800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15HF-5Q2G
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson J200 Standard

Play the "King of the Flat-Tops." This Gibson Jumbo acoustic-electric guitar has been offering players a balanced, warm tone for over 70 years.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The BIG ELEPHANT " submitted August 3, 2014

By Duane V in La puente, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very responsive and well balanced,,,, I use different turnings and the guitar responds well to all. Feature: The guitar is very well made.... I do like the fact the neck is maple Ease of Use: Actually it's easy to play.... With any instrument I'm sure a factory setup can't please everyone. But it's good enough to take to a gig right out of the box Quality: The instrument is very well made. I've looked this guitar over and I can't find anything wrong. But for $3800 large I would expect that. Value: I'm comfortable with the price Manufacturer Support: I have over 15 Gibson instruments and never had an issue that required calling their customer service department The Wow Factor: There is a certain aura about the j200. Many legends in music have owned this guitar and it's been in the Gibson stable since 1930 which says a lot about this particular model Overall: The guitar is in perfect condition, as it should be because it's brand new. The sound is incredible and the detail put forth on this guitar exceeds my expectations. Playability is acceptable, though it will need a setup to meet my playing requirements, but its ready to go out of the box. Only thing Im a bit miffed about is that no truss rod tool came with the guitar, but it did come with an extra set of strings and this groovy little Gibson key ring... Overall high marks!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tone Rocket!!!" submitted August 31, 2014

By Craig Babineaux in San Antonio, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Ease of Use: When I receive this guitar the action was painfully high... Not sure if Gibson sets it up this way or from temperature and humidity changes from shipping. I had my luthier adjust it the next day and now it plays like butter... Overall: This is the best sounding guitar I've ever played. This guitar is perfect... I could not find one single flaw... Superb craftsmanship.... I had my luthier adjust it the next day and it plays like butter. You really have to let someone else play it and listen to it project in your direction to really appreciate the tone this baby puts out. The top is stiff and still needs to open up but man when this guitar does open up it will only sound sweeter.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson SJ 200" submitted March 20, 2012

By James H in Greenville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar my whole life. I am 34.
Music Style: All types of guitar styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Best sounding acoustic I have ever heard! Great felling neck and very light. All around beautiful guitar. Had to return this guitar due to a problem with glue on the neck. Just a fluke I'm sure. Not all gibsons are like this and I have bought a few in my life. For this price that shouldnt be an issue. Zzounds was great. I dont remember who I talked to but they where super nice and I had my return processed in under a week!! Thanks zzounds I will be back!! Boo Gibson for bad quality control!!
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson J-200, A truly remarkable acoustic guitar." submitted March 29, 2011

By a customer from wv.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought a Gibson J-200 Vintage Sunburst just recently from ZZOUNDS & we love it. We already have a Gibson J-45 & a Gibson Songwriter so we know our Gibsons & this guitar is remarkable. It has a beautiful full sound & is also beautiful to look at. Overall a super guitar that ZZOUNDS sold us at a great price.
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dream Guitar" submitted October 8, 2013

By chad w in harrison township, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 22 years experience.
Music Style: Fingerstyle, Jazz, Country, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was worried about making such huge purchase without seeing or playing the actual product I would be receiving. After it arrived all my worries were wiped away. The figuring of the maple was outstanding,back and sides. The maple neck was also impressively flamed. As for sound, well it is the king of flat tops, and it lives up to the name. The grover rotomatic tuners work smoothly, and the set up was pretty spot on. Great guitar, more than met my expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"JS200" submitted February 24, 2014

By HAROLD WRIGHT in WINSTON, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5 YRS GUITAR NON PROFSSIONAL
Music Style: ROCK COUNTRY BLUES FINGER STYLE
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: ZZOUNDS WAS AS USUAL GREAT THE GIBSON GUITAR HOWEVER WASNT THERE WAS A GLOB OF GLUE ON THE FACE OF THE BRIDGE THE NUT WAS SO SHARP IT WOULD CUT YOUR FINGER SO MANY LITTLE THINGS FOR A GUITAR OF THAT PRICE THE INSIDE HOWEVER WAS PERFECT SPENT 80 BUCKS AND A 200MILE TRIP TO HAVE IT SET UP AND THE NUT WORKED ON BY AUTH LUTHIER I WOULD HAVE SENT IT BCCK IF I HAD NOT WANTED IT SO BAD AGAIN THOUGH BOY IT SOUNDS GOOD
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"There is a reason while they call it the King!!!" submitted March 12, 2012

By Emmanuel L in Austin, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for twelve years and play professionally.
Music Style: Musical styles are from jazz, rock, country, blues, acoustic and latin.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is by far the best musical purchase that I have ever mad. Actually it's more than that, it's an investment. I have other Gibson acoustics and this one just blew them out of the water. You can't make this guitar sound bad. It has great low end plus sparkling highs and the best sustain that I have ever heard on an acoustic. whether you preferred playing is finger style or picking it handles both with ease and massive tone. Not to mention the great people at Zzounds are as equally amazing!!! With such great deals with the play as you pay they make it extremely easy for the average working Joe to get a rich man's instrument without the hassle. Thanks Zzounds!!!!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"J-200 Standard" submitted April 10, 2014

By Travis R in Alexandria, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 10 years
Music Style: Folk, Rock, Bluegrass, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Hands down the best sounding acoustic I have played. I own a Martin DC-16GTE and a Gibson Dove Custom which both sound wonderful in their own way, but the J-200 Standard projects like nothing else. You can feel it resonate against your chest when you play it. All that have heard it and play it say the same. Feature: What is there to say, it is a J-200! It is a great looking and sounding instrument. The Fishman electrics on it are great, although I wish it had a build in tuner with the Fishman system, but it is not a big deal at all. Ease of Use: This thing came ready to play! The action was perfect right out of the box. The neck is surprisingly slender for such a big guitar and is a dream to play for me. I don't have super long fingers, so this is perfect for me. Quality: It is a beautiful instrument. Crown Mother of Pearl inlays down the fretboard, a beautiful Vintage finish and the flame maple on this guitar is absolutely gorgeous. The tuners stay in tune as expected with Grover Rotamatics. One negative thing is they use plastic bridge pins on the Standard: At this price point, couldn't they have at least installed Tusq like the nut and saddle? Value: No beating around the bush, this is an expensive guitar at $3799.00. I'm not sure this guitar is a great value per se, but with a J-200 you are buying an iconic guitar that has a sound and presence all it's own. It is something you can be proud to own for the rest of your life and pass down to your kids one day. Manufacturer Support: I haven't needed to contact Gibson yet, but the guitar comes with a Lifetime Warranty against manufacturing defects. I'm sure if it fails due to some flaw, they'd stand behind it. The Wow Factor: It is a stunning guitar. The flamed maple on it is gorgeous. The finish is flawless. The pickguard looks awesome like they always have on J-200s. The pearl inlays and the mustache bridge leave no doubt what guitar you are taking out of the case: The King of the Flat Tops! Overall: Hands down the best sounding acoustic I have played. I own a Martin DC-16GTE and a Gibson Dove Custom which both sound wonderful in their own way, but the J-200 Standard projects like nothing else. You can feel it resonate against your chest when you play it. All that have heard it and play it say the same.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Acoustic Guitar" submitted August 27, 2014

By Duane V
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professionally
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What an outstanding instrument. Big sound and unmatched playability. I hope to find a J200 12 string some day. The instrument finish was flawless, I had a pro setup and the guitar plays as easy as some of my electric guitars
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"sj200" submitted January 9, 2014

By joe hays in delanco, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: home
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
Overall: deap sound full body vibration
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15HF-5Q2G. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!