800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1585-T2XN
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Kramer Baretta Special

Ready, set, shred! The Kramer Baretta Special has sound and attitude in spades thanks to its offset Alnico V humbucker and fast-playing maple neck.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Kramer baretta special is a winner!" submitted February 6, 2012

By ed hunter in delran, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for 25 years
Music Style: rock,metal,blues,jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: Wow for the $179 i paid this is a real impressive axe! I wanted a back up to my old original 84 baretta but did not want to spend the money they are going for these days.Anyway no i wont compare it to the original but on its own it is a amazing guitar for the EVH thing!
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar Nostalgia For The Price" submitted September 19, 2012

By Thomas L in Flat Rock, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar since 1987
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is well worth the money. Quality all around and other than the normal issues with a vintage six screw tremolo (no issues if you don't dive bomb), a great no-nonsense player. Paint is great, the nut was done very, very well. I DID however have to file a high fret, but in this price range I expected that. The stock pickup sounds great. Neck is thin and comfortable and the "cool" factor of finally owning a Kramer (as a teen I couldn't afford one back in 1987) can't be beat.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"best for me" submitted February 25, 2014

By Michael Gramlich in lehigh acres, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: Metal, hardcore. Hatebreed kind of stuff
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Put a dimarzio x2n in and it will rip your face off! Feature: Simple but that's the way I like it. Ease of Use: Very balanced and nice neck. Easy to play. Quality: No flaws when I received the guitar. Install of the x2n was super easy thanks to Kramer using enough solder at the factory. Value: Pound for pound best new guitar I have ever owned. Manufacturer Support: No reason to call. Kramer makes a great product. The Wow Factor: It's a sleeper. Single humbucker and volume knob in vintage white looks very traditional and conservative until you play it and it just screams metal! If that's not a wow factor I don't know what is. Overall: Perfect guitar for what I play.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kramer Baretta Special" submitted April 28, 2014

By Pungo Lee in Silk Hope, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing 30 years
Music Style: Folk songs, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this a Month ago from ZZsounds,she arrived in perfect shape. I have had vintage Kramers in the past and had heard good things about this guitar so I took the plunge and bought it sight unseen(hard to find a Gibson-made Kramer in stores).First, the guitar was perfect, fretwork nice(some have complained of sharp fret ends) paint high quality, hardware exceptional( remember, this is a very affordable guitar). I love the thin, fast neck, and Kramer got the hockey-stick head and vintage decal just right.The real value was in the zebra humbucker, wow! This pickup sounds great on this axe, clear, loud, no mud if height is adjusted right. I have 5 other guitars, all of them custom, and the Kramer receives regular rotation, it will even play Chet-style clean with a Fender reverb setting on the pedal. Vintage Kramer aficionados complain it has no Floyd Rose, I don't like FR and the Strat style bridge tremolo worked great. I would consider this guitar to be one of the best deals out there, better get one before the price goes up!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kramer Baretta Special - NICE Buy!" submitted February 21, 2012

By Mike F in Baltimore, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ years guitar playing experience. Repairing guitars 25+ years, 5 of which as a full-time profession.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Simple......I purchased the Kramer Baretta Special to scavenge the body, pickup and tuners from for an EVH project guitar. Let me just say, I really wasn't expecting anything special in this price range, but WOW, this is an awesome bang for the buck. The neck is nice and straight, and the frets on my Kramer were dressed very well......BIG surprise. I'm a full-time luthier, and I give this guitar a solid thumbs up. No, it's NOT a vintage, USA-made Kramer, but neither is the price tag!
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"For the price you cant beat it!!" submitted December 23, 2013

By John C in Wallingford, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 8 years. Jam at home for fun
Music Style: 80's Metal / Hard Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this guitar for my son. I had a set-up done on it by my small, local guitar shop and the people there LOVED this guitar. We will be replacing the pickup with a "hotter" DiMarzio Super Distortion pickup only to better match another guitar he uses (there was nothing wrong). Hey, for the money we saved buying this guitar we can afford the $65.00 upgrade. The ratings are based on the price and my experience with the guitar.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best bang for the buck! you cant go wrong with this guitar!!!" submitted November 14, 2011

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing 23 years
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: is sounds great! Feature: the features are good i rather have a floyd rose but other than that its great Ease of Use: better than an ibanez Quality: its made great, it snapped off the stap three times... and it wasnt damaged at all!!!! Value: great pice for this guitar! Manufacturer Support: kramer is the best out there The Wow Factor: it looks like an 85 baretta but with a few changes! Overall: really think before you look away!
18 of 19 people (94.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1585-T2XN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!