800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1546-DSW7
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Guild D-125 Acoustic

The Guild D-125 has a distinctly warm sound thanks to its all-mahogany construction, and is made highly resonant by its scalloped spruce bracing.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Rich" submitted May 6, 2014

By Chris B in Rancho Cordova, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A wannabee guitarist
Music Style: Acoustic blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Dude, this acoustic guitar looks beautiful. Like a young Brooke Shields. And it sounds so big. And so clean. I bought it to learn blues on. It sounds so clear and in tune. I just wish my fingers could do it justice. The dark wood/finish is very attractive. The only unhappy thing with my purchase of this guitar is that there were some pieces of something inside of the guitar's sound chamber when I first pulled it out of its case. The pieces of course rattled around inside of the guitar. I spent about 10 minutes shaking the guitar upside-down until all of the little particles fell out of the sound hole. Kind of a dumb thing to have to do, but after I cleared the sound chamber of the extraneous stuff, this dreadnought sounds like a living, breathing entity! So alive and loud. Best $600 I've ever spent. Not too sure why anyone would be spending over a grand on anything else (unless u r a "rich" person)
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice for the Price" submitted March 20, 2014

By Larry K in Frackville, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing over 30 yrs, have played professionally, currently jamming at home
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, Blues, Classical, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Once again, nice job by zzounds getting this out quickly. I ordered the guitar on a Wednesday and by Thursday morning it was on my doorstep. First off, I was totally blown away by the finish, absolutely fantastic. Solid top, solid sides, solid back, and even though it's made in China, it feels like a quality guitar plus a hard shell case I am glad I made the decision to buy. Probably the best thing about this guitar is the neck. The feel is so comfortable, it feels close to an electric neck, I never expected that. Now about the sound, lets consider that its a $500, at this price point, it's fantastic, the lows are particularly bright. If you are a finger picker, no need to use a thumb pick. If I had to find a gripe about the sound, I would have to say it lacked a bit in the mid range but really not that noticable. Now don't expect the sound quality of a $2,000 guitar, be realistic, it is however a marvelous sounding guitar and a great upgrade from that $199 acoustic or would make a good spare guitar. Seems to be one of the better kept guitar secrets out there as I don't see too may reviews on this axe, give it a try you won't be disappointed.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing...its a Guild, need I say more?" submitted December 1, 2013

By John H in Dillon, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing since the good old days of music. I jam with friends and at small functions
Music Style: Whatever I want
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have owned many guitars over the years. From Takamine to Epiphone all the way to a $70.00 Rogue. I have played a lot that I didn't own as well. Guild and Epiphone have always been my favorites. This guitar caught my eye because first of all it is a Guild at a very affordable price. I then read the specs and saw that it is quite nicely built and seemed like a great deal all in all. After waiting only a couple days for the ground shipping, I was soon unpackaging what looked like a work of mahogany art. I first noticed the gorgeous perfect hand finish then the beautiful pearl detail. I knew right then that I had just opened the Mona Lisa and had to wash my hands before picking it up. First thing noticed was the weight. It was heavier than most, still lighter than some, but all in all well balanced. Its very comfortable when sitting to play and not too heavy t use a strap while standing. The action is amazingly close to an electric and the neck is fast and smooth. It plays like a dream but sounds like an angel. The highs are nice and bright and the lows are balanced and full. I had no adjustment to make other than tuning it. Its a solid instrument and very well built. It does not buzz. This guitar should last for years to come.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful sound. Beautiful to look at." submitted May 28, 2014

By Chris Columbus in Rancho Cordova, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Novice
Music Style: Blues, baby ;-)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Dreadnought sounds so big and clean. And it looks beautiful, with its dark wood finish. It is made in China, but the workmanship seems quite high to me. I'm not a very good guitar player so I didn't really want to spend a lot for a Martin or Taylor. For $600, I'm extremely pleased with this Guild. Couldn't recommend it any higher.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love my Guild D125" submitted April 20, 2014

By Doreen W in Beaufort, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for over 25 years. Started playing bass in an electric band (professionally)and now play acoustic guitar
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought the Guild D125 for my husband for our 32nd anniversary. This guitar is perfect in several ways. Its a beauty and plays like a dream! Great addition to our growing collection.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Finally Made it to the Big Leagues" submitted April 28, 2014

By Matt McAllister in Lewisville, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Off and On Guitarist for 16 years
Music Style: Country and Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Finally moved up from the "Beginner" price range, and man is it awesome. This guitar fills the entire room and the sustain is amazing. The guitar is setup better than most from the factory, but I feel that a true professional setup is still needed to get the most out of this fantastic instrument.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"good buy" submitted April 23, 2014

By Brian f in Denver, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: re-acquainting myself with guitar after a long hiatis
Music Style: some folk rock want to spend more time learning blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: surprised at the quality. The operation in China is doing a good job. Mine was blemished so I saved some money but couldn't find the blemish. Good projection and good tone. Stays in tune. Good quality case. For the money you would be hard pressed to find a comparable instrument.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Incredible value" submitted July 16, 2014

By Ray F in Leesburg, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 45 years - so I am still learning :)
Music Style: Blues, Rock, country, bluegrass, standards, folk/pop, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Always wanted a solid mahogany guitar, so when I saw this on sales w/case for under $500 I pulled the trigger. And, boy am I glad I did! Finish is excellent, action upon receipt was more than good enough to play, sound is crisp and woody like i hoped. It looks, sounds and plays beautifully, for both flatpick and finger picking. It is unexpectedly LOUD, also. Great deal - great guitar!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1546-DSW7. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!