800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143V-4NB1
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson Les Paul Junior SP

A fan favorite since its introduction in 1954, this dual-humbucker version of the classic Les Paul Jr. has been the weapon of choice for countless players.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"A steal at this price" submitted December 1, 2012

By Chris C
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Intermediate player
Music Style: Rock, blues, rockin' blues, bluesy rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is an incredible value at this price. I bought the heritage cherry with the gloss finish for hundreds less than other merchants are selling it for.The guitar was perfectly set up out of the box. The finish is almost flawless. Gibson don't seem to be able to get the finish on their guitars 100% right--my guitar has a little flaw on the inside of the cutaway and on the lip of the cutout for the pickup selector switch. Not big deals. Neck is flawless--slim taper profile that I prefer. The torrified maple fretboard is sweet to play; it's lighter than rosewood--more milk chocolate brown than the dark chocolate color of rosewood. The tuners are Tone Pros Kluson, so they're higher quality than the old Kluson style. The 490R/490T pickups sound vintage with a bit of upper midrange bite. The 490T is very comparable to the DiMarzio 36th DP223 that I have in the bridge of my Les Paul Trad Pro. My only real issue is the nut; the slots for G, B and E are cut a bit too deep, so they bind the strings. I'll eventually get my tech to install a bone nut. On the whole, I'm extremely pleased with this guitar. I wanted a slab-bodied guitar with a gloss finish and humbuckers, so this fit the bill perfectly. Service and shipping from zZounds were first-rate.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul Junior Special" submitted March 6, 2013

By Mal Tanner in Clinton, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: We jam all hours. Not for hire.
Music Style: Blues, surf and psychedelic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Value: I think I got very good value. To me, value is the most important thing. Manufacturer Support: I did not need them. The Wow Factor: Flashy and shiny. Looks as good as I can make it sound. Overall: I ordered the Ebony glossy (new) last week and received it yesterday and I have been playing it un-amplified for the past 12 hours. I don't own an amplifier but I want to buy one next month after I get another Social Security payment.Anyway, I have heard a lot of horror stories about the infamously inadequate finish quality from Gibson USA., so I was looking with a fine tooth comb during daylight hours for paint flaws and sanding marks, etc., as soon as I took my black beauty out of the box. And yes there are some, but you really have to dig to see them. This is a great looking instrument, glossy as advertized. The paint job will not be durable in my opinion. There is one string (the G) that has corrosion or pitting embedded in it, easily replaced, maybe soon. After ordering my new guitar I learned that the Jr. Special model is out of production. Only remaining stocks will be available. This model was exactly what I was looking for, not too expensive, but with quite a few nice features. The dual Humbuckers; a pick guard; binding around the fingerboard, the color, and chrome plated adjustable bridge and stopbar tailpiece. Real sharp, fast action, good sound out of the box, all for 600 bucks brand new. Suddenly I was feeling some urgency while waiting for delivery. The instrument arrived double packed (a box within a box) inside a gig bag which is pretty nice as well. I now own 3 guitars, and this is my first Gibson although I practiced on a borrowed student sized Gibson electric one summer back in 1965 or so and really liked it because of the skinnier neck and fast action. I remember that. I also have a Japanese -made electric bass guitar from that era, as well as a Fender acoustic that I've had for 40 years. But no amp. This Gibson Les Paul is the easiest guitar to play. I am glad I got this model in the gloss Ebony (I go for the Johnny Cash look, it suits me) before I would have had to settle for used one. When I decide on an amp and buy one and play my Gibson through it, I will write a follow up review. But so far, so good. I endorse this product.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My baby" submitted December 30, 2012

By Lenny Fast Hands in Smithville, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 40 years- 3 bands, 9 albums
Music Style: Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have owned over 15 guitars in my life time including a Les Paul Studio, an Explorer (both Gibsons, of course) Ibanez, etc. when I took this out of the box and positioned it in my hands my first thought was this was brought down from heaven by 2 angels and placed in my hands. I will die with this being my baby. Thanks Gibson.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Did I Steal This Guitar?" submitted December 31, 2012

By Wes C in Morrison, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Rock, blues, jam
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This isn't the typical low price Gibson fare. It has a bound fretboard, a nice finish, and it plays very well. The pickups are a bit hot for my taste and the finish at the neck to body joint has a few tiny bubbles, but overall this guitar is as good of a guitar as what you would normally find in Gibson's $900-$1200 range. At $549, it's a steal. I should feel guilty for only paying $549 for it.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Dream" submitted February 22, 2013

By Jeff E in Donalsonville, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 40 years , mostly at home .
Music Style: rock, country, Christian I love playing it all.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received my Les Paul Junior Special last week and instantly fell in love with it. I admit I have played guitar on and off for 40 years but never owned a quality guitar like this one. It plays so easy , and sounds great, and what a bargain price, gotta love it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pale Yellow Organic" submitted January 6, 2013

By Rich Vest in Union, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play at home anymore, Give lessons, 30 years playing guitar.
Music Style: Southern Rock, Blues, Texas blues, Delta Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Guitar is perfect. intonation to fret ends. Mine is Satin Yellow and has no sticky paint issues as fingers slide up and down the neck like its been sanded slippery. Tone wise it has a big fat bottom nothing like a strat and the top end is not crippling bright. (I actually had to dial down the pickups on low E string side to balance it to my liking.) In a few words, Black Crows and Kieth Richards through a Fender Vibro King. Even through a garage sale JCM 600 combo it has many signature tones buried deep within that require so little coaxing it almost plays itself. I just change the amp setting a tad or use a different distortion voicing, soon I am spiderwebbing sounds of the last 50 years,1960 to 2013. Iconic tough guitar that plays with attitude. I have found if you want some tone you have to pay for it, ALWAYS, this is a bargain.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul Junior Special" submitted January 15, 2013

By Will T in Reseda, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Working professional songwriter/musician plays guitar, bass, keys, harmonica.
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Funk, Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great guitar for the money. You wont find another Les Paul that offers so much for such a little price. I bought mine last year and it has become my favorite guitar that I currently own. The playability and sustain are fantastic, it just sings for days.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"like a sore peter, you can't beat it!" submitted January 4, 2013

By Steve M in Tuttle, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 30 years
Music Style: Rock, blues, Metal and....
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Sound and playability are top shelf!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Darn Great Guitar and Value!" submitted November 24, 2012

By Ken Helwig in Scotts Valley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played in recording/touring bands for 20 + years
Music Style: Punk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Everything that was promised it is. Ordered this and opted for Ground Shipping and I literally received it the next day. WOW!
4 of 8 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"les pual jr" submitted March 23, 2013

By al ciancetti in fressno, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 year pro guitarist drummer bass plyr
Music Style: blues classic rock meatl
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: great guitar at 550.50 price love it others go for 750.oo what a bargin stole it
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143V-4NB1. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!