800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-5RLC
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez RG8 Guitar

Reach astonishing lows with the RG8. An impressive five-piece slim neck accommodates eight strings with easy playability and incredible sustain.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"rg8>rga8" submitted March 21, 2013

By Cj C in St Louis, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: a few mediocre local bands over the last 6 years
Music Style: Progressive Metal, Post-Hardcore, Jazz, Neo-Classical Metal, Ska, d'n'b. I am a guitarist and producer
Back to Product Information
Sound: The pickups aren't great, but they are still better than the rga8 pickups. You van make by with these, but swapping then would make for an improvement Feature: The flat top makes for some awesome mods. Ease of Use: The neck is as you would expect, thin and flat. Quality: The few that I have played have been great, my only complaint is the pickup routes Value: This is the best started 8 string hands down Manufacturer Support: In the past they have helped a lot The Wow Factor: $400, you can't beat that Overall: I've jammed on plenty of 8 string guitars. From Ibanez, Schecter, Esp ltd, Strictly 7, Carvin, Agile, and Dean. As of late, economy grade and low priced 8 strings have been popping up everywhere, but it seems not many makers get it right. The majority of erg players want the 7 and 8th strings to tune lower, well this requires either heavy gauged strings or a longer scale. Since most players will agree the a longer scale is more sufficient, more builders stick to a 25.5" scales. While this only has a 27" scale, it is a huge improvement over my old ltd with a 25.5". The longer scale helps with clarity and comfortability when tuned as low as I do. The quality of this guitar is actually shocking, it feels par to the rga8 with is a whopping $900! This guitar is worth every penny
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The RG8 brought my passion for playing back." submitted March 8, 2015

By Jeff Clarke in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played guitar for 8 years. Started out with bands but now just play for fun and jam sessions.
Music Style: Jazz, Metal, progressive, hip-hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned the ibanez RG8 WNF for a few weeks now and is my first 8 string. I've been playing 6 string for the last 7 years and wanted to try something new. Getting use to the extra strings takes a little time, but once you get a good feel for it, it just feels natural. I own the WNF model, and I love it!!! It looks a lot better then a plain white or black guitar. The thin neck is super comfortable and easy to play. The only thing I'm still trying to get use to is the bridge pick up. It's really hard to get some good tones from the bridge pick up, but the neck pup sounds pretty decent. So I'll most likely will be changing out the bridge pup over time. Overall I'm glad I bought this beautiful guitar instead of the other 8 strings available.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zzounds did awesome!" submitted January 17, 2014

By Zeek F in Central Valley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby, Gigs, personal at-home recordings
Music Style: Ambient, Tech, Mellow, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is rather good for it's price. Although, I'd like to switch to active pickups, due to the 8th string sounding muffled. Feature: Very comfortable neck, bridge is easy to lay hand on Ease of Use: I was used to switching, because I would detune my 7 all the time. Doing so, I believe it rained me to prepare for the tuning. Quality: Surprisingly, with more than $400. Value: I, personally, value this guitar very much so. I intend on customizing it when payments are done. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: A wow factor for me was that it was on my door 22 hours after ordering. Zzounds have proven to be an awesome company to me so far. Highly recommended this guitar and highly recommend business with Zzounds. Overall: I've wanted an 8 string since I saw one released in 2008. The price of this is incredible compared.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"RG8 Great Value" submitted April 6, 2014

By Evan F in Reno, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 8 years of experience. I play all ranges of guitars. Jam at home and home studio recording.
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The RG8 is the best bang for your buck, eight string wise. This is a 400 US dollar guitar. Nowhere near prestige specifications, but that's not really an issue considering durability. The paint job isn't flawless. But that is never a main concern among common consumers, like me, that can't afford a prestige model. As all Ibanez, the neck is extremely comfortable to maneuver. The pickups actually aren't terrible. I am of the opinion that pickups are of the least concern. Tone is typically dependent on the quality of your rig. I use a Pod HD Pro and I can make this guitar sound great. For 400 bucks, it is an exceptional value. I love it and it is my third Ibanbez guitar. I highly recommend.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing quality for the price" submitted February 12, 2014

By Wayne C in Culpeper, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 34 years, guitar, bass, drums and keyboard. Composer/hobbyist - former professional musician.
Music Style: Rock, blues, metal, jazz and classical. Primarily instrumental stuff and very guitar-oriented.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This was my first 8 string and I'm very happy I chose the RG8. Good overall build quality, I was amazed to see it had a titanium reinforced truss rod at this price. The neck is the most playable profile of all of the 8 strings I have tried out. The weak spot is the pickups. I believe these are a bass pickup. While they are not terrible I think most purchasers will end up swapping these out to a proper guitar application pickup. I honestly feel that I got a better guitar than I paid for on this one. If you're looking at trying an 8 string this is the best deal out there right now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Can't go wrong with ibanez! " submitted July 14, 2016

By Luke H in Benton, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When I received this, it was not set up at all. Bowed neck, high action, bad intonation, but after a couple of hour of fine tuning it this thing sounds great, plays great and looks great! Obviously because it's a basswood guitar being shipped without a case there was a ding here and there but nothing terrible. A few finish flaws, nut that's all minor cosmetic stuff that I can easily overlook considering the price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing!" submitted February 5, 2014

By Blake Sorensen in Union City, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 11 years, been a studio musician for 6.
Music Style: Metal, Hard Rock, with the occasional '90's popular music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The RG8 should be the standard for all 8 string guitars. It's not just a great guitar for the price, it's a fantastic guitar on it's own merit. The build quality is great. I have the white one, and it's a nicely applied shade. Very vibrant and solid as well. The neck is very comfortable, and sturdy.. The pickups are pretty good, and with tweaking your settings, it's easy to find a good tone. The clean sound you get from these pickups is very impressive. The bridge is comfortable and does a good job of keeping notes sustained. It's just an all around great guitar that can be used for any style of music. It's got a great growl on the low end for the really heavy tones, and the lead tone is very full sounding. It's very balanced. I put a Seymour Duncan Nazgul in the bridge, and the tone is phenomenal. It stays in tune very well, and holds the low notes (I tuned the F to a low E) and it's nice and clear sounding. This guitar is the way to go, and like I said, it should be the standard for 8 string guitars.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A lot of guitar for the money" submitted February 23, 2015

By Zack N
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, bass, drums, 10+ years
Music Style: Jazz, metal, electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've played a few of the entry level 8 strings from different manufacturers, and I definitely think the Ibanez RG8 takes it on simplicity and playability. Definitely not the quality of a >$1000 guitar, but you get what you pay for of course. Worth mentioning that the factory setup was not very good, intonation was terrible. Also changing to a 0.080 gauge string on the low end forced me to have to cut the saddle screw to be able to back the saddle up enough to get the intonation right. All in all a great deal.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thall power " submitted September 21, 2014

By Eric D
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: local bands
Music Style: Extreme metal, thall, djent, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar for the money. Its setup to be easily modded, as the bridge is cheap, and so is the other hardware and electronics. I found taking out the tone pot opens up the sound a bit. I will be getting an EMG 808x bridge pickup soon. I love this guitar and recommend it to anyone looking to go low.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ibanez RG8 *White*" submitted November 18, 2013

By Thomas Kunstler in East Norwich, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15+ years as a guitarist but also dabble with drums and bass guitar and keyboard/piano
Music Style: Some hip-hop, Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative Rock, Grunge Rock, Classic Rock, Southern Rock, Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was blown away by the comfortability and playability of this bad boy.... Ibanez did a really good job on this one for the price! The neck feels great and is never confusing with all 8 of those strings, unlike my other more expensive 8 string, which I even sold after I started playing this awesome beast due to the fact that I love the Ibanez RG8 so much more!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AWESOME!" submitted November 27, 2012

By John Halstead in Stanley, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: However i would recommend switching the pickups. with EMG 808 or 808x Overall: This is an AWESOME guitar! Nice thin neck, and easy to play! AWESOME PRODUCT! Thanks zZounds!
5 of 9 people (55.56%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-5RLC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!