800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1407-8CDL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: HAZ Mu-Tron III+ Envelope

The HAZ Mu-Tron III+ offers players the famous envelope filter sound. With plenty of snap and wah, the HAZ Mu-Tron III+ sounds great.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Grease Box" submitted June 27, 2013

By Scott M in Bayfield, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Working bassist for thirty-plus years
Music Style: Reggae, funk, rock, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Mu-Tron III+ is slippery and greezy and loaded with the funk! It is built well so it stands up to the rigors of a gigging musician. To my ears there is little to no difference in the sounds of the vintage pedal and the newer one. Too, the newer pedal costs much less than the original, which means something to most of us. If there is a downside, it is the amount of real estate it takes up on a pedalboard. Small price to pay in the big picture. As a working bassist I feel like I have found the Holy Grail of envelope filters! I highly recommend this box.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mutron III+" submitted September 3, 2004

By a customer from portugalmail.pt
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Hobbyist for the last 10 Years
Music Style: Alternative Rock, Funk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Out of this world Feature: Instruction Manual Easy to use Quality: Very well built, this machine is bullet proof. Value: Well is not cheap, but is really a good buy. Manufacturer Support: So far so good The Wow Factor: I had to wait 7 years to buy one, cause in Europe is kind of hard to find one, I Bought mine in London, and it looks amazing in my pedal board, I think I'm the only one who as one in a 100 Km raid, Eh! Eh! Eh! Overall: I will never sell it, I bought just for my self (the guys in my band don't let me use it as much as I wanted to), I like a lot, bands like Parliament, Funkadelic, P-Funk and all the late 60's and 70's Funk, so I'll never replace it.
11 of 14 people (78.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THIS IS NOT A REAL MU-TRON III. IT IS A FAKE REISSUE IN A MU-TRON HOUSING!" submitted May 2, 2013

By Mike Beigel in Encinitas, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician, MIT EE-MUSIC GRAD, DESIGNER OF THE Musitronics MU-TRON III, 1972
Music Style: Blues, rock, electronic, experimental
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Using circuitry that was tried and discarded by the inventor of the REAL Musitronics Mu-Tron III, this un-authorized "re-issue" has copied the outside design, unethically obtained the trademark, and mis-represented that musicians like Stevie Wonder and Bootsie Collins used this product to make their original famous hits. This product did not exist! when that music was made.So, combining deception upon deception, this fraudulently marketed product will have younger musicians convinced that is is the real thing. It is not, and it should be clearly stated that it is NOT NOT NOT the original product! It is a PHONY and it does NOT sound as good as the original by any means.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great tone from the starship Enterprise bridge to your pedalboard." submitted March 3, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great tone for both vintage wah fans and for those looking to experiment. Excellent, vowel-like wahs, screaming highs, feedback-provoking lows, it's all here! Feature: This product has enough features and controls to allow you to tailor your own perfect tone, while still keeping it simple. It will take some experimentation, but your favorite wah sound is in there. And the expressiveness is the best - use a really clean picking technique and each note will have a percussive wah sound, even with super fast runs, or else run the notes together more, and the filter will stay open as if you were keeping the toe down on a conventional wah pedal. Ease of Use: There are only a few controls here, it's not too complicated, but it does everything you need. Quality: It's built like a tank. Value: This costs not much more than those boutique quality conventional wahs or the competition's auto wahs, and it sounds and plays at least as good as any of them. Manufacturer Support: Don't know yet. The Wow Factor: It was good enough for Stevie Wonder on "Innervisions", Bootsy helped make it famous (or vice versa), etc, etc, what more do you need. It's one of the sexiest pedals ever made. I like the retro look - it really looks like something you'd see on the bridge of the original starship Enterprise. It also reminds me of the old Minimoog, with those rocker switches and primary colors. Overall: I think this will take care of my wah needs for quite some time to come.
6 of 10 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HAZ Mu-Tron III+" submitted September 13, 2012

By David B in Jensen Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock to Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm a big fan of 311 guitarist Tim Mahoney and he uses a original vintage Mu-Tron on songs like; Beyond The Grey Sky, Amber, Champaign and many more. I was worried the reissue wouldn't achieve his results. Well, it nails it and I love this pedal. I also use my MXR DC Brick's 18v outlet and it works great, quiet too. Its built like a tank and zZounds's pay as you play makes it that much easier. If you're not familiar with this pedal or what i can achieve, then look up the song by 311 "Beyond The Grey Sky" and listen to the Mu-Tron in all its glory and thank me later.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"IT IS A FRAUDULENT RIPOFF OF REAL MU-TRON III" submitted May 30, 2013

By Mike M in Encinitas, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Designed the real Mu-Tron III (2 patents) in 1972, co-founder of Musitronics
Music Style: Blues, folk, rock, funk
Back to Product Information
Overall: It's a pity that this phony product has gotten this far. Making false claims of being "the ORIGINAL" and not using the original mu-tron mojo, Dupes the young and hard-of-hearing by its false claims. I made the original design and can tell you that everything about this design was simply stolen (the package) or just WRONG (the circuit). By an ex employee of Musitronics with no ethics.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All hail the 'Boot-tron'. Funkify yo' vibe. Funk is it's own reward." submitted January 22, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The best for that Bootzilla, underwater, ultra-wet, funk tone. I always refer to it as the 'Boot-tron'. It is just super smooth and quiet. Feature: It would be cool for other users (Bootsy) to include their settings, for the effect, in the product literature. Quality: It's sturdy. It's made of heavy sheet metal. What more do you need? Value: The price is certainly competitive compared to similar products. You get what you pay for. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I have used many effects over the years. I have done away with all of them, with the exception of the Mutron III, Big Muff Pi, and Bass Micro-synth. Overall: I have owned it for years. I doubt I will be getting rid of it any time soon.
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HAZ Mu-Tron III+" submitted September 13, 2012

By David B in Jensen Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock to Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm a big fan of 311 guitarist Tim Mahoney and he uses a original vintage Mu-Tron on songs like; Beyond The Grey Sky, Amber, Champaign and many more. I was worried the reissue wouldn't achieve his results. Well, it nails it and I love this pedal. I also use my MXR DC Brick's 18v outlet and it works great, quiet too. Its built like a tank and zZounds's pay as you play makes it that much easier. If you're not familiar with this pedal or what i can achieve, then look up the song by 311 "Beyond The Grey Sky" and listen to the Mu-Tron in all its glory and thank me later.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1407-8CDL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!