800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1608-99HD
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Kramer Pacer Guitar

With a Floyd Rose locking tremolo, two push/pull coil tap controls, and Seymour Duncan JB and JN humbuckers, the Kramer Pacer Vintage is a classic reborn.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Hair Metal Tone Machine" submitted March 14, 2013

By Justin Osburn in Hermosa Beach, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional
Music Style: Heavy Metal, Rock, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I always wanted one of these purely for the looks, but I must say I was very surprised on the playability and craftsmanship once I got it. I have few super strats: 2 Charvel Pro Mods (1 Japan, 1 USA) and 2 Jackson Adrian Smiths (1 USA, 1 SDX Import) and I find myself playing this one the most. I'm really a fan of the Kramer body shape in comparison to the others..I feel the higher frets are easier to reach on it and really like the feel of the neck. I was shocked on how well the action was setup and straight/flat the neck was for a foreign guitar...they did a great job. The Seymour Duncans are smoking and deliver amazing tones, from thumping lows to shimmering highs. I bought the blemished model option and still can't figure out why it was blemished. I would buy another one of these in a heartbeat...I wish they had more colors/options available, but I guess it appeals to a niche audience. My only complaint is that the guitar is a little on the heavy side due to the all maple construction....but all maple delivers some pretty amazing tone so its a good sacrifice. Highly recommend it!
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect guitar!" submitted November 9, 2012

By Jason K in Columbus, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played music my whole life and I'm 34 now
Music Style: I play both kinds of music--Rock AND Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Since picking the guitar back up a few years back, I have struggled to find a guitar that was perfect for me. This one is everything I wanted. The Floyd, Seymour JB and JN, and the lovely flamed top. I was concerned about the neck radius but it was fine. The tone for me is great! I know the other review didn't like it but I use a 6505+ and maybe it balances it out. I also use a BOSS EQ and it asists in the tone( it was muddy with previous instruments). With this guitar, I can get the sound I want whether its a nice clean or full blown scream! It is very simliar to the Charvel So CAl which I also looked at. I feel like its easier to use the upper frets on this Kramer though. The only think that seems worthless is the treble bleed. Not necessary at all! After a quick set up, which you should do, it was perfect! I have owned Charvels,Fenders,and others and this guitar (at least mine) is quality. Recommend it for anyone who wants an awesome guitar! This was my first purchase from zZounds. Got the instrument I was looking for and zZounds customer service has been great!
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tiger Burst Classic" submitted May 26, 2014

By Justin Harrington in Mukilteo, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played guitar off and on for 28 years just started practicing everyday in the last 5 years
Music Style: rock,blues,Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very happy with my purchase. this guitar was very playable right out of the box. with very little set up. all I had to do is set the pickups to the proper height. great craftsmanship from Kramer never disappointing
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pacer returned - Disappointed with product" submitted May 12, 2014

By Kurt B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional / hobbyist Player - 20+ years
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Prog, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As with any sound this is subject to personal opinion. In my opinion the series / parallel tap was unusable. Just sounded like a muddy low output humbucker in every configuration. Don't expect a classic sound from this guitar. No points on versatility. I typically love JB's but this bridge pickup in combination with all the maple didn't sound good at all. Using a Kemper amplifier and several dozen of my favorite profiles didn't help. - Some profiles fit well with certain guitars but I went through dozens and wasn't able to find a good combination. I can't say what might make it sound better - maybe a brass trem block would help the average sustain and some different pickups but I wasn't about to experiment with what was presented as the higher end Kramer option. Feature: Has all the right features and name brands... just put together poorly with little attention to quality or if this was the right match of pieces / parts. Ease of Use: I wanted to love it! Never managed a great sound from it... maybe you can. I've never sold a guitar going back to the early 80's and I've bought some garbage and classics. Manage to find something I love about each one of those guitars. This one went back in a week.... Standard setup - no surprises here. Any FR trem will require a bit extra attention to setup properly. It was rather comfortable playing without amplification. All that maple.... it almost had an acoustic sound to it. Just don't plug it in. ; / Quality: The vintage finish was nice. That's the only nice thing I can think of. The frets are sharp, the FR had a small bit of chrome missing, the pickups wouldn't sit even (leaned forward unless you propped them back), the allen holders were cheap set screw locks, the bolt on neck was loose even though it couldn't be tightened anymore. To be honest I'm bummed Gibson bought Kramer and gave it such a half hearted effort. This is 250-350 worth of guitar with a 400 premium. Value: NO - take it from someone with 20/20 hindsight - there are better options for the price. The recent price drop is a step in the right direction but it's not enough. Manufacturer Support: Only dealt with Zzounds staff who as usual, were very helpful and responsive. The Wow Factor: Yea wow factor - Guess I was lured by the fancy finish. All that 80's lingo in the advertising - they were not making those sounds with this guitar. Gibson / Kramer is being rather loose with their interpretation of "re-issue" here. Overall: I had this guitar for over a week and returned it. Summary is that it felt like a cheap guitar with some higher end (mismatched) components added as an afterthought and a neat finish. I was going to chalk it up as a learning experience and move one but my Zzounds contact asked me to write an honest review so here it goes.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best guitar!!!" submitted October 20, 2014

By Carlos M in selma, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is outstanding. Has the 80s written all over it. If you love 80s glam metal this guitar is for you. Very Crisp sound.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not What I Expected" submitted October 8, 2012

By Travis F in Cornettsville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played for 20 years with professional experience.
Music Style: Rock/Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this thinking it would rank up there with my George Lynch signature models. However, I was wrong. The guitar had a few minor finish flaws. The action sucked and the tone was super bright. I expected bright but the JB in the bridge didn't have any grind or bite. The treble bleed caps really hurt the overall tone. When rolling the volume down, the tone is biting and shrill. I play through a Randall Lynch Box tube amp so I know it wasn't the amp. All my other guitars sound great. I just really expected better from a Gibson company. It looks great but needs modification. For 759 dollars, you can find better deals.
5 of 8 people (62.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kramer Pacer Vintage Tiger" submitted November 7, 2013

By a customer from college.harvard.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Solid, great-sounding guitar. Works well, has a great variety of tones from a combination of the pickups, coil-taps, and tone knobs.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kramer Pacer " submitted March 6, 2014

By Justin H in Mukilteo, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played guitar for thirty years I like to jam at home ,but Iam open to playing professionally
Music Style: Jazz ,Blues, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I found it to be very nice and easy to play
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Killer guitar." submitted September 18, 2014

By Renato C in New York, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My first "real guitar" was a Kramer that I've got when I was 20 years old back in 80's. Even though were a nice guitar I became more Fender and Gibson guy and that one became my only Kramer axe in my collection. Couple yeas ago I saw Satchel from Steel Panther playing a Kramer Pacer and since them I bought 3 of these guitars to include them in my collection. They sound really cool, feels great, easy playing and totally affordable. I do believe you don't need an expensive guitar to have a great sound as long as you know how to use your fingers and this is a good example about how to get an amazing quality of sound for 700 bucks.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I love it !!!!" submitted September 21, 2014

By Renato C in New York , NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur guitar player.
Music Style: Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Nice guitar, if you are looking for some nice guitar, affordable price, super cool looking, nice tones and so on you should try this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1608-99HD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!