800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158B-ZY3K
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson J-45 Standard

Play a piece of history when you pick up a Gibson J-45 Standard. This workhorse dreadnought acoustic delivers great tone with an LR Baggs Element pickup.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great guitar!!" submitted October 16, 2013

By Nick F in Asheville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Freelance
Music Style: rock, country,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First off, when you open the case its like Christmas every time you look at the guitar. Excellent tone and when you drop it down it really starts to sound good. I would recommend taking it and getting it professionally setup. The action is a little high right out of the box. Also I was disappointed that the nut is plastic. For the money, you would think it would be a bone nut. Same for the pins, they are plastic. The finish is beautiful and has the wow factor. However, if you don't want to see finger prints, every little fine scratch, or are just OCD, this is probably not the finish you want. Other than that I would recommend this to anyone if you are wanting a very playable guitar that has a great tone. I've played several Martin and Taylor guitars before purchasing my J45 and you could not get me to switch to anything else other than another Gibson.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Purely Amazing" submitted March 7, 2012

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing for 7 years.
Music Style: Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: In standard tuning this beauty is stellar. Nice warmth and mids. Drop it in D and its a tone Beast! Dark sonorous tones come out! Feature: The wood that is used and the under saddle pickup placement makes this guitar just progressively sound better with age since there is no cut into the wood for a preamp. It is kind of a chore to have to back off the strings to get to the battery and the lack of a second strap button but seriously thats it. Ease of Use: There is no learning curve. Although just being the type of person i am i didnt go after this guitar until i thought i deserved to play it. This guitar will bring out the best in someone. the neck is chunky and smooth. The only surprise i had was how light it was. A very head heavy guitar. Quality: Its a Gibson made product. For all the reviews ive read and people being a little down on the quality coming out of the factory these days i didnt see one cosmetic thing wrong with it. Value: Well i hold three guitars in the highest standards and this is one of them. The price is a bit much but to be honest but it is one of the best guitars going and well worth it as this shoud be the only guitar you will ever have to own. Manufacturer Support: I havent ever had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: When you open the case for the first time and see it thats WOW factor enough really. The gloss on this guitar looks like a mirror. Like your looking into a still lake and seeing your reflection back. Plus the added padded blue case that it comes in just makes for an all around remarkable product. Overall: This is the one guitar to rule all guitars its that simple. If you are one of those people that say you can get the same tone from a 100 Ibanez you obviously need to stop playing music all together.
21 of 23 people (91.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"J 45 GIBSON" submitted July 25, 2013

By dan herring in lenoir, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i been playing for 44 years guitar
Music Style: i play christain music and sometimes pick other like bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this is the best gibson i have ever bought myself, ive played martins and wow when i open the box took it out it was so nice with the sound and playing it was just great and there payment plans you cant beat, i would buy from them all the time from now on,i give it a 5 stars the only thing i found wrong with this amount for it i belive it should have had bone head nut and bridge instead if plastic but besides this nothing wrong its a great work house
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Legendary guitar, legendary tone." submitted April 5, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active gigging musician
Music Style: Americana
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Deep, sonorous sound, a low growl, beautiful sustain. The highs are somewhat subtle. It is great to sing with. Finger picking and flat picking, this guitar can do it all. Feature: The only gripe I have is the cheap plastic bridge pins, and the tusq saddle. I would think a high end guitar deserves bone nut and saddles and ebony bridge pins. Beautiful finish, great sunburst, and the Gotoh tuners are smoothe as glass. The rolled fingerboard edges and set up were great, the guitar intonated correctly. A very well built guitar. Quality: This guitar is made very well made, the finish is great. All seems are clean, no glue showing, kerfing is cut clean. There are many examples of old J45's out there, I expect this one to last my lifetime, and that's all I care about. Good guitars are tools and friends, and are good on the road and on the porch. I use mine for everything. Take care of it and its gonna last. Value: I think you get a little more guitar than with MArtins at similar prices, in my opinion. Manufacturer Support: Yes, their warranty leaves a little to be desired, I have dealt with Collings guitars and am spoiled by their perfect cutomer service. Gibson is a little beauracratic. The Wow Factor: On stage this guitar has that cool mojo. Ray Willie Hubbard and a lot of other cool artists that I admire use these. It does have a real coolness about it, looks great under the stage lights. Overall: I trade guitars often, I plan on hanging on to this one. A good guitar only gets better, and this is one that is a keeper.
12 of 14 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Tone Search is Over !!" submitted March 8, 2012

By Christopher Munro in Taylor, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 7 years. I play guitar and sing. Play weekly as a worship leader at church.
Music Style: I play Contemporary Christian, Acoustic rock, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this guitar ! I was debating on whether to spend such a large amount on a guitar but this was MORE THAN WORTH IT!! I have owned several lower end Taylors, Martins, Breedloves, and also a couple $2000 level guitars of these brands but nothing compared to this !! Great for strumming, finger-picking, any style. The look is stunning and craftsmanship second to none. I definitely see why they call it the Workhorse. I don't see needing another acoustic !!
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson J-45 Wine Red" submitted June 19, 2013

By Kenny D in Phenix City, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 30 yearts...Acoustic Guitar only right now......a little of both....work a Gig now and then..Jam regular
Music Style: Blues...Classic rock...Country....Folk...Classic R & B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome looking and playing guitar...fantastic sound right out of the box...I own 3 acoustic guitars including a Martin...This guitar is the easily the best playing and best sounding of the 3 ....I cant imagine how good it will sound as it ages...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dream Gutar" submitted April 16, 2014

By E T in atlanta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years off and on
Music Style: Rock, country, folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I swear I think this is the best sounding guitar I have ever heard. Maybe just because it costs triple what any other guitar I've owned cost but I love this guitar. The Value rating is only because it is hard to call a $2000 guitar a value.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I like the quality , sound and features" submitted May 25, 2012

By Bob Hardison in Columbia, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played as lead guitarist for 60 years. Retired now at 80. I have about 15 guitars.
Music Style: Mostly country, but for about 7 yrs. played the older popular type like Lawrence Welk, Perry Coma type. Mostly with my Gibson LP
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar has the Gibson sound, loud and clear with full tone. I've oinly had my J45 about 2 yrs now. but I enjoy playing it so much.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson J-45" submitted March 19, 2014

By Coy W in Weatherford, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Just a jammer at the moment
Music Style: Rock. Blues. Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 158B-ZY3K. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!