800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173R-FTTP
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Tuesday, Dec. 23 and select 1-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Jet City JCA22H Amp Head

Crisp cleans on through roaring, Soldano-designed distortion are all possible with the 20-watt Jet City JCA22H head.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Even better than I originally reported" submitted July 4, 2012

By Ed S in California, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am reporting again to say that this amp, after about 6 months now, is just awesome. If I could give one piece of advice to new guitar players it would be to NOT buy a solid state amp with built in effects! Buy this amp head and a 1x12 cab or 2x12 cab and then add effects later. This amp sounds GREAT and is something you won't grow out of. If you buy a solid state amp you're just going to want to buy a tube amp in a year or so.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"JCA22H Guitar Amplifier" submitted June 26, 2012

By J L in Del Rio, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Cover Band
Music Style: Rock,hard rock, pop...hits
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is just a great deal for the price. 2 channels, footswitch, effects loop and tube tone & gain. For the price you are paying you cant really complain about anything. You have to understand that this amp is made for dirt and distortion. Effects loop and 2 channels has all the flexibility you can ask for. Volume is plenty for practice with loud drummer. If you are playing at Wembley Stadium then mic it. HI-Gain channel has some noise but nothing unmanageable. I have seen some reviews concerning the cleans and headroom. Although you can get decent tones on cleans this amp is definetely not made for that. Paired it up with the 2x12 matching cabinet. If you want 0 noise perfect cleans and distortion in one package go spend 4 times as much. Built quality on this thing is very good, some details in interior, mainly cosmetic, but nothing you can see from outside. If you want to rock out on a budget this here is a steal.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jet City JCA22H" submitted April 15, 2012

By Neal C in Nashville, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 24 years
Music Style: Rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a fantastic amp for the money! I found it to be very versatile and quite alot of bite on the overdrive channel. Plenty of power so no worries there. Great warm tube sound even through my crappy cabinet! I would not hesitate to recommend this head to anyone who is looking for a solid tube amp that's on a budget.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great bang for the buck" submitted June 4, 2012

By Chris R in Elk Grove Village, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 20 yrs/Weekly gigging musician
Music Style: Rock Covers
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome tone for awesome price. Giging pretty much weekly I needed a replacement for my old marshalls for fear of damage/theft. Plus the weight is a factor. I went through the VOX Night train, Egnl Gigmaster, Mesa Mini Recto which didnt have the tone I was looking for. I had the Pico valve which sounded really great but it couldn't be heard loud enough over my drummer (Rock Band Foo Fighters to Petty )Got the JCA22H and couldnt be happier. Marshally warm sound. Clean Chanel is good too. I don,t have much use for it though. I have become accustomed to using my volume knob to clean up the sound with th eMarshalls. I just ordered the 2x12 50 Watt Combo for the samller stages. I cant wait for that to come now...
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jet City JCA22H" submitted February 20, 2012

By george lutech in franklinville, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 26 years exp.
Music Style: blues, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Warm tone low price versatile. easy to dial in great blues, rock or metal sounds. 2 Chanels effects loop for how much its a no brainer. the tubes it comes with are great for heavy stuff but you need to change at least v1 if you want a good blues breakup at a good volume. I put JJs in the power section a old marshall ecc83 in v1 and a real old stock sovtek 12ax7 from 1985 in v2 now it sings not that it didn't before but thats just what I liked best.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Amp" submitted March 18, 2012

By Lewis S in California , MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Paying 2 yrs, only play guitar and only at the house.
Music Style: Rock, hair metal, metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: In order to put my review in perspective; I have been playing for about two years now. This is the first tube amp I have ever owned or played, so I have nothing to really base my ratings on in a comparison sense. I've owned the amp for a month now and have ~80 hours of playing on it. The amp looks outstanding and is built solid. All the knobs have a good feel to them, very smooth. No crackling or anything like that when making volume or tone adjustments. Tolex looks great. It sounds great and the volume is controllable (you can make small adjustments in volume without blowing yourself out of the room). For the bedroom you're probably not getting it to 3, but it sounds great even at low volumes (I'm usually playing at around 2). I haven't had it up past 3, just too loud. The equalizer controls really do a good job shaping your tone. It's not like some of the solid state amps I've owned where the tone knobs hardly do anything. With this amp small adjustments in bass, mid or treble make a big difference. The presence is an awesome option and really lets you refine your tone to just the way you like it. Sustain is amazing! I have an average guitar, Schecter C-1 Custom and man, I can't get over how long the cords or individual notes will sustain. The sound is very rich and full in comparison to my solid state amps. You're probably looking at this amp for the distortion and if you are you won't be disappointed, it is awesome! Youtube it, there are some good demo's. I like 80's hair metal an it's got the sound without an added distortion or OD pedal. Comes with a foot switch to change between crunch and overdrive channels. The cord on the foot switch is probably 15 ft long. I bought the JCA24S 2x12 cab to go with it and they look outstanding together. For
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Finally found my amp with in my budget" submitted September 12, 2012

By Blake K in Sainte Genevieve, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bedroom Rockstar.
Music Style: 80's hair metal, 80's alt / punk and some blues mixed in
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought a Blackstar HT 40. Sent it back, Bought a Supersonic 22(great clean channel) sent it back, Bought a 6505+ combo hated it! Sent it back for this little gem. All I can say this head with the matching 2x12 cab is killer. this head has that in your face hot rod Marshall tones from the 80's and some nice modern tones for newer styles of rock / metal music. I would not recommend this for Cookie Monster metal. You can also dial in a good clean tone that will breakup when you dig into the strings as well. I would recommend changing out the El84 power tubes for some JJ's and this amp will shine even more. This amp has been so far the best bang for the buck on the market. Thanks zZounds for working with me to get an amp that I really love and will keep for along time to come.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jet city jca22H" submitted April 8, 2014

By Kevin A in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40yrs
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, So. Rock, Christian Rock, Blues, Outlaw Country, Jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: Great mid/small amp head design by Soldando/Jet City open platform
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thank YOU JESUS!!!" submitted November 29, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: got serious 30 years ago. guitar, bass, keyboard, drums. home recording, Church and CHRISTian Concerts.
Music Style: All CHRISTian-contemporary, rock and metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i have been a pro player for 30 years. i have had marshalls, hiwatts, carlsbro, soundcity, and many more. they are all great amps in the right setting. but i always had to use a distortion pedal to get enough gain. with the jca22h, i put 1 vintage brimar ecc83 (12ax7) in the first clean tube socket, and 1 electro-harmonix 12ax7 in the 2nd socket of the clean channel, 1 new old stock vintage mullard ecc83 in the 1st tube socket of the gain channel, and 1 vintage brimar ecc83 in the 2nd tube socket of the gain channel. i placed a matched pair of jj el84's in the output sockets. for a standard strat this is a screaming combination. this is the best tone i have ever gotten from any amp ever. the clean is so good because, with a drummer , You are on 1-1/2 gain and 10 on the master of the clean channel. superb dynamics! the clean channel stays clean, and is loud enough for a drummer. it does clean up as You lower the guitar volume. most good tube amps do sound better the closer You get to 10 on the master. that is why 40, 50 and 100 watt amps are hard to get great clean tone from in smaller venues because they are so loud turned up hence the recent popularity of the low wattage amp. the gain channel is best at 3 on the gain and 3 on the master, no distortion pedal needed. the presence control has great effect also, just tune to taste. this is a class a/b amp and has more than enough volume for rooms under 1000 people. the stock tubes are very very noisey. it is best to buy good tubes before deciding whether are not You like this amp. jj el84's sound good in this amp. electro-harmonix would be my choice for a good new 12ax7. this amp does not do modern metal without a pedal. pop or rock is a piece of cake for this one. Feature: for me the most useful feature is 2 channels. 1-my situation is a garage sized jam room with real drums 2- i used 2 marshall cabinets, a 1960a and a 1960b 3-standard strat stock and ibanez rgt42bp w/duncans 4-i am a very heavy handed player 5-contemporary, rock and metal-all CHRISTian Ease of Use: very simple layout, both channels share eq so You may have to compromise somewhere. Quality: just got it. seems well built. we will see. china has been making good tube amps for at least 3 or 4 years. Value: You cannot beat this tone for this amount, not yet anyway. Manufacturer Support: have not needed it yet. but they did answer an email in 1 day. The Wow Factor: may have to buy another it is so good. Overall: i use a variac to lower the voltage some so all components will last longer.
10 of 20 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173R-FTTP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!