800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14R1-0NKP
close [x]
  • Mon 10AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Jackson Pro Soloist SL2

Lead fearlessly with the SL2Q Pro Soloist. With a through-body three-piece maple neck and an ebony fingerboard, this stunning Jackson has an incredible feel.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Freakin Amazing" submitted October 7, 2013

By Adam H in Sherman, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 yr semi-pro guitarist
Music Style: Christian, rock, metalcore
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I love the pickup choice. The JB and 59' are a great combination. I like the punch and warmth the ebony fretboard gives it and the harmonics are crystal clear. Feature: Like I said, I love the ebony fretboard. It's fast and plays like butter. I really like the finish on the back of the neck, you don't have to worry about your hand slowing by sticking to the neck as with a gloss finish. Quilted maple top was darker than I expected which was actually a good thing. The Floyd is not the knock off, it's the real deal. Ease of Use: A little tuning and it was ready to shred. Quality: So far, everything looks great. No blemishes, and everything was put together properly. Value: In my opinion, its an excellent value. It has features that are normally installed on higher end instruments. There is remorse or second guessing this purchase. Manufacturer Support: not sure yet. Hope I never have to find out. The Wow Factor: I love the speed and versatility this guitar offers. Overall: I spent a lot of time researching guitars that are built for shredding. I got the opportunity to play a Dinky with the compound radius fretboard with the maple board. I was almost going to purchase that until I happened across the SL2. Right away I saw all the must haves that I was looking for. After looking at it for a day or two, I decided to bite the bullet and take a shot on it. I'm so glad I did. You cannot go wrong with this guitar.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jackson Rules!" submitted September 24, 2013

By Thomas C in Richfield Springs, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist for 29 yrs. Home recording musician.
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned Jackson guitars in the past and they never disappoint. The neck is by far the best feature. You can play twice as fast on this guitar than on other similar models/manufacturers. There's just somethign about this neck that makes playing that much easier. Out of the box the intonation was perfect. I did not have to mess with anything. The string action was as low as you can possibly have it without any buzzing. This was a first for me having something ship to my home and have it play this good with no need for maintenance. The Seymour Duncan pick-ups are excellent for metal. I've always liked them better than EMG's. The only flaw in this guitar was a little rust spot on one of the tremelo adjusters. Not sure why that would be there. But, I didn't want to exchange it and have a replacement guitar not play as well as this one did right out of the box. Get this axe. You won't be disappointed.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""Like New" Satin Black Blemished Really Is Like New" submitted February 24, 2014

By Robin A in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been Playing Bass Guitar a long time and very, very good, 6 String not as much.
Music Style: Blues based Rock, Heavy Fusion Metal, Jazz Country Punk and Standards... you know, all the fun stuff to do.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If your in the market for a guitar and want to save some cash I strongly suggest this is the way to go. I just received a SL2 "Like New" and couldn't be happier especially at saving about $270 off the price of a new virgin unit. Maybe the luck of the draw was with me because it is like a brand new guitar that was a return. No scuffs, scrapes, scratches, dings or dents whatsoever. I can tell it was sent out at least once, possibly twice, and returned but that's it. It's more like it was pre tested in the field then blemished.The instrument itself plays like butter and the S.D. pickups are a fantastic combo whose tonal quality that can cover many genres of music. The Black Satin finish is really beautiful to my eye and has a "All Business" look to it like a Glock. The pictures of it don't do it justice even at the Jackson site.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jackson Soloist SL2" submitted April 18, 2014

By scott r in medina, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: just mess around at home
Music Style: metal and all subgenres
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Helpful salesperson when I called to check on a color I could not find elsewhere and zzounds had it. Received it within the week, pulled it out of the box and it was in tune and plays fabulous.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Guitar Best Ive owned" submitted November 6, 2013

By John N in Cape Coral, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Rock Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Hi I am by no means an expert on guitars but ive owned some pretty expensive ones from Ibanez to different LTD's and Schecters and I can say without a doubt this is the best 1 ive ever played. The neck on this guitar is the best part it makes me not want to put it down it plays so nicely and fits my hand so well ! Ive played on the 2000.00 + Jackson USA soloist and I can say this easily holds its own against it. I wanted the red finish but they were out of it so I went with the flat black and love the look of it.. It screams METAL LoL All in all very very happy with this purchase.. I always wanted a Jackson USA soloist but after buying this I don't think I need 1 anymore because for half the price I have a guitar that's every bit as good and I cant see plopping down over 1000.00 more just to get a guitar that is labled as USA..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SL2" submitted October 20, 2013

By Harvey M in Fort Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist/Pro
Music Style: rock,blues,jazz,prog
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The guitar is built in Indonesia. Not bad for the price point and neck thru construction. I swapped out pick ups for Dimarzio D-Activator X set. Much better. I tweaked the action to my liking. I pimped out the Floyd Rose with a 37mm brass block and old style trem arm. The trem arm that comes with guitar always came loose. Guitar stays in tune and now is perfect for me. I bought this guitar knowing I would up grade it. My small investment turned a 900 dollar guitar into a 2300 dollar guitar. The neck thru construction is what won me over. I am very happy with this guitar. There are no neck issues or it would have went back.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jackson Pro Soloist SL2 Electric Guitar" submitted February 20, 2014

By a customer from optonline.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought the Satin Black "Blemished" version. I have never played a Jackson before so I didn't know what to expect but the specs and price seemed too good to be true. It arrived well-packed in a box within a box. Guitar was well-finished, setup absolutely perfect with incredibly low action, neck feels great, intonation spot-on, incredible access all the way up the neck, and the Floyd Rose also set perfect. Someone in Indonesia really knows how to do a setup! The only minor issue is some sharp fret ends. Guitar stays in tune after tremolo workout and from one day to the next (I'm really surprised). I'm not a shredder; I play rock and folk. Pickups sound great when played clean. This is a keeper. btw, no issue w/manufacturer support, I haven't needed any.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love It!!!" submitted November 17, 2013

By George Stone in Boise, ID
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 yrs playing guitar
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This thing is gorgeous! This is my third neck-thru Jackson, and it is by far the best. The unpainted neck makes it super fast-no stickiness when you sweat-makes it a shredder's dream! The feel is great(not too heavy), the SD pickups sound fantastic, and it never goes out of tune! Highly recommended!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jackson Soloist Pro SL2" submitted December 31, 2013

By Matt A in bristol, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar for 34 years
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar, Zzounds was a pleasure to deal with. There were some issues with the guitar but to no fault of Zzounds,after my luthier fixed it all ,this guitar plays like a dream,super low action,fast neck, solidly made
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fantastic guitar!" submitted May 18, 2014

By Luis H in Richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: 70's - 90's Rock, metal and speed metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an amazing guitar, well built, wonderful components, and the most playable neck I have ever used.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jackson Pro Soloist" submitted February 10, 2014

By Ronnie Richardson in des moines, IA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi Proffesional lead guitarist 35 yrs.
Music Style: Hard Rock Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome guitar for the money, sounds great, Floyd Worked Flawlessly ! just can't live without that USA model that I have played for years, so I had to return it and Upgrade! P.S. Super fast neck very thin watchout for some sharp fret ends though!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"jackson pro soloist SL2 TRANSPARENT RED" submitted October 29, 2013

By michael bustamante in huntington beach, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 yrs playing
Music Style: rock metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: awesome guitar great out of box fast neck love the original floyd rose tremolo second jackson guitar and this one plays better than the first love the color and the pick uos are great love the guitar
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"jackson pro soloist SL2 TRANSPARENT RED " submitted October 7, 2013

By michael bustamante in huntington beach, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: play gibson les paul custom two jackson soloist 20yrs exp playing in bands
Music Style: rock and metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: AWESOME GUITAR ACTION PLAYABILITY PERFECT ZZOUNDS GREAT SELECTION AND PRICE PLUS PAS AS YOU PLAY GREAT PLAN WILL SPREAD THE WORD ZZOUNDS TO ALL MY FRIENDS THANKS AGAIN LOOK FORWARD TO DOING BUSINESS AGAIN .
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14R1-0NKP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!