800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZF-9DS1
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez SR505 5-String

The Ibanez SR505 lets you get grooving in style. The Ibanez SR505 features a super-fast SR5 neck and Bartolini MK1 pickups for great playability and sound.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"If your looking for true sounds, well built, not to heavy and a very affordable Bass, then you came to the right bass, Ibanez SR" submitted March 26, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Gospel, Jass, R&B.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I just received my SR505 today, and the tone, mids, bass, and 3 ban EQ is just awesome. It's everything that you need in a bass. Ease of Use: It has a very easy axess for the perfect sound. If you know exactly what sound your looking for, you can adjust while playing ! Quality: It is made very well. This is my second Bass, and let me tell you, the action from the neck, just make it so much easier to control and play ! Value: From the sound adjustments, and the playing action, it should be a lot more. Manufacturer Support: No, I just received it and from the specs of the SR505, I believe I won't have to. The Wow Factor: I've had my eyes focus on the Fender active 5 for quite some time now ( 1-1/2 year) and after purchasing the SR505, I must say that it is a very fine piece of craftmanship, and it is hot on the Fenders trail ! Overall: I think that it will be a few years before I decide to buy another bass, unless I get a good deal on a "Lakland", but the SR505 is here to stay. My Schecter Custom 5 will be the first to go.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"don't pay more! at least try this one before you buy!" submitted September 14, 2008

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: part time musician
Music Style: new country/southern rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i"ve owned this bass for about 3 months now and i have to say it is one of the best sounding basses i've ever played in my 35 years of playing. i would have given it a 10 rating if it weren't for a couple of dead notes.maybe after the elixirs go dead i'll change strings and do a few adjustment and cure the problem.i play through an ampeg svt 3 pro with the 410 he cabinet and a mesa boogie 15 and it rocks! on my other gig i have an ampeg ba115 and i get an awsome tone through that rig too along with my ibanez soundgear 100. i love the bartolinis but the thing i like so much is that it plays like a dream and it is so light. it's also quiet and haven't gone to the studio yet but i'm sure it will put a smile on my face there too. Feature: the 3 band eq is fantastic...i couldn't ask for any better.controls are very quiet..excellent neck. i wasn't sure about the finish on the body at first, but iv'e grown to really like it, but be careful with it because i'm sure it could easily be scratched. battery is easy to change, unlike my g&l 2500 (american made) which i've owned for 10 years now. Ease of Use: no complaints here. manual is pretty basic. easy to get the sound you want. didn't take me long to dial my sound in. was pretty much set up when i bought it. in fact i haven't done anything to it except install some strap locks on it. Quality: i don't believe the quality is as good as my g&l because it is built like a tank but it weighs more too. i don't bother taking my other bass to a gig. i feel confident that the ibanez will not let me down.i guess because i've owned my other bass for so long and no problems at all i feel like this bass will be just as reliable. however, any product put together in indonesia,china or korea has to leave you wondering sometimes if it can actually stand up to a good old fender or gibson. theres just something about this guitar that just "feels" of less quality. but so far it's not let me down. Value: so far i would say this is a very good price for this bass. i've owned a gibson,fender,yamaha,schecter still own my g&l and this one plays and sounds just as good as the higher priced basses. Manufacturer Support: never dealt with them. The Wow Factor: feels great,plays great,sounds great and it's very lightweight Overall: i'm not the person who owns a lot of guitars like some of my friends do. i feel like i will keep this guitar for a long time.the only reason i would get another bass would be if this one were to start giving me major problems or feel like it wouldn't be dependable. i chose this bass because of the reviews that i read ,the weight and the playability of the instrument. i played a lot of basses and this one is only one of few that i really enjoyed playing. some of the higher priced basses didn't even come close to this one.
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best bass in its price range and beyond!" submitted March 29, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metal, Jazz, R&B, I play it all.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This bass is very versatile in the sound department. The bartolini electronics provide deep, dirty growls to clean, smooth tones. I play a little bit of everything and this bass sounds great in any style or environment from jazz to metal. Feature: The SR505 is nicely equipped with everything you need. The controls are great, the improved battery box design and smaller body also are a nice touch compared to the older SR505's. Ease of Use: Easy to set-up. Controls are easy to use and make it fairly effortless to get the sound you're looking for. Quality: Amazing quality for the price range. Fit and finish is great. The instrument was set-up perfect right out of the box. One thing to note is that the body is a natural wood and does have natural "blemishes" or character marks from the wood. This is normal and certainly shouldn't scare anyone away. As far as longevity goes, I can see this instrument lasting a lifetime if taken care of properly. Value: This is quite possibly the best five-string bass under $750. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to deal with customer service. That gets a 10 in my book. The Wow Factor: Aesthetically pleasing and it just feels great in my hands. Can't complain at all. Overall: It is the best bass in its price range and beyond. If it were lost or stolen, I'd be heartbroken, but wouldn't hesitate purchasing another one.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy one now, don't bother hesitating - it's totally worth it." submitted June 25, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician/ Recording Engineer
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, Electronic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great Tone, Love the adjustable 3band EQ, found that I actually prefer to to be 75% back and 25% front pickup -- for my playing style it gives a great low hit. Feature: Wish it would of came with at least a Gig bag or something. Also the cord they provide is completely useless because of the recessed jack, might as well not include it :-) Ease of Use: Love the Elixir strings, the guitar came setup almost perfect - needed slight adjustment for the D string but overall great, keeps in tune without much help. Quality: It feels great, the Mahogany keeps the bass light, my old GSR200 was heavier and it had one less string. Value: For the money you pay this both SOUNDS and LOOKS good. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: It's Damn Sexy, added in a Leather strap that had a similar color and it's sweet. Overall: Overall, I don't think I'll ever bee disappointed
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolutely the best 5-string bass below $600" submitted February 16, 2006

By a customer from cableone.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Hip-Hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Wide range of sounds, awesome pickups deliver lots of range. Mahogany body resonates high notes forever! I keep my lows=50% mids=100% highs=0% on the eq, with both pickups this bass has got some of the cleanest, deepest growl without losing any punch or shape in the higher registers. You can play the highest and lowest notes simultaneously and hear them both equally well and incredibly clear! I've never paid attention to background harmonics but this bass produces loads of them and they sound really cool. Feature: Pretty standard, I like the jack configuration. Battery is easy enough to change. I use the 3-band eq and pickup selectors to produce just about any sound I want. Quality: Ibanez. Enough said. Value: Bought it second hand but is basically new. Got a great deal on it, but worth its weight in gold. Manufacturer Support: No need yet. The Wow Factor: Not a huge natural finish fan, but the mahogany is very appealing. Mine is more of a burgundy color than most pics I've seen which was a bonus to me because I don't think the pics do it justice. Probably would have bought a different color if they made it. Overall: I did alot of searching, just couldn't afford something like the SR-1005, but I played a SR-400 and loved it, but the step up to the 500 models are well worth the cost.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tight!" submitted March 7, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active, in playing, and recording
Music Style: Jazz, Gospel, Classic Rock, Reggae, Funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Tight sound esp with a BBE the elixir strings zzounds should sell them also Feature: tone controls are well placed, neck is awesome nice blend of woods Ease of Use: feels great!! not heavy, well balanced, Quality: just one thing, the finish. already the finish coming off below the neck pickup just like on my 506 Value: your're kidding just try one i've got two! Manufacturer Support: check the forum at Ibanez best info avail on products from those who use them have had no need for factory support though. The Wow Factor: nice shape, I look good with it Overall: this is number two I would buy another if lost/stolen
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best deal around" submitted October 27, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro musician & Band teacher
Music Style: Classic rock,Blues,&Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This bass can make any sound that you can want. The Batrolini pickups and EQ make this bass great. I love to play on it. Feature: I like the oiled finish. The smoked chrome harware is just fine with me. The only thing I might change if I could is the output jack. The angeled jack is not as solid as I would like. Quality: Simply NO PROBLEM. Value: This is by far the best deal on a 5 string I have see ever. Manufacturer Support: Have not neededany help. The Wow Factor: I don't plan to sleep with it! It's going to be around for a long time. Overall: Love it !!!
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great all around value" submitted December 2, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: dance, top 40
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is the best bass i've had for the money. MY mainstay has always been a lakland 5 but ive also played a jazz, thumb, and spector. I love my lakland but at 1800 $ this bass isn't far behind. I play in a top 40 band so we play everything under the sun and this bass does great. The low B string being a little floppy compared to my lakland. Otherwise it's awesome Feature: sharp looking. i was worried about the light weight and it effecting the sustain, so far so good though Ease of Use: PLayed great out of the box. The reason i bought it was to have a good backup and have something to play when i send my bass of to the doctors. I'm in no hurry to get my lakland back. plays great sounds great Value: Best bass for the money i've found Manufacturer Support: Have not used it yet Overall: great bass
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ibanez SR 505 plenty of bang for your buck." submitted August 9, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bassist/Producer
Music Style: Jazz,R&B,Hip Hop,Fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've owned Warwick,Spector,Conklin & other high end basses and this bass kicks butt with the rest for a fraction of the price. The sound is rich,crisp & clean. Great fingerstyle sounds & you can get real funky with it too when slapping it. The harmonics & chords come through clear as well. Feature: The Bartolini pickups & electronics sound great, and are quiet. There are many tonal colors you can dial in with the 3 band eq/blend knobs. Ease of Use: As stated above the Bartolini electronics work well with this bass and they very easy to use. The B string is full & thick. Quality: My bass came setup great, no buzz, or flaws, only thing the cover over the electronics cavity had a bit of a scuff mark. The finish was nice,no loose parts. The bass is well built & should last for a long time & be a valuable asset in my arsenal. Value: I feel its one of the best bass values out there, it looks great, and most importantly plays & sounds great. Manufacturer Support: I've never had to deal with customer service, but I have asked questions for info via email & have always recieved courteous responses. The Wow Factor: I think the color of the bass is simple but effective. I wish it had black hardware but its a sleek, nice looking bass. Overall: I was impressed with the sound,playability & look of this bass. If stolen I would buy another. I was concerned about the string/neck width as I have played basses where the neck was wider but I had no problems.
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SR505... hmm... what can I say..?" submitted November 13, 2005

By -
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A regular musician
Music Style: Oh god who knows... Modern rock, metal, nu-metal, alternative...
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound of the Ibnaez SR505 is AWESOME! It doesn't sound cheap or messy; evety note you play is pure heaven. I play mainly Muse-type riffs that are fast and go around the neck and there are no bad places on the neck where the sound would suck. Feature: I love the controls! Great variety and flexibility. Quality: Great quality. Before I bought the thing I was told that the quality of Ibanez-instruments isn't that great, but I can honestly say to you that this bass is one of the most reliable things I have had in my life. Value: I myself paid around 590 euros of this and I swear it was worth every cent. I could've paid even more of it. Manufacturer Support: Can't say about this one. I have had the instrument for 5 months and I haven't had to lift a finger for it. But I believe that for this one you get everything you need from your local Ibanez sales man. The Wow Factor: When you see this thing on the window of your Ibanez-store, you want it! The body looks awesome and the dark fingerboard with the great looking inlays... you WANT it! Overall: Overall the SR505 is a GREAT instrument that every 5-string bass player should have. Works well on stage, in studio and when you're just chilling with your band. It makes even the ugly bassists look cool and after the show it will steal your girls. I think I'll keep this for the rest of my life.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZF-9DS1. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!