800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20G-5649
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Gretsch CM1E826 Catalina

Its 7-ply maple shells with 30-degree bearing edges give the Gretsch CM1E826 Catalina Maple shell kit a warm, vibrant sound with lightning-fast response.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Gretsch Catalina Maples are the Bomb!" submitted February 2, 2015

By Wade N in Jefferson, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional drummer with 35 years of playing experience.
Music Style: Rock, country or whatever the gig calls for.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First of all, let me say that ordering this kit from zZounds was a breeze and the payment plan is perfect for me. I ordered this kit (with the Walnut Glaze finish. Beautiful!) from them on a Friday and it arrived at my front door the next Tuesday afternoon. I had previously ordered this kit from another company because they were selling it for $100 less, but after waiting a month and a half with no sign it would ever show up, I finally wised up and ordered from these guys. As far as the drums themselves are concerned, I couldn't be happier! They look incredible but, more importantly, they sound even better. The tone off of the toms was great once I got the top and bottom heads tuned the way I like them and the bass drum is indescribably good. Such a magnificent, low "THUMP!" to it with very little effort. I just tuned it low, put a Kickport in the front (don't know that that was necessary, but it's what I did) and taped a 3"x5" patch of felt on the batter head to take a little of the resonance off and it sounds absolutely killer! I read a previous review that says the 8" tom is useless, but I disagree. It's more of an accent drum, but I've used it as part of the whole kit for 3 gigs now so far and have really enjoyed having that extra "color" to work with. The snare is very good, but possibly my least favorite part of the kit. I have been working on adjusting the head tensions on it though and have been happier since then, so perhaps I just need to put a little more work into it to get the sound that I want out of it. That's a small complaint though and, overall, I would say this kit from this company is a fantastic purchase. I am loving that great Gretsch sound and look forward to years of fun playing these babies!
37 of 37 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Catalina maple shell kit" submitted September 25, 2014

By martin j in frazee, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: singer- drummer, weekend shows,40+ years
Music Style: classic rock,blues,country
Back to Product Information
Overall: I bought the Gretsch Catalina club jazz kit from zZounds 2 years ago,and was so happy with the sound and service I recently bought the Catalina maple kit. The bigger kit is great for larger stages,and the maple tone is awesome.I got the blue sparkle and the finish is great under the lights. The free 8 inch tom really cracks!
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Happy Gretsch customer" submitted March 9, 2015

By Rick Shady in Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I started taking drum lessons in 1964 when I was 14 and have been playing off and on ever since.
Music Style: Primarily rock, but also blues and some R&B. I have had one E set and this is my 3rd acoustical set since "64".
Back to Product Information
Overall: Decided that I wanted to go back to acoustic so I bought this shell kit upon selling the E-kit that I had for about 6 years. Picked this 7 piece set up on SPECIAL for $595.00 and added a Sabian ride, 3 crashes , 14" HH's and double base pedals all for about a grand. What a steal! Extremely happy with the sound, quality, and looks of this set.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Catalina" submitted May 19, 2016

By Casey A in Laconia, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Have been playing in multiple bands for the last 8 years
Music Style: Rock, Christian, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my first brand new drum set I have ever purchased. Have been drumming for about 11 years now, just always purchased used. This is an absolutely awesome kit. Great sounds, after a little bit of tuning and tweaking it sounds perfect. Good resonance, great looks, and have no complaints! And the play as you pay option is awesome. Got the whole kit, cymbals, and hardware shipped to my house in one and a half days! If you were thinking about purchasing this kit from zZounds then don't wait any longer!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretch Catalina Maple " submitted September 20, 2015

By Alexis Salazar in The Colony, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 7 years, drums, guitar and bass, sing, choir, jam at home
Music Style: rock, metal ,post- hardcore, death core blues metal core
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: WOW! This Drum set is awesome, from the detail put into it, and the finish all the way to the sound it puts out, I will be using this set for as long as it will let me.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Greschedule Catalina Drum Kit" submitted January 22, 2015

By John McGowan in Morris, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drums Vibes
Music Style: Varied
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beautiful set fantastic sounding coupled with Sabian cymbals and DR Hardware Aqua blue sparkle really pops
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Catalina Maple 7 piece" submitted May 4, 2014

By Tom C in South Daytona, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing music for 45 years, sax, piano, drums, at home and professionally.
Music Style: Rock, jazz, blues, symphonic, concert
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very happy with the Catalina Maple drum kit, quality product, great payment plan, fast delivery, exactly what I wanted.
17 of 20 people (85%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"drums" submitted September 13, 2014

By eric waldrup in RED BANK, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing in bands since 87
Music Style: all metal punk and rock check out we are all or nothin.com
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i bought this kit 2 weeks ago it sounds great the bass drum is un real the killer tone it gives i just put one small clothe in it and it sounds studio ready the 8 in tom is nothing to use really thats why its free but the kit is killer sounding i have played on birch for 23 yrs and now really love the maple sound!!!
8 of 10 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Maple Custom Drumset" submitted June 23, 2015

By Alexi M in Reading, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I played Drums ever since i was about 14 years old . Im 36 now eventhough i took a long break. i mainly play in church
Music Style: I Mainly play cristian music but can play just about any beat trown at me. This Drum Set was recomended by a friend so i took hi
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this Set I was looking for a set of drums i called up a friend who is a professional drummer he recommended me this Kit. I'm glad I listened to him.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20G-5649. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!