800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZS-N7VC
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Hofner HVS-CLBLO Verythin

Based on the 1960 Hofner Verythin, this updated semi-hollowbody offers the same look, super-comfortable lightweight body and classic tone as the original.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Total tone-amazing sound and good quality" submitted December 13, 2015

By Steve R in Franklin, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: pro, all sytyles
Music Style: country, rocks, blues, jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: I love this guitar. The Bigsby works great, sound is airy, guitar is light and plays like a champ. I get a lot of compliments on this guitar. I bought the blue version and have had it since July, 15
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful tone" submitted March 30, 2016

By Darrell C in Oklahoma city, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Have been playing for 50 yrs. guitar & bass
Music Style: Blues & middle of the road . Played motel gigs on the road .
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is awesome stays in tune plays like a dream . Has great tone & is excellent looking guitar . I have bought many guitars & amps from zZounds & they are a great company to do business with . They have great communication & the easy payment plan works great for me .
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Handmade German Guitar!!!!" submitted June 28, 2016

By Chuck Watson in New York , NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: Beautiful guitar built by hand, quality electronics. Plays amazingly!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth every dollar!" submitted December 25, 2015

By Neal G in Boston, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: profesh
Music Style: rock, blues, jazz and jam band
Back to Product Information
Overall: This is a great guitar. Worth every dollar! The pickups are warm and woody, the guitar is light and set-up like a dream out of the box. If you are looking for a semi try these. Bigsby works great too and looks stunning!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice Guitar With One Defect" submitted December 28, 2015

By Jim Fleming in gretna, NE
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Professional
Music Style: Dance music, R&B old school, country, folk...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These "Verythiin" models are very nice. I purchased a red blemish for a good price so it is hard to complain, but the 3-way toggle switch on mine does not work. The first thing i noticed is what that is was misaligned (not up and down), and when i tried to move it to a new position it made a loud click. It has no center position, only back and forth, but the pickup selection does not change, both are on. I do not plan on returning it, that seems dramatic, but i will see if i can get a replacement switch or repair under warranty. This model is not the CT model, which is made completely in China. This is of the higher tier which include the classic, special, and custom. I also own a custom and love it. These are described as 'Made in Germany', or 'Finished in Germany'. I suspect they are Chines made and finished in Germany with some German parts. They do have some 'Germany' stamped parts. These sound nice and airy, considering they are thinner than a 335. The pickups are on the cleaner side, and have a unique quality, which again, I really enjoy. They can get plenty of sustain though when paired with a good amplifier. Out of the box it needed some adjustment, which is to be expected. I have set the action low, but have not had to adjust the intonation, which has been the case on both of my VT models. The hardware is solid, with a Schaller tuners and a genuine Bigsby on this one, I need to grease the nut a bit when i change strings, but first impressions are that it holds it't tuning well with whammy use. Overall at this price it is a very good deal. For some reason the blue model is not discounted presently. If they ever blow them out I may buy one. I am not sure why these are reduced, but I imagine sales are weak. Although I heard that the Chinese VT model is doing well for Hofner. It is a more popular brand in Europe. A far as my purchase being a blemished, I can see no cosmetic flaws in it, only the case was cracked open on the bottom near the head-stock end. But for the deep additional discount that is fair. Anyway, if you are looking for an affordable alternative to a 335, or something a little different, you might try a Hofner Verythin. Also, to zZounds credit, they refunded my Fed-Ex 2-day shipping when the guitar did not arrive in 2-days (it came today after 4 business days). They seem like really good people to deal with. I did give manufacture support 3 stars because i heard Hofner USA is dicey. But I have not talked to them yet. Cheers.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice Guitar With One Defect" submitted December 29, 2015

By Jim Fleming in gretna, NE
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Professional
Music Style: Dance music, R&B old school, country, folk...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These "Verythin" models are very nice. I purchased a red blemish for a good price so it is hard to complain, but the 3-way toggle switch on mine does not work. The first thing i noticed is what that is was misaligned (not up and down), and when i tried to move it to a new position it made a loud click. It has no center position, only back and forth, but the pickup selection does not change, both are on. I do not plan on returning it, that seems dramatic, but i will see if i can get a replacement switch or repair under warranty. This model is not the CT model, which is made completely in China. This is of the higher tier which include the classic, special, and custom. I also own a custom and love it. These are described as 'Made in Germany', or 'Finished in Germany'. I suspect they are Chinese made and finished in Germany with some German parts. They do have some 'Germany' stamped parts. These sound nice and airy, considering they are thinner than a 335. The pickups are on the cleaner side, and have a unique quality, which again, I really enjoy. They can get plenty of sustain though when paired with a good amplifier. Out of the box it needed some adjustment, which is to be expected. I have set the action low, but have not had to adjust the intonation, which has been the case on both of my VT models. The hardware is solid, with a Schaller tuners and a genuine Bigsby on this one, I need to grease the nut a bit when i change strings, but first impressions are that it holds it't tuning well with whammy use. Overall at this price it is a very good deal. For some reason the blue model is not discounted presently. If they ever blow them out I may buy one. I am not sure why these are reduced, but I imagine sales are weak. Although I heard that the Chinese VT model is doing well for Hofner. It is a more popular brand in Europe. A far as my purchase being a blemished, I can see no cosmetic flaws in it, only the case was cracked open on the bottom near the head-stock end. But for the deep additional discount that is fair. Anyway, if you are looking for an affordable alternative to a 335, or something a little different, you might try a Hofner Verythin. Also, to zZounds credit, they refunded my Fed-Ex 2-day shipping when the guitar did not arrive in 2-days (it came today after 4 business days). They seem like really good people to deal with. I did give manufacture support 3 stars because i heard Hofner USA is dicey. But I have not talked to them yet. Cheers.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Updated Review" submitted April 18, 2015

By Mario C in Walnut, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played over 30 years. Play out often. Write and record often.
Music Style: Indy Rock, Indy Pop, Folk-Rock, Indy Folk, World Music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Updated review for my Red Hofner Verythin guitar. The results of the professional setup are: Guitar is defective; bridge misplaced when installed – too far back. Intonation cannot be adjusted properly without major bridge replacement. The guitar is not suitable for playing, certainly not professionally and/or recording. Regarding the customer service at Hofner, after I wrote an email to Hofner main office in Germany, I was contacted by another rep in the LA area. He was very accommodating and did all he could to help out, considering my first experience in contacting Hofner, USA, which was a dismal failure (some people just should not be in the position to speak with customers). He offered me a choice of new, not yet introduced Hofner semi-hollow body guitars, and despite the generous and accommodating offers, I am still leary of purchasing any more Chinese guitars. The Verythin line is made in China. I’ve had other issues with Chinese guitars and this time it was the last time. I’m now sticking to American, Japanese or Mexican manufactures, they seem to have much better quality control. Perhaps my guitar “fell through the cracks,” I really don’t know. Zzounds has been very good at handling my return, confirming that not only would they pay for the shipment back to the warehouse, but reimburse me for the setup fee and kick in a few extra bucks for my troubles. Now that’s cool. As soon as my refund is processed I’ll be purchasing another guitar from zZounds. They are a good company. I’ve purchased four guitars from them, recording equipment, and other great stuff. I’ll continue to purchase from zZounds. Thanks!
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Received it Yesterday" submitted April 3, 2015

By Mario C in Walnut, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 30+ years. I play out about once a month. Write and record original music.
Music Style: Rock, IndieFolk, Alt, World, Experimental
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just received this guitar yesterday. I considered for a long time between the Ibanez AR153 and the Hofner Verythin Red. I opened the box and saw an awesome black case, "Hofner" on the front, opened the case, pulled out the guitar and then tried to play it. It was horrible. I understand that it's best to have your new guitar setup, but usually it can be played until it's setup. Not this one. At this point it's not playable at all, and I don't know if it's damaged or defective, or if it's in need of a MAJOR setup. The neck is bowed and the strings are way high from the fret board. I can't even play a simple chord pattern. It's entirely unplayable. I will learn in the next few days if it's defective or in need of a major (and I can imagine, costly) setup by a pro. I've purchased dozens of guitars in my lifetime, I've played over 30 years, I play out at least once a month, and I consider my self a pretty good guitarist. I'm no Van Halen, but I know how to play. I will follow up this review as soon as I hear from the pros at the local guitar shop (not a chain store, a privately owned small pro shop). If they can handle the setup, as bad as it is now, I'll pay the extra cash. If they deem the guitar damaged or defective, I'll be returning it to zZounds. Though the rep from zZounds said I would have to pay for the shipping out of pocket, even if it's defective, I'm going to make sure they understand, it's not cool requiring the customer to pay for returning defective merchandise. I've purchased many items from zZounds, 3 other guitars, recording equipment, etc. I've also contacted via email, Hofner. I've not heard back from them yet.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZS-N7VC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!