800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZT-9G78
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: SG Standard 24-Fret

With 24 frets, and the versatile pickup combo of Firebird mini and 57 Classic humbuckers, this limited-edition SG has miles of musical and tonal range.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Gibson Limited Edition Run SG STD 24 " submitted September 21, 2015

By Matthew Lukaszewicz in Columbia Falls, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar, bass, banjo, mandolin, piano.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The quality of the materials and craftsmanship is impressive. I didn't find any obvious flaws. However the setup was terrible. The action was sky high, the intonation was way off and the pickup heights were drastically off. I got it setup correctly and I have nothing but good to say about it. The firebird mini humbucker in the neck has a distinct clarity that I think adds a lot to the versatility of the guitar and the Iommi in the bridge is great for high gain riffing. This has quickly become a recording mainstay for me. The 24 frets are nice for tapping out harmonics.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Everything I hoped for" submitted March 4, 2015

By Joe B in Roanoke, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ yrs guitar/bass
Music Style: Hard Rock, Blues Rock, Punk Rock, Rock Rock, some Roll.... maybe a little Classic Metal and Stoner Metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds exactly like a friggin SG!! I love to rock AC/DC and this does it flawlessly. 57 classic in the bridge? Hello Angus! So hot and electric sounding. I'll be totally up front - I was pretty nervous about the Firebird pickup because I never had any experience with them and I didn't want to be handicapped by something different than what I was familiar with. But I was totally and completely unjustified in worrying. I love the Firebird. It has a much warmer and tighter tone than any neck pickup I've ever used. So happy with it. It's a brilliant addition and a brilliant tool to have on an SG. I would have liked a little higher output pup from the bridge but I'm not at all unhappy about it. You probably won't get any super dark metal tones from it without a lot of effects on it. Both pickups are beautifully clear and distinct. Feature: The first thing I noticed was the neck. Same width and taper that I'm used to but it's much more shallow. It doesn't fill my hand up and gives me more room to move my fingers. The coil splits are great. Especially since I didn't want to mod this guitar at all being what it is. Caps are fine. They're fine. 24 fret SG. And yes with amazing access to them. Excellent tuners - nice and smooth with a good tight gear ratio. Very fine control. Ease of Use: It makes me feel like a better player than I am. It just FEELS good to play. Quality: Gibson quality. It's great. Sounds as good as an acoustic unplugged. It will still be in good playing condition when I pass it on to my son. Nice long sustain. Nice out of box setup - flawless intonation. The action is a smidge high for my taste but that's nothing that can't be adjusted. Good clean level frets - no buzzing. Value: I feel like I got a perfectly good deal. I think it is worth it's price. Manufacturer Support: I actually did speak with Gibson to get some info about this. I had no issues with it, I just wanted some info about the pickup construction and how many were made etc. I talked to a guy named John. He was very cool and conversational. He answered all my questions. 24 hour customer support baby! zZounds needs more info about this guitar in the specs/description. The Wow Factor: It's a real SG but it's kind of weird. Thats why I bought it. I wanted a guitar that would make people look a little closer and it does that. At first glance it looks like a normal SG. But then you notice the FB in the neck and the 2 extra frets (notice no inlay on the 24th fret? I love that. It's subtle). Also no slugs showing on the pups. I like it because it's just sublime overall. It's different but nothing really pops right out at you. Overall: Here's the thing. I wanted this guitar because I wanted an SG but I also wanted a guitar that you don't see all the time. So when I saw this I got pretty excited. I wanted a new guitar with 24 frets anyway and the Firebird pickup is just weird enough that it made me really want this. Everything that's different about it is so subtle that no one will notice at first glance. When I decided to make a review for this I told myself I was going to be critical and objective and stuff, and that I wouldn't just gush out all 5 stars. Well the thing is - this guitar turned out to be exactly what I wanted and I don't think it would be fair to give it less than all 5 stars. I really think it deserves it.
48 of 51 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Rocks!" submitted July 26, 2015

By Don C in Maine, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional beginner
Music Style: Anything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This thing looks, plays, and sounds amazing! So happy I bought it, even though I never tried it in person. So many tones to be had. It is quickly becoming my favorite in the stable. Get one!
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tone Monster!!!!" submitted August 24, 2015

By David L in Corona, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing professionally for 20+ years
Music Style: Rock n roll, country, punk, metal, garage, surf, rockabilly, you name it!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Possibly the best guitar I've played!!! The tone is unbelievable, with its slim neck, light weight, but not too light, stays in tune, and the pickup configuration is really fantastic! The Iommi pickups with the Firebird neck pickup gives a nice vintage 70s rock I was looking for in a guitar. Also this guitar cuts really will in a band and works wonders with pedals and all amps I've played with. Best guitar I ever owned!!!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Coolest SG you can buy right now!" submitted September 2, 2015

By Daniel Steele in Portland, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Old school head banger who never leaves the disco alone.
Music Style: Disco Thrash and Boogie metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I paid full price a year ago and don't regret it one bit! Having 24 frets on a Gibson is fun. The firebird pu w coil tap is my top reason to purchase. Blending the two pickups will fascinate tone freaks. I get the same feeling when I'm behind the wheel of a muscle car jamming riffs ala Sabbath,COC, AC DC!!! I love playing it unplugged, finger tapping jazz chords and patterns are bell like and player friendly with 24 frets. Buy a blemished one without a care, you will play this guitar a lot dings and dents will occur!!!!!!!
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dissapointed" submitted March 28, 2016

By Darius Swatzell in Mayfield , KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing of and on for many years
Music Style: Sabbath, zepplin ,zz,blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First.of all, zzounds was very cool ,as usual. Me being a huge sabbath fan i thought i was getting my dream axe. I got a mexican telecaster that will make you put this thing back in the case.the neck was seriously bowed when i first got it,the pickup was touching the strings.now,most of this was an easy fix and it played beautifully,now that my 45 day return time is up i have developed a very bad humming noise in the wiring that Never goes away no matter what. Gibson ignores me.i will never buy another gibson product
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Should not really be called a "Standard" SG" submitted July 16, 2015

By Danny W in Greenfield , WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Started playing 33 years ago, professionally for 20. I now play a Schecter Hellraiser Hybrid
Music Style: Classic 1960s-1990s hard rock/metal. Progressive Metal. Classical. Neo-Classical. Blues/Jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I went to the local music store and tried out new Gibson SG Standards( 2 versions, cherry and see-through-black ), the ones that are $1800 and only 22 frets and it was a really great guitar, so I was confident that the Gibson SG 24 that I ordered from Zzounds was going to be of the same ilk, just with 24 frets. I couldn't have been more wrong......first of all, the fretboard wood was of the most poor quality rosewood, I thought it was one of those dyed maple jobs and the binding looked and felt cheap. Second, it's easy to see they save the better quality mahogany for the stained heritage cherry SGs, as I got the ebony model and could see waves and lines and what actually looked like a crack that went from the strap button to the headstock!! I would absolutely never recommend this particular Gibson guitar, unless you like paying Gibson prices for less-than-Epiphone quality. Just buy the original Gibson SG Standard with 22 frets, a much nicer guitar. This was all made much worse because the guitar I ordered was also defective, the neck had shifted/twisted so that you could not stop the ridiculous fretbuzz until the strings were almost an inch above the fretboard....but even if the SG had played they way it was supposed to(awesomely) I was still very unhappy/disappointed with the overall quality of this guitar. I so wanted this guitar to be awesome, I really did. I must add that Zzounds did everything in their power to make this right and came through for me....I wasn't charged anything extra or any restocking fee and got a full refund which I promptly used to buy a guitar from them that I was infinitely more satisfied with...... the Schecter Hellraiser Hybrid, $500 cheaper and 10 times better than that Gibson.
12 of 24 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fooled" submitted October 23, 2016

By Darry S in Mayfield, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Have played for years
Music Style: Black sabbath,led Zep,classic rock blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Guys,your not getting what you pay for.The pickup in the bridge Is Not!!! A tony iommi pickup.it is a 57 classic.zZounds was probably not aware of this and they resolved the issue promptly.The workmanship on this guitar is quite possibly the worse ive ever seen.A guitar at this price point should be stunning.The fretwork is terrible and i had to take the guitar to a luthier to get the frets dressed (very costly).And forget gibson,they will not help you at all period!.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Returned it" submitted July 20, 2015

By Annie H in Marietta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing since the '70s
Music Style: Rock baby
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My guitar arrived on time and well packaged. I was a bit surprised by the color of the guitar. It is brown (translucent ebony). I had seen this color scheme at my local guitar store but did not realize this was the color I was ordering. The color on sounds site looks much darker than it looks in person. I had already planned to replace the tan trim work but the cocoa brown stain was a bridge too far for me. The guitar felt like a lower quality SG.A minor fix but major disappointment: the guitar arrived with the G string flopping loose. MinEtune went nuts trying to tune G and never really got around to tuning the other strings ( and I like MinEtune in normal situations)...so I never got to test drive this guitar so I can't speak to its playability. I own three SGs - a special, a deluxe and a supreme. I love these guitars. Sounds was great. They promptly credited me the same day they received the returned guitar. I will definitely do more business w/sounds but if I buy another guitar here I will google for pics of the color before buying.
5 of 17 people (29.41%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZT-9G78. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!