800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14XH-B7WD
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez EW20ZWE Acoustic

This acoustic-electric offers standout looks and outstanding plugged-in tone, thanks to an African zebrawood body, B-Band UST pickup and Ibanez SRTc preamp.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Ibanez EW20ZWE" submitted May 18, 2014

By a customer from bestofms.com in Purvis, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, bass
Music Style: Country, southern rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This acoustic/electric sounds, and looks, amazing. I'm not going to write a long in depth report about its technicalities because I'm no expert.. What I can tell you is the the action is spot on, the sound is rich and deep and the finish online doesn't give it justice. It looks and plays like a much more expensive guitar.. The inlay on the 12th fret is also very nice. I would definitely say this is a great buy for someone looking for an affordable yet great quality acoustic/electric guitar.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Recent Purchase" submitted January 14, 2014

By Michael F in Middleburg, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 42 yrs. of performing professionally
Music Style: classic rock and top 40's from the 50's,60's, 70's and original material
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I Love my Ibanez EW20ZWE Exotic wood Acoustic electric. Very easy action and the sound is astonishing. Right out of the box it was in tune. The tuner is very touchy so am having to use a tuner. Outside of that, two thumbs up!!! I also have the mate to this one the ashwood.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Unbeatable Value!" submitted October 5, 2012

By Howard K in Kingston, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Over 30 years, professional.
Music Style: Blues and blues/rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this along with the Gator hard shell case and I am very impressed with the fit, finish, appearance and sound of this guitar. It was ready to play right out of the case. The on-board electronics (which include bass, mid range and treble controls along with a tuner and chorus effect) work flawlessly while the action and sound are equal to that of an acoustic costing $2,00.00 or more - I know because I already have a few of them and this ones more than holds it's against them all and looks better, too! If you're looking for a quality made acoustic/electric guitar with excellent sound, playability and killer looks then look no further.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ibanez EW20ZWE" submitted October 7, 2012

By Greg D in Pigeon Forge, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 40 years
Music Style: rock,country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: EXCELLENT !!!! I love this guitar...the action is a little high but that can be quickly fixed the sound is AWESOME! I put lighter gauge strings than it came with on cuz it buzzed a little but other than that great guitar for the price !!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Priceless to have a quality "zebra" in my American livingroom!" submitted May 23, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Folk, Celtic, Christian contemporary, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I really enjoy the rich tones that this guitar produces! The size and shape fits me perfectly--it is much easier for me to chord on this one, as the neck is the perfect length for me. I haven't tried it plugged in yet, but as most of my playing is acoustic, it's perfect! Feature: It came with a patch chord, an extra peg, etc. I haven't really used any of the extra accessories yet. I really am quite satisfied with it as it is, so it's hard to more specific as to what I would like different. Ease of Use: I find this instrument to be quite user-friendly, the action is just right, the manual has fairly clear instructions, it's easy to tune and hook up. I have yet to modify it to my "personal taste", but at face value, it already satisfies my personal taste. Quality: The only think I can think of that might be improved upon a little is adjusting the bridge or something...every once in a while, it will sort of buzz when being chorded. But it's not highly noticeable, so for me, it's not a big deal. Value: Yes! Manufacturer Support: When I submitted a lower-priced product from another site, I was immediately contacted by someone who was very pleasant, professional, and friendly. I was very impressed. I have not had cause to use the warranty yet, only the lowest price guarantee. The Wow Factor: It's gorgeous! I love the natural grain of the wood, not covered, but enhanced by showing it off to the world in a lovely finish! Overall: I expect this to last me for a few decades, at least! If this product were stolen or completely destroyed somehow, I might look for a replacement. I looked over many user reviews before purchasing this product, and I don't feel as though anything was different from what was reflected in the reviews. As far as what I like least about it, the only thing I could think of was that the smell of the finish was sort of strong when I pulled it out of the box the first time. Love this guitar overall!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not only does it have looks, but quality and worth the investment." submitted October 16, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Country, Classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Love it. It's Ibanez's normal quality. Nothing more needs to be said. Feature: it's all there. Ease of Use: I can't wait until I get better so I can fully enjoy what this guitar can do. Quality: TOP Value: Worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: Really no ocmment here as I haven't needed anything on any of my Ibanez products. The Wow Factor: Yep, it's all there. Overall: I may expand to another format but I won't outgrow this one.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Totally stacks up in real world gig applications with guitars costing ten times as much" submitted April 8, 2010

By a customer from davehahn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Professional Musician, Singer, recording artist, Studio Musician
Music Style: Motown to Country to Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Warm, Translucent, lifelike acoustic sound through PA system Feature: B-Band Pick up Quality: If it had better and/or locking machine heads It would have been perfect. This is the only guitar I own under $3,000. I played it, took it to a gig to compare with my Taylor 710 and Gibson Songwriter. It was different but incredibly beautiful sounding. I gig 4 to 7 days a week in high end professional settings. This guitar is now a staple at my gigs Manufacturer Support: This is an unknown
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar for the serious beginner." submitted July 23, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: contemporary christian, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Too warm. When I play with my jam group unplugged, everyone has to ease off to even hear when I take a turn. Very disappointing. Feature: The zebrawood is awesome and gets raves from everyone who sees it for the first time. I love the XLR and regular guitar plugs built in. Also the easy access battery compartment is super. My Larrivee that cost about 4x as much requires all the strings be loosened to get inside the guitar to change out the battery -- with ONE hand! :( Ease of Use: Average playability. Setup could've been lower, but acceptable. Plugged in the sound is below what I had expected. Quality: This is a beautiful guitar and feels well made. Feels good in my hands. Seems tough enough to take a little punishment without too much damage. Value: It is worth the money if you want a warm, low end guitar to practice with or for a beginner. Manufacturer Support: N/A Overall: I will replace it as soon as possible.
6 of 9 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WARM" submitted July 17, 2008

By a customer from mail.weber.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Eclectic, but mostly metal.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Extremely warm. The higher strings sound much better, the lower strings are quite uninspiring to me, really thuddy. Feature: The XLR output is a really cool feature. The onboard tuner is always handy. Ease of Use: My action wasn't the greatest, I'd prefer a little lower. It's pretty far from my ideal sound, even with my favorite strings. Quality: The pickup brought a little bit of trouble, but it was a quick fix. Otherwise a very well built instrument. Value: I'd say it's a decent value, although I personally wish I'd saved up a little bit more for an Ovation. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: Very amazing looking guitar. Overall: It didn't take long for the disappointments to come through. Like I said, the tone is very warm, and when it comes to playing unplugged I'd rather play my Mitchell that was half the price. I can't get a bright tone out of it; new strings sound like they've been on for 9 months after about a week. I wish it had a brighter tone.
6 of 9 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14XH-B7WD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!