800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 209-85LW
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Hartke HX112 Bass Cab

Loaded with a 12" hybrid aluminum cone plus a 1" compression driver to help your bass cut through, this bass cab offers switchable 4-ohm/8-ohm impedance.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Sweet little speaker that barks!" submitted November 25, 2011

By a customer from tampabay.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years playing, in several bands/duo/single I play bass, guitar, uke and banjo.
Music Style: Rock and Roll, Singer Songwriter
Back to Product Information
Sound: This speaker blows out walls in small rooms. I paired it with a Gallien-Krueger mb200 and I walk into jams in one trip (the mb200 fits in a CD case and strap goes over my shoulder, or I can actually fit in my bass case). Everyone looks at it like this rig like it's a toy until they hear it. Then the crowd gathers and compliments start. For larger venues I use it with Hartke 210 and a Hartke HA4000 and it fills the room or outdoor concert. Probably will eventually get another and use the 210 in the practice hall. This is a great product with a well thought out design as far as the impedence options. Feature: The impedence options and like one of the reviewer said it is scarey that it's not recessed. But I'm in the process of getting a cover made. Hope that will help a little Ease of Use: I don't fiddle much with knobs since I have a pbass and Jack Casady for my 2 basses, they just sound good no matter what. Quality: Time will tell but it's solid for as light as it is. Value: I got at a local music store that I deal with a lot and they discounted almost 25%. That would be my recommendation if you can find one, but it's still a great at any price. Manufacturer Support: I wrote to them about where I could fine rack ears for my bass head and how much they were, they sent me a pair free of charge. Other than that I have not had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: I got it! Overall: pretty sure I would replace it.
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Soul Box!" submitted April 20, 2012

By Lester lammy Johnson in Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35+ years bass4,5,6,upright......all de-tuned 1 whole step except 4,s and upright
Music Style: Gospel,R+B,Jazz,Blues,Theater(Show music)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just want you to know that these are great little cabs that really deliver the goods. Very natural tone, portable(30lbs) high ouput for its size.They seem to work well with any style of music.The ajustable 4/8 ohm matching feature is very useful too.I am powering them(2) with a BBE B Max preamp into a Crown XLS 1000 power amp with excellent results.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great bottom end companion for my Markbass!!" submitted February 24, 2011

By a customer from stauros.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: prog rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: sounds beautiful- just as advertised: nice full low end without being boomy! I use it as an extension cab. for a Markbass CMD-121P combo... at 4 ohm the amp puts out 500 watts- time will tell how this cab. will handle it. Feature: like the on/off for the tweeter... could be recessed a bit to avoid damage during transport... ldon't need the impedence switch- a little concerned it might get mistakenly switched and burn my amp- will just have to be careful! Ease of Use: plug and play!! Quality: very well made... just got it- will give it a 10 if it holds up to use over time Value: good price Manufacturer Support: have not needed support The Wow Factor: very good looking, light, compact
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Diggin' It!" submitted November 8, 2012

By Doug Walker in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Bassist since 1999 - Upright & Electric
Music Style: jazz, bluegrass, folk, funk, world
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First of all, I'm definitely digging it! I'm pretty convinced I made the right choice. There are a lot of factors to consider (taste, technique, bass, strings, amp head, etc.), and I did a lot of research on 1x12"s & 1x10"s which put the Hartke HX112 near the top of the list. Other similar cabs (on paper) to reach the top were Aguliar SL 112, EA Wizzy 12, GK Neo-112-II, & Markbass New York 121. At this point, you just gotta pick one! I was fortunate enough to order a "cosmetically blemished" item for a nice discount & unbeatable return policy. A side by side comparison with my GK MB150S really illustrates that "Wow Factor" - no contest. This cab is full & punchy, with great low-end. Love the switchable Ohms. Sounds great with upright bass, Schecter Stiletto 6-string, & Eastwood Classic 4 (semi-hollow body). Now using with Markbass Little Mark Tube 800. Hoping to get a 2nd HX112 to add for special occasions.CONS: This is a little knit-picky, but I wish the grill was black and/or less flashy. The built-in handle is sturdy, but slightly awkward to carry with one hand - not sure how that could be improved. Wish the tweeter attenuation was a dial, rather than a 3-way switch. Mine came from a batch where the plastic covering was coming unglued, hence the discount. However, this was confined to the back & is easy enough to correct - definitely worth the discount. I would encourage anyone to give the HX112 a shot, but I can't guarantee your happiness. It does color your sound, rather than having that transparent quality, but happen to like it. And it's a good crossover for acoustic & electric. Hopefully you can sample whats out there before investing your hard earned cash. Check out a full review here -- http://walkerofbass.com/gear/hartke-hx112/
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sounded great … momentarily" submitted March 6, 2012

By Roland M in Princeville, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 26 years professional musician
Music Style: Rock, pop, dance, funk.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered this cabinet because I wanted something lightweight, with big, transparent sound. At 30 pounds, and 300 watts, and a reasonably good sensitivity level, this really seemed like it would fit the bill. I use a GK Backline 600, So at 300 watts, 4 ohms, this cab was a perfect match to that head. I received the first 1, and when it showed up, it had the infamous HyDrive112 covering peel going on (already read that on TalkBass), and there was something damaged inside as it clunked when moved around. I exchanged it for the same item, and it showed up, also with a peeling covering, but no clunking. A quick phone call to ZZounds customer service assured me that because I had rehearsals and gigs to worry about, to go ahead and use the cabinet while they did a stock check to see if they had one in stock that wasn't peeling. So I took it to rehearsal with me, and plugged it into the GK. Sounded great, but then I noticed the smell of what was described by fellow bandmates as a "burning bandaid." And then, nothing. It sounded amazing, I will give it that. But I need a cabinet that will last more than a song and a half. After that, I decided to cancel my exchange order and just get a refund.Would I order one more? Well, I'm a forgiving guy, so I probably would give Larry's stuff another chance, his reputation as a stand-up guy being what it is, but right now I need a rig that will be reliable, and I don't have the luxury of playing UPS pattycake with anyone over this item. I found an older Acme Low B2 locally, and am using that instead, and frankly, it sounds just as good although it's a bit bigger and heavier. I will say this for ZZounds customer service, they followed through on what they said they would do, and were as helpful as possible, upgrading shipping.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hartke HX-12 Hydrive Bass Cabinets " submitted September 6, 2015

By HERBERT P in SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 YEARS AS A PREFESSIONAL PERFORMING MUSICIAN
Music Style: There are oiknly two types of musci, good and bad. I have been known to play them both, in ma ny different music styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought 2 of these cabinets. They sound great. However, having played a couple of gigs with them, I have 3 points of concern. 1. The cabinets do not have rubber feet on the side that will be placed onto the ground when you set them down, using the handle. If there is rain, snow, or dirt on the ground, it may get into the speaker. For this problem, I bought and installed 4-rubber feet on the ground side of the cabinets. 2. The impedence switch easily gets moved during setup. It is close to the cable connections, and not recessed. For this problem I have to check and double check the switch position before turning the amp on. 3. The tweeter/horn switch easily gets moved during setup. It is close to the cable connections, and not recessed. For this problem I have to check and double check the switch position before turning the amp on. Overall though, I am still very pleased with these cabinets with respect to price, performance, and portability .
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hydrive 112" submitted September 23, 2013

By John Digue in Bridgeton, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 32yrs. Bass. Cover band
Music Style: Rock classicrock country pop dance
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Im in a cover band Kids dont bounce and love this cabinet so light to carry handles all bars we play.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HX-12 Hydrive: An excellent choice. " submitted November 23, 2014

By Roderick M in Gloucester, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro, 45 years. Mostly bass.
Music Style: Rock, jazz, folk, blues, children's music, funk.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Stepping down from my Ampeg SVT-410HLF, I needed something that has great sound- quality and can punch through with a full band. My choice of cab also needed to match-up with my Little MarkIII amp. The cab also had to be significantly lighter than my Ampeg. Voila! HX-12 Hydrive is my solution. Bought it through zZounds, took it right to two shows without even trying it out. Plug-and-played. Am VERY satisfied. The adjustable ohm switch and the amount of Db-cut on the horn allows for a lot of sound flexibility. Also, the hybrid aluminum/paper speaker-cone gives an excellent balance of warmth and punch which supports my playing styles. ONE TRIP from the car: HX-12 in my right hand, Little Mark/cords/stand and strings in my back pack and my bass in my left hand. What's not to like?
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HX-12 Hydrive: An excellent choice. " submitted November 23, 2014

By Roderick M in Gloucester, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro, 45 years. Mostly bass.
Music Style: Rock, jazz, folk, blues, children's music, funk.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Stepping down from my Ampeg SVT-410HLF, I needed something that has great sound- quality and can punch through with a full band. My choice of cab also needed to match-up with my Little MarkIII amp. The cab also had to be significantly lighter than my Ampeg. Voila! HX-12 Hydrive is my solution. Bought it through Zzounds, took it right to two shows without even trying it out. Plug-and-played. Am VERY satisfied. The adjustable ohm switch and the amount of Db-cut on the horn allows for a lot of sound flexibility. Also, the hybrid aluminum/paper speaker-cone gives an excellent balance of warmth and punch which supports my playing styles. ONE TRIP from the car: HX-12 in my right hand, Little Mark/cords/stand and strings in my back pack and my bass in my left hand. What's not to like?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT PORTABILITY" submitted February 5, 2012

By Wayne G in Mission Viejo, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing bass for 43 years, play a little acoustic guitar, am a professional.
Music Style: Rock and roll.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Purchased 2 of these after reading that 1 may not quite do the job, that said, I found that, in my band anyway, 2 of these didn't do the job. If you take paper surface into consideration, there is only 24in. total between the 2 cabs, so I recommend using 4 of them to get a REALLY nice tone on stage. That gives you 48in. of paper surface which would equal a 4x10 cab, PLUS having 4 compression drivers to really cut through especially if you play with a pick and I power each pair with a 1500 watt power amp for clarity...they sound awesome! Rock on!
1 of 16 people (6.25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 209-85LW. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!