celestion, but hey - they had to keep the price down somehow, right? Anyhoo, there are separate controls for Gain, Volume, Bass, Mid and Treble. There is also a "Tone" control, which pretty much acts as a Presence control for the overall tone of the amp. The amp design itself is retro cool, and seems well built. To top everything off, the amp is LIGHT!!! I almost forgot to mention the tilt-back mechanism, which makes onstage monitoring a breeze. Ease of Use: Dialing in the tones I want is quite easily achieved with this amp. Quality: Funny...mine was a "blem", but I could not find any defects on it, whatsoever. Seemed perfect out of the box. Value: Awesome, all-tube amp at a GREAT price! Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with them yet. The Wow Factor: It's a cool little (and loud) all-tube amp in a sexy little retro package. I find the amp to have a lot of "play me" appeal, and that's exactly what I do. Overall: It's taken me a lot of time and money to finally find this amp, so I'll be keeping it for a while.
39 of 41 people (95.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Killer little amp" submitted August 24, 2015

By Mark Fabbri in Golden Valley, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing gigs and recording Galaxy rock albums/vinyl and CD's for over 50 years. I am 63.
Music Style: hard rock, space rock, funk, jazz, reggae, blues, boogy, ballads
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My new Laney Cub12R is in every way everything I expected it to be. Christened it in at a gig the other night. Really sounds creamy and has great "brown" tones and all that. I never even turned the volume over 4-5 and still cut through the mix and the noisy crowd. Finally a low wattage tube amp that kicks classic butt at any volume.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome amp" submitted June 17, 2016

By mike m in hobbs, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years on guitar
Music Style: Blues rock Christian red dirt
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My first laney and I love it it has a great tone and takes pedals well and my Tele loves it my Marshall is gonna get a break
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Laney Cub 12R" submitted January 5, 2015

By Andrew Moxom in Woodbury, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I thought this amp might be the one, due to its small size, and good feature set. To my ears, the sound was always to brittle, too harsh in the highs with no low end to speak of. Reverb was also thin. I tried an external cab, and it was a disappoinment. I much prefer the 6v6 based cub 10 for overall sound, and awesome smooth tube distortion. I ended up returning the amp back to zzounds as I just could not find my sound with the cub12R
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Laney cub 12" submitted April 3, 2016

By Dale P in Mounds, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar
Music Style: Alot
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Nice small amp. For what it is a small tube combo, it's perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"laney decent amp " submitted June 16, 2016

By Michael Grondin in Austin , TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: college music degree
Music Style: Blues , soul , rock & roll
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Good amp, lightweight. british tone, reverb is ok for a digital reverb, not very loud compared to other amp like blues jr, or crates v15. versatile little amp but don't expect a american sound
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"solid amp for a great price" submitted March 12, 2016

By Dustin B in waldoboro, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 6 plus years of playing guitar in bands
Music Style: Rock, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The first couple of days that I owned this amp I was rather dissapointed. It had a fake sound, almost a film over it. I replaced the speaker with the stock speaker out of my fender hot rod deluxe and now this amp sings! If your buying this amp, buy it with the intent to change the stock speaker because it is very low quality.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZN-MRMY. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!