800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20H-QL6K
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Gretsch G9240

With a Gretsch Ampli-Sonic hand-spun biscuit cone, this resonator guitar sings in a distinct, bluesy tone, projecting ample volume for live performances.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Gretsch G9240 Alligator Biscuit" submitted March 2, 2014

By Edward M in Little Falls , NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A while. A lot of different stringed instruments. Dulcimer my favorite.
Music Style: Old school and new compositions of my own making.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Amazing luck on my part. Slight finish defect, barely noticeable , reduce $100.00. What an great guitar. The expert sales advisors at ZZ assured me that I would not be disappointed, they were right. The only music store for the musician at heart ZZ Zounds.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch g9240" submitted April 8, 2015

By James Branzei in Oscoda, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: private lessons on trumpet,school band,self taught,guitar an violin
Music Style: Delta,blues,an various other styles,Love playing,Jay Unger songs on the violin,an old ballads
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own this guitar,an it's a blast.I found it to be my go to Guitar,it looks great sounds great an presents more challenges ,with the various Styles an tunings that are adaptable to this particular instrument.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Alligator Resonator" submitted April 4, 2016

By Iam Older
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played guitar for 50 years plus a little bass, mando and banjo. Retired pro now a porch picker.
Music Style: blues, roots rock, americana, etc
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased a blem. It has a few scuffs on the cover plate, otherwise good condition. Action was decent for finger picking although I would lower the nut for better action if I was going to us it that way (nut was not glued down so it would be easy lower it if needed). Stock cone was not bad but I replaced it with a National Hot Rod cone and biscuit and saddle. Very simple upgrade. The cone sits pretty low in the body and I like the action on the high side for slide. I just cut the grooves in the saddle for the strings and the action was perfect for me. The cone upgrade really improved the sound (again the original cone was not too bad). Now she sounds and plays great. A poor man's El Trovador for a little over $400.00 total. Very happy with the purchase.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the Alligator Bisquit Resonator Roars with tone!" submitted October 14, 2014

By Jose l in Glendale, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing stringed instruments for 35 years
Music Style: bluegrass to metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have played a lot of different resonators, but this one feels the best. I cant vouch for the square neck, but the round neck is so playable. It sounds awesome!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretch G9240 Alligator Biscuit" submitted November 22, 2013

By Steve V in Sherwood, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 47 years playing guitar/piano/organ
Music Style: Blues, Roadhouse Rock, Standard Rock & Roll, Nola styles,
Back to Product Information
Overall: Celebrated turning 60 (surviving till 60), and wanted to celebrate with new type instrument. Have had one for 1 year and 3 months. Was learning the 5 string-banjo- at the same time I was contemplating buying this guitar. Went ahead-and found the guitar-when tuned to (open D) had similarities to Banjo standard tuning. I love the WOOD sound, of this guitar. It is indeed WARM. Mine has pickup internally, and 1/4" input at strap peg, center bottom. I finger pick this guitar more than I slide on it, and -am astonished at the way it plays. It has become my go guitar-anytime I sit down. Pleasureable-especially at this price. I can't believe I waited this long-to branch out a little.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a Great Guitar for a Great Price" submitted June 6, 2016

By Clyde Martin in Danbury, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Rock n Roll 40 years strong !
Music Style: I love all music except rap
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great guitar, I play this more than any of my others. It is fun sounds great and has so many uses. For the price you will hardly be disappointed.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Biscuit Cone Resonator Guitar" submitted June 30, 2015

By Paul K in New Orleans, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar,bass and sax for over 30 years. Full time musician, not teacher.
Music Style: 50s,60s,jazz,blues,country,rock'n'roll.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My old resonator guitar was dying so I purchased this one on Zzounds and it sounds,looks and plays great. I was going to replace the cone with a national but the stock cone sounds just as good. It had a little buzz to it but once I rigged it up the way I like it sounded perfect. Very loud guitar, I play with a lot of horns and drums and it cuts through nicely.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not my first Reso...its a keeper!" submitted October 19, 2015

By John B in Hill country, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 years. Was in bands, but mostly for own enjoyment. but play at a weekly Pickers Circle
Music Style: Blues, Old Classic Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned a number of resonators-from a 1932 Metal bodied National to OMI Dobros, as well as some Asian (like this one) imports. both brass and wood bodied. I have had both the round and Square necked Gretsch, which are outstanding for their price, but rather plain looking., .I picked this up because it is so darn attractive (get many compliments on it), and also because its a Biscuit bridge (sounds better for Delta blues). I play it "Spanish style" in Open D, with the EJ 16's, and find it well suited to a number of different styles...a little week on the first two strings if played lap style with a Stevens Bar, but I adjust my playing to mostly the heavier stings when playing in larger groups. Mostly I play finger-style also using a brass slide. I like it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20H-QL6K. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!