800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1573-XJDP
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Ibanez AS103 Artcore

The Ibanez AS103 Artcore Custom has great semi-hollow looks and sound. With a flamed Maple top and a pair of Custom 58 pickups, the AS103 will turn heads.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The poor mans ES 335" submitted January 13, 2008

By a customer from centurytel.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I love the sound of the custom 58 pups..very versitile from warm and mellow jazz to screaming rock and anything in between. Feature: I will only deduct 1 point in this area.I could have given a 10 if it had come with a set of Gotoh 510 tuners.Fit and finish are perfect and the frets are finished as good as any that I have ever seen. Quality: As I said before absolutely perfect fit and finish Value: I can honestly say that I would have paid twice the sale price and still would have considered it a bargain Manufacturer Support: Have had no need yet,so cannot comment. The Wow Factor: I guess all guitar players consider beautiful guitars sexy and this baby is extremely beautiful. Overall: If lost or stolen I would most certainly run not walk to buy another one
35 of 35 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You won't be unhappy." submitted July 15, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: on and off band member, hobby
Music Style: Met-alt-blu-rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Out of the box this guitar impressed. First, after shipping it was in near perfect tune. Nice acoustic sound. I won't say that it's better than more expensive models, but it could give many a fair competition. Amped the sound is clear thru the 58s. Nice range of sounds. Fantastic thru a muff dist. Surprisingly holds up with full metal dist. Sweet and singing thru flanger. I put on 13s for a deeper sound and it did not disapoint. Feature: This is the real bonus for the buck. I expected, like other asian made models I've had/played to be unimpressed with the fit and finish. I returned an ESP LTD for just that reason in the past. I was thrilled to receive a guitar at this price that looked so good down to the smallest detail and felt so solid. Frets, inlays, binding all just as should be. No last minute fixes. Finish a heavy gloss over vineer, but I've seen this screwed up before. Nice and even. Controls solid and smooth. I fully expected the pickguard to be plastic with decal wood grain slapped on. Nope, wood to it's core. Tuners look cool with the mother of pearl design, but will have to see how they hold up. Ease of Use: Again sound wise a winner. Playing is smooth even with the 13s. Not a shredder, but it's not meant to be. The body shape is comfortable to sit with and it hangs well from a strap. Quality: This is a 10 when considering the price and what can be spent on much inferior products. I'd love a John Scofield model and have played a couple gibsons that I would rate higher, but when you realize that they cost 2-3 times as much, this can't be beat. Value: See above. Manufacturer Support: No idea. The Wow Factor: I wanted a decent sounding, decent looking semi-hollowbody for a fair price. I got a great sounding elegant looking guitar for 100-200 less than I had to spend. Overall: I have some break-in time to go thru and will truly road test fully, but I foresee this guitar staying prety much stock. I will do the straplock thing. If at some point it seems needed I would go with locking tuners. I may upgrade the pick-ups, but right now that seems unlikely.
33 of 34 people (97.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get one! You will NOT be dissapointed!" submitted December 28, 2010

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Mmmm... nice tone. It sounds amazing folks. These pickups are awesome. Enough said. Feature: As you plausibly already have read, this guitar is the flagship of the Artcore Ibanez series. Gorgeous maple body and maple/walnut set-in neck construction producing warm tone and punch, nice touch with the wood control knobs and matching pickguard, semi-hollow body for feedback resistance and excellent sustain, strong and stable 5-pc maple/walnut necks which is the result of extra neck treatments and finishing, and it comes with a decent hardshell case. All true folks! Ease of Use: This guitar is easy to get used to and plays like a dream. I did not have to do anything to this guitar from the moment that I got it, not even changing the strings or the action. Quality: The guitar came flawless and perfect. As soon as I opened the case, I went Wow!!! my eyes just popped open! and a big smile!. Just go to your local guitar store and see one for yourself. I will baby this guitar until my late years folks. Value: Are you kidding... this guitar is worth twice its buying price. I am just very happy that I am the proud and lucky owner of this beauty, not only sounds awesome (warm tone) but it looks so sexy! Complete package, what more can you ask for? Manufacturer Support: I have not had to deal with Ibanez Support for this guitar yet. The Wow Factor: Just play it and look at it. Let your ears and eyes be the judge. Your call! I own this baby already... Ha. Overall: I plan to play this guitar until death do us apart. If damaged\lost\stolen for whatever reason, I would buy it again. I chose this guitar over the other brands because of its tone, playability, and looks. Fits perfectly in my musical tastes. Thanks Ibanez!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One sweet picker!" submitted June 16, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing 40 years.Songwriter.
Music Style: Country mainly but do like oldies rock and blues,Jazz styles too.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sweet mellow tones,but perfectly capable of hard driving Rock sounds.Very versatile axe and worth twice the sale price in my opinion. Feature: Comes with a nice hardshell case .I like the strings that came with this wonderful guitar but will probably put some Ernie Ball heavy/skinny strings that seem to work well for most of my guitars and the style i play which is country/blues. Ease of Use: Fast low action and slick smooth fingerboard makes this axe a real treat to play! Quality: Mine came perfectly set up and i have absolutely no complaints at all with quality control or craftsmanship.Excellent work and attention to details. Value: Couldn't find a better guitar even at two or three times the price.I can't imagine anyone not being totally satisfied. Manufacturer Support: No need so far so i will pass on a rating.I am sure though the folks at Ibanez must be supportive to their customers since they apparently take guitar building very serious. The Wow Factor: This beautiful guitar is very desirable and i would be proud to take her to meet my folks:) Overall: If this one was lost or stolen,i would beat it as fast as my feets would take me to find and buy another.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great semi-hollow, a pro axe." submitted June 21, 2011

By a customer from excite.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitarist
Music Style: blues rock jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds great, the pickups are similar to Gibson '57 classic pups. The neck is a 1950's style, fat and rounded. Finely polished frets. Not too heavy on the weight side. The case is very nice with alligator texture on the outside. For jazz, blues or even rock this guitar rules.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A keeper" submitted December 7, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 37 years
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds awesome through my Mesa Single with higher treble and prescense settings; kinda like a 70's raw distortion without the fuzz. Lacks gain, but this isn't what this guitar is made for. The rhythm is awesome. For lead guitar and muscle I have a Strat Feature: Tuning lugs are good but not great, some difficulty tuning with new strings. Took the guitar to my tecch and he made a slight neck adjustment and now much better. Ease of Use: The neck and playability are excellent. Can get really good sound through all my amps - Mesa, Marshall TSL100 and Orange Holy Terror. Super nice clean sound through the Mesa with excellent with Boss Chorus Quality: Feels solid and has not let me down yet. Again not overly impressed with the tuners Value: I paid 735 total Canadian with the case brand new (I found a good sale). I have the one that is tan colors with the picture of maps/globes on the front. In the back you can see where the maple is spalted (beautiful) I like the Bubinga touch on the neck. For what I paid I don't think I could have found a better semi for the price. Manufacturer Support: No The Wow Factor: Appeal is a ten of ten Overall: I'm not likely to sell it or upgrade even though I have done this with other guitars i.e Epiphone acoustic to $6000.00 Breedlove and/or low end BC Rich to American Standard Strat. I think I'll keep this one as I love the rhythm sound.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Real ES 335 Killer!" submitted April 2, 2012

By Michael M in Afton, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitars, dobros and steels for 50 years.
Music Style: Blues; rock; country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beautiful flamed maple top, back and sides; very nice abolone/pearl inlay on quality rosewood fretboard; fret ends are rolled nicely and play like a dream; pickups are very articulate fat sounding on the neck and biting on the bridge; real wood pickguard; cool rosewood volume/tone knobs; stinky case...oh well you can't have everything. Price was great as a blemish. A+ condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is my first Ibanez guitar and I am very happy with it." submitted September 13, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: varied
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The pickups are great and the guitar has a wide range of tone adjustment. Feature: Nice hardshell case. Ease of Use: The neck is great - very easy to play ("like butter"). Quality: Mine had one small defect (tone pot). Otherwise, the fit and finish are great. Value: Great guitar for the price! Manufacturer Support: Have not used. Overall: I expect to play this guitar the rest of my life. It is awesome.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ibanez AS103 Artcore Customer Review submitted December 28, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Ibanez AS103 Artcore sounds AWESOME plugged in. fully functional, super sweet! Just what I wanted for jazz.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I can get (satisfaction)." submitted December 15, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician
Music Style: Powerpop, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Deep distorsion sounds. Nice cleans. Fantastic with Chorus, Flanger stuff. Feature: Beautiful. Golden fade out with use. Ease of Use: Really low action. Amazing frets. Stays in tune. Quality: I thought that being made in China would not be very good, but I was wrong. Value: It's twice as good than it is worth. The Wow Factor: Sexiest guitar market. Beautiful white wood tones. Overall: If the product were lost or stolen I'd RUN to get another.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Very Big Disappointment" submitted August 26, 2008

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 Years
Music Style: Blues and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It sounded no better than other semi-hollowbody guitars that cost way less. Ease of Use: The guitar came with such a bad buzz that I couldn't tell. Quality: The instrument was obviously made at a breakneck pace, probably by new employees. The intonation was way off. The pickups were looser than they should have been. The only reason I would take it on the road is if I were hoping it would get stolen. Value: No Manufacturer Support: I could have called technical support if I would have stayed home from work anc called them during their short business hours.
2 of 29 people (6.9%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1573-XJDP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!