800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1644-2BLZ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Bass

The Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro is a great choice for a smaller-scale bass. With Ibanez quality built for smaller players, the GSRM20 Mikro is a solid instrument.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Quality at a Bargain Price" submitted October 9, 2011

By a customer from twcny.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician for 50 years
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Jazz, Zidecko
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: With a combination of a P bass neck pickup and J bass bridge pickup the sound was predictable. Hammering, slap, pop, finger and pick styles all work with this bass. You add to that classic Fender solid body tone and sustain. I've played it through my Ampeg, GK, and Acoustic. This is an excellent bass for the price. Also my first Ibanez. Feature: The accessories included the normal bargain instament cable, truss rod wrench, bridge adjustment wrench and a fairly well detailed guide on adjusting the bass. One feature I really like is that you don't have to remove the truss rod cover to adjust the rod. It is actually made to slide open and afford access without removing any screws. The body is mahogany and the neck is maple with a rosewood finger board. At 1 1/2 inch, the nut width is very narrow making the neck very fast. Ease of Use: I am amazed at how well this bass is made and even more so at the sound. I've compared it to my '57 Fender Precision, Gibson EB-O, and my MM StingRay and it's sound is comparable to all. Very easy to set up and so fast. Quality: The fit and finish is flawless. Not a handmade work of art, but I couldn't find any blems or sanding mistakes anywhere on it. The bridge is a typical Fender style stamped plate which I may change for a Hip Shot for appearence and sustain gain. Very solid and simple build that should hold up well. Value: For the price, you can't go wrong. I'm very pleased with this purchase. Manufacturer Support: Unknown as I haven't had to contact them. The Wow Factor: Not a spectacular looking bass, but not many solid body basses are. This is just a very fast, great sounding bass for very little cash. Overall: I treat all my instraments as quality investments whether they cost $100 or $4000. At the time I was looking for another short scale bass because I love the speed you can attain with them. This one offers that with a Fender sound.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Older Bassists-this Mikro will fit your 'arthritic' fingers...!" submitted January 12, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: old country.....oldie R & R...some blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: ok for the price...won't break the bank and will /should give me years of hobby playing time... Feature: the shorter thinner neck helps my playing because my old fingers -age 63-aren't as flexible as they used to be...I played A Fender P in college-and this one feels like it fits me... Ease of Use: fairly easy to 'set up'.... Quality: The fit and finish are surprisingly well balanced...the main problem-and I have read this about other Mikro Basses-the input jack just fell out after about three uses-had to take apart and secure better....and while tuning the 'A' string-it snapped and almost decapitated me...was a scary moment....so I purchased a set of Ernie Ball strings for a short scale bass....volumn knobs seem a bit 'wobbly/cheesy'....without a lot of range...but this little bass will do for now... Value: yes Manufacturer Support: N/A...haven't contacted seller or mfg. about my small problems.... The Wow Factor: metalflake color looks good overall.....light,but solid, Overall: I think I will stick with this one awhile--just picking up the bass since college days-way back in '67....so, a Timothy B. Schmidt I am not...!
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing little bass" submitted November 30, 2013

By Adam B in Etters, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 18 years, guitar, bass
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, country, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was looking for a smaller bass as I am a guitar player, and was looking for a short scale bass. This was a sight unseen or played, but it had very good reviews so I thought I would give it a shot. I purchased the sunburst, and I could not be more happy with the sound, build quality, and how user friendly this guy is. It is not much bigger in length than a guitar, and the neck is very think and fast. The body is a high gloss with a satin neck, both P-bass and J-bass pickups give it a very nice range in sound. Due to the scale it does not have the bottem deep end that you would find in a sandard scale, but it has enough. It has a punchy sound which I really like with a very clear tone. I was able to play the Squire Mustang, the Epiphone Viola, as well as the Hagstrom short scale and this has them all beat. The only issue that I have with the bass is the pickups are very close togther making fingering rather hard without hitting the pickups. You need to find a sweet spot near the bridge, or you may end up hitting the pickups with your fingers. If you use a pick it will be a non issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""Little Bass, Big Sound!"" submitted November 28, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Band Manager
Music Style: Rock/Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Hey for the price, you just can't beat the sound. This little bass can hang with the "Big Boys"! My daughter uses this bass in a rock/pop kids band, the pickups are decent and hold up pretty well. (demo youtube.com/blueskyfalling)See "KC Rocker". Feature: Perfect for those just learning or "getting into" playing bass, or even more experienced players. I would not recommend any other "short scale". The tone and volume controls are not complicated. They are what they are. Ease of Use: No "Rocket Science" here. Just a nice instrument that will get the job done, for the price. Quality: Ibanez has a reputation for quality. I have several guitars, most of which were good, but this company gives you the most "bang for your buck". We just recently invested in another Ibanez bass.You can't go wrong. (no, I don't work for Ibanez) Value: We have used this as a "main" bass for practices and gigs, pretty much the past two years. I think we got our money's worth. Manufacturer Support: Never had problems, so never had to "deal" with anyone. The Wow Factor: Three different colors were available when we purchased this, but the Amethyst Sky Metallic is pretty cool, and the one my daughter ended up with. Overall: We have had this for almost two years and will use this bass, in conjunction with a full size scale Ibanez bass, that we recently purchased from zzounds. (Which I will try to review once we receive it).
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great for guitar players" submitted May 4, 2012

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 20+ years
Music Style: blues, R&B, jazz, country, pop, rock, gospel
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The GSRM20 Mikro is heavily marketed for small/young players (which is fine) but I think Ibanez is missing another target audience: Guitar players. A lot of us like to lay down some kind of bass track when developing ideas at home but the clumsiness of a full-size bass can be frustrating. Likewise, I've known many working guitar players who have had to fill in on bass for a gig or two and they hate the awkwardness of it. This bass is PERFECT for guitar players who need/want a bass but don't want to invest the time and effort required to become a "real" bass player (let's face it, the bass is a unique instrument). Because the scale is so short, you have a MUCH easier time translating your guitar chops over to bass. I also highly recommend this for any church worship team that asks a guitar player to fill in on bass once in a while.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ibanez GSRM20 short scale bass" submitted May 27, 2014

By Dennis S in Woodstock, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 53 years, play guitar and bass, play at Nursing Homes regularly
Music Style: Old Time Country and Gospel, 60s rock, folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great instrument for the price. Perfect for guitarists who don't often play bass and want a more "guitar like" feel. Controls can be adjusted to achieve a good solid sound. Mine needed a little tweaking on the set-up to get the action down low where I like it. Overall, great feel, great sound, great buy!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great first bass" submitted October 28, 2012

By Jen L in Eastport, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Currently play piano, a bit of guitar and drums. I play for fun...not professionally
Music Style: Rock, pop, country, folk singer-songwriter
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Loving my new Mikro. Easy to play....cool looking and a nice sound.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ibanez Mikro Bass" submitted April 22, 2014

By J P
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fantastic little bass
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You get a lot more than you think" submitted October 21, 2013

By Adam Buhrman in Etters, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 22 years, both guitar and bass. Play at home and for our church band.
Music Style: Rock, blues, jazz, country, Christian and anything else with some beat or soul to it.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Taking the bass out of the box I was amazed at the finish and setup. I purchased the sunburst, which is more of a dark brownburst that is beautiful. It needed some adjustment, which was easy to do. No truss rod work or anything. Just lowered the strings to my liking. Now the sound. This baby can get both bottom and punchy treble. I was amazed by the wide range of tones by such an inexpensive bass. I've owned Rickenbackers, Fenders, and an old T-40 and this thing is beats them all in ease to play. The satin finish neck is super fast, and you can zip on it like nothing else. This would be a great starter bass, travel bass, or for me just something to play around the house without having to worry about it getting beat up. This was purchased sight unseen and I could not be more happy with what I got. Also the service from zzounds is amazing, I will do business here again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pro Equipment for Kids" submitted December 4, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Jazz, Funk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Holds up its end in the church band. My grandson (5years old) listens and follows the best he can. Feature: Active pick-ups would be nice. Would give more versatility. Ease of Use: Simple enough without the manual. But as a gift the correct manual would have been nice. Good handling weight for kids. Quality: Seems to be just as good as as other guitars in the $300-$500 range. Value: Fair price a $169 The Wow Factor: Got that pro look.... Overall: Should last until my grandson out grows it. Z also plays acoustic drums and electric guitar.
34 of 57 people (59.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cool little bass" submitted February 2, 2014

By Steven H in Gillette , WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginer
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this for my 12yr old soon to learn to play on. He isn't the biggest kid on the planet, so this is a perfect fit for him.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Bass Customer Review submitted August 27, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Back to Product Information
Sound: Good sound for a beginner 3/4 base for my 9 year old son. Feature: For a basic beginners bass features were not that important. Ease of Use: It is playable with good action on the fret board. Quality: The jack went bad after two days. Fortunately I had a luthier who replaced the jack and adjusted the neck turning it into a decent bass for minimal repair cost. The price was so cheap I felt it was better to pay a minimal amount to get it right versus trying another model or replacement model. Value: Price is great.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1644-2BLZ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!