800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172Q-9GVN
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Gibson 2014 SGJ

With a pair of '61 Zebra humbuckers on a solid mahogany body, the SGJ offers incredible Gibson SG style, tone and sustain for an unheard-of low price.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"I am amazed by the quality, tone, and price of this axe!" submitted February 25, 2014

By Marvin Mealer in Tunnel Hill, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played piano 26 years, guitar 20. I play in church weekly.
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Blues, Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased the Satin Fireburst. I wasn't sure what to expect at this price point. I was blown away by how good the neck felt, add it didn't hurt my arthritic hands. I thought surely they went cheap on the pickups. The pickups are great both clean and dirty. The finish is absolutely stunning with no blemishes. The first needed very little setup out if the box. The only thing I did was change the Cleartone 9s to DR Pure Blues 10's which changed the tone and feel from wow to jaw dropping! The gig bag is really nice too! This guitar is a lot of bang for the buck!
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"decent guitar for a good price" submitted February 4, 2014

By a customer from aim.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My sgj14 just arrived via fedex today. It only took 3 days to get here which I consider pretty good for ground shipping. Zzounds is great! The guitar is an all around good guitar. Mine arrived set up pretty decent. Very light, good feeling neck profile. Playability is good. The frets are kind of shard on the ends, I wouldn't call it a big deal. The fret board is very dry but nothing a little lemon oil won't fix. The pickups don't really blow me away, they are decent at best. Overall, you have a bare bones Gibson meant to be rocked for a great price. If your a gigging musician like me that needs a solid axe that doesn't break the bank I highly advise this guitar to you.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesom" submitted March 31, 2014

By Coy K in Hondo, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 33 yrs. I play electric and acoustic guitar and jam at small gatherings and at home mainly.
Music Style: Rock and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the first Gibson I have ever owned. I have been playing an Ibanez Roadstar 2 for about 27 yrs. I have played on Les Paul's in the past but never on a SG. Have to admit this is an awesome guitar for what it is. Being stripped down, this guitar is more than you will expect. Has a great Gibson sound, with very nice action right out of the box and so lightweight, it is much lighter than my old Ibanez. zZounds is great and can't beat the payment options anywhere. This SGJ Rocks.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice axe" submitted February 3, 2014

By B A in Alberton , MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam with friends, small bar gigs..
Music Style: Jam, rock, reggae, country, psychedelic funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds rocks, still making payments on this beauty, but I can tell ya it rocks. Great playing guitar right out of the box. I don't think you'll ever find another gibson for the price. Researched a lot and I believe this is the nicest guitar in the price range.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Value!" submitted February 24, 2014

By Jordan Jacksom in Williamsburg, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: semi pro
Music Style: Rock, blues, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The value of this guitar is amazing. Sound is amazing. It resonates almost like an acoustic and sounds MASSIVE! Fit and finish was just right. I had to switch the string to 10's and adjust the action but overall couldn't be happier. Buy this now!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome, simply awesome" submitted July 27, 2014

By Kevin R in Winterville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for 25 years
Music Style: Rock, folk, and everything in between
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For the price, or even for more, you will not find a better guitar. The pickups are amazing, nice clarity but will growl properly when needed. The neck is chunkier than I thought it would be. Very comfortable. The frets are pleked so that's nice, but they could have spent some time on the fret ends. That's my only gripe. Finish is nice, hardware is good, tuners are rock solid. The guitar as a whole is very light, less than 7 lbs, and is very resonant. This is a very nice guitar, then you figure in price and this is an amazing guitar! Thanks Zzounds!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson SGJ is more than just OK" submitted October 8, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com in Bethlehem, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Started playing saxaphone in elementry school (anyone relate to this!!), then over time the guitar, bass guitar and drums. 35 yr
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, Blues, Zappa
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For less than five hundred bucks delivered to your front door and made in the USA, it would be hard to top that. Don't let the Junior fool you, it's got a pair (sorry ladies!). You won't be disappointed.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"gibson sgj guitar" submitted June 10, 2014

By Bernard A in Roanoke, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for decades. . . guitar, some keyboard, and vocals
Music Style: contemporary christian, blues, and some folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What can I say....it's a true gibson american made guitar for under $600! Amazing tone, beautiful finish, and unbelievable feel. There is no way I could be happier about my purchase.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT GUITAR" submitted July 3, 2014

By Brian P in Morristown, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 yrs learning I play guitar,and drums
Music Style: 80's metal, rock, and some blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar needed little set up out of the box. Tone is very good, I was worried about the pick-ups but I have to say they are fine for me. great blues and classic rock guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson SGJ 2014" submitted February 22, 2014

By Mark C in Dallas, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 1 year, and play mostly at home nearly everyday.
Music Style: Blues, Rock, and Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my first Gibson and I was truly impressed with Gibson and they have this year. Not only does this guitar look and feel great, but it sounds awesome! It is a very versatile, from metal to rock, blues, and country. Zzounds customer service is top notch, and very responsive with great pricing.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson 2014 SGJ" submitted October 5, 2014

By Mitch B in santa fe, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play for 30+ years.
Music Style: rock and metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Incredible price for a Gibson. Obviously not as nice as the upper end Gibsons but overall very happy with it. Plays and sounds great. All I had to do was change the strings. 4 payment plan made it easier for my other half to swallow.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Key to Major Bang, Minor Buck" submitted June 4, 2014

By jack f in cibolo, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitars since '66. Have gravitated to L. Pauls/strats. Picked up bass and keyboard along the way for demos, etc.
Music Style: Playing top 40 for the clubs, originals for the record deals. Taste runs to jazzy melodic good time foot tappers.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: New Gibson? Anniversary Model? For less than 6 Benjies? Yes Please!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172Q-9GVN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!