800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-DZQF
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez TS9DX TubeScreamer

Get tubelike distortion and long-lasting sustain from this overdrive pedal, made to replicate the famed original TS9 -- with 4 modes to customize your tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"TS9DX Tasty over drive sound, biggest bang for our hard earned bucks." submitted February 13, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Folk, rock, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great TS9 sound with 2 other turbo setting. I have performed twice with it live through a Vox Night Train head and cab and I'm thrilled with the sound. I haven't used the other two settings, but I'll mess with them later. My other pedals are a Ibanez Weeping Demon wah, Fulltone GT-500, Line6 DL4, Voodoo Lab Micro Vibe and Hard Wire RV7 digital reverb. My predominant guitar voice is TS9, reverb and Night Train. I use whatever 2 guitars I feel like schlepping to the gig - usually an Ibanez Artcore Custom AF105F and a solid body 'lectric (PRS SE Santana, or Semi Hollow with P90's, or an ash Fender HW1 Tele). Feature: I wanted the TS sound and for a few extra bucks I got 2 other sounds. My only beef is the indicator light - if seems to be set too far inside the housing so I can only see bright if I'm standing directly above the pedal. Move to the side one step and it becomes very faint. I first thought I got sold a second but on inspection I think that's the way it was designed. I don't have any other pedals with that characteristic. Ease of Use: Not too tough. Plug it in to my Pedal Train set it till it pleases my ear and go. Quality: Very sturdy and should hold up to life on the road. Did I mention I hate the indicator light? Value: Very good value. I think it's crazy to pay $250 for the retro designed pedal. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed any, but I could ask about... Nah, life's too short. The Wow Factor: I don't lust after pedals like I do a beautifully made/sounding guitar. It's a tool. Overall: It's all about tone, and this has got it for me.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A amp's best friend." submitted March 3, 2005

By a customer from gabintwork.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Take blues ,country ,southern rock , British rock & put them in a blender !
Back to Product Information
Sound: the turbo tubescreamer,to me, has the best sound when set on the-turbo mode.I am currently playing a mixture of blues,southern & classic rock.I use a stereo chorus peavey & use the lead channel with the distortion on zero. With the tubescreamers Drive & level set at two & my amp volume at three or higher, I get the sound of a kranked up Marshall jcm 2000 with my guitar volume set at ten.The unique thing about this unit is ,you adjust the amount of distortion you want , by using your guitar knob. You can go semi-clean at four or five or full blown on ten! Im playing a James Burton signiture telecaster.exp.30 years Feature: The turbo setting is the most useful.The other settings sound thinner but i think they can be tweeked with the right communation of amp & guitar settings. No accessories. Quality: Could take a round of machine gun fire.Have had this unit exposed to salt spray at beach gig's ,spilled beer at honkytonk's,numberous other venues .Highly dependable. Value: yes. Manufacturer Support: Got the unit at nearby music store.No repairs needed. The Wow Factor: It's like a bull. Overall: I,LL keep it till it fall's apart ,then replace it .I'd like to try it in communation with a tone classic.This units a great tool.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Spend the Extra $9.00 and get the TS-9DX vs. the TS-9" submitted February 6, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician/Amatuer Recording
Music Style: Blues/Blues Rock Mostly
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have a TS-9, and a TS9DX, the latter I bought as a back-up for road trips. The TS9DX sounds exactly like the TS-9, in TS-9 mode. As a matter of fact, it's the same circuitry and components. The +, hot, and Turbo modes will give you a greater pallete of tones to play with and choose from. If you're in the market for a TS-9, get the DX for about 9 bucks more. The only overdrives that I found that even come close is the VisualSound's Route 66, and the Voodoo Labs sparkle drives, and each tries to emulate the TS-9, with great, but copycat circuitry. Unless playing super clean, one of these pedals is on all the time. Couldn't live the Blue's without it. Quality: Built like a Tank. Solid and smooth knobs, no pop's or crack's when engaging it. Value: The TS-9 is a great value. The TS-9DX is an exceptional value, for all the different tonal possibilities, for about $9.00 more. Manufacturer Support: I have dealt with Ibanez, however, not concerning the TS-9's, but with guitar's. They were great, dealing with me. Didn't try the "your fault" bit with me. Sent one back, got a new one a week later. The Wow Factor: What can I say? It's a pedal, not a custom made guitar. It's knobs and footswitch are in the same place as any other pedal. It's butt-ugly green, but who's going to come up and scruitinize my pedal board. Nice large foot switch, smooth, and no suprises. Overall: If there is ever a better, not equal, but better OD in a pedal configuration, I might buy it. With decent treatment, though, these will last for ever. There are many shops around that offer repairs and mod's to these (TS-808, TS-9's) if you ever want them. Popular enough, that some shop's only work on these pedals.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal" submitted January 20, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I play this pedal through my Line6 SpiderII 112 amp and this pedal works great w/ it. It adds the extra distortion to the Crunch channel in my amp. Although this isnt a distortion pedal but it does add some to my amp. It also sounds great through the clean channel w/ some chorus. Feature: You can turn the Ease of Use: It is real easy to use. No problems figuring out how to use it. Quality: Its a nice pedal Value: It is kinda expensive but I didnt buy it. A friend from church gave it to me. Manufacturer Support: I've never called them. This pedal hasnt given me any problems. Overall: I dont think I'll ever need another Tubescreamer pedal ever again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ibanez TS9DX TubeScreamer Customer Review submitted November 8, 2004

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: blues rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds great with my Line 6 Duoverb Combo! Feature: Excellent! Love the different settings! Quality: Very rugged feeling and heavy! Value: Yeah, but I only paid $50 for mine! Manufacturer Support: Good pedal! No need for support!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not what I expected" submitted November 11, 2015

By Steve K in Columbia, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years...31 guitars...Professional
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: I expected more from this pedal. I wanted this pedal to juice up my 6505 but it doesn't. Still on the fence whether I will keep it or sell it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tube Screamer it is" submitted April 6, 2005

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist, would be giant
Music Style: a little of everything
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Straight out of the box I plugged it into my Fender 65 deluxe reverb reissue and was totally impressed. Had tried a Boss SD1, but that only muddied the pure tube tone. The 65 reverb is a beautiful amp, but has no gain controls (just pure fender tone). The Ibanez TS9DX makes the amp much more versatile, with no loss of tone quality. Quality: Seems perfect Value: Worth every penny of $110 Overall: This is a keeper, I researched hundreds of comments by other musicians to select this.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awsome warm tone for your SRV, Allman Brothers, Black Crowes tunes." submitted May 2, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I'm using a Fender CyberTwin with a Les Paul Classic on the neck pickup for a great Allman Brothers sound. I use the TS9DX to add a nice warm punch for solo's and endings. This has a sweet classic/warm tube sound using the TS9 setting and works great with my Phase 90 for that SRV sound with my strat. Feature: I can get every warm sound I want from this unit! Quality: Seems to be a solid unit. Haven't dropped it yet, but looks like it would stand up to normal use. Value: Paid $109. Its worth it! Manufacturer Support: No problems... The Wow Factor: I want it for the sound. Looks are good, but it doesn't really matter much what my floor pedal looks like.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-DZQF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!