800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175X-CC78
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Gibson LP '60s Tribute

Inspired by the sounds of the '60s, but ready for today's tones, the Gibson Les Paul '60s Tribute packs a pair of BurstBucker pickups for PAF-style punch.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"best deal out there" submitted June 30, 2013

By Jim D in Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Ive been playing for 9 years, I jan at home but I think Im ready to play with others lol
Music Style: I play mostly blues, rock, and metal but anything that catches my ear.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the sound quality of this guitar is awesome. This is my first Gibson Les Paul, I own Epiphones, schecters, Jacksons, Kramers, and A BC Rich Bich ST. The BC Rich is a neck through with original Floyd rose and a Varitone filter, it's a very nice guitar and the Gibson is on par or better. The burstbucker pickups are very punchy or roll the volume back for a more mellow tone. I play through a vox tone lab ex and a Kuston defender 15 watt tube head and a 2x12 cab. Feature: The Mini Tune system is a pretty special appointment. To be able to go from standard to any other tuning you want in seconds is very liberating. The pickups are some of the best I have heard. There is no binding or pickguard, that's why only 4 stars Ease of Use: The Mini Tune system is very easy to use. I took the guitar out of the box and started playing yesterday, hammer ons and pull offs are butter. The PLEK system they use to build or setup these guitars makes the guitar easy to play. Quality: I took the guitar out of the box, tuned it and started playing. There is no fret buzz, the action is pretty low and I can barely feel the fret ends. The satin finish is pretty cool especially on the back of the neck. There is a small defect in the wood on the side of the guitar, that's why only 4.5 stars Value: After playing $200 - $500 guitars for 9 years I feel like I can say with authority that this guitar is well worth the money. You just cant get this tone and quality for less, at least I haven't found it. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I have an Epiphone Les Paul Custom and a Kramer LP style that soung pretty good but when you whip out the Gibson, peoples eyes light up and the oooohhs and aaaaahhhs start. THAT is wow factor my friends. Overall: A great guitar with awesome features and killer tones.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"LP '60s Tribute" submitted December 26, 2013

By Lou S in Westmont, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar for 47 years, violin before that.
Music Style: Rock, blues, jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's a '60s Tribute Gold Top with BurstBucker 1 and 2 pickups. The finish is minimal, which is fine with me. The top is finished nicely, with only one minor flaw that is barely visible. The top carve is actually better than I expected from a budget guitar. The top also has "reveal" binding, which looks a bit dark, but fine. The back is 3 pieces of mahogany, as near as I can tell, and the grain is decently matched. The neck is one piece of mahogany, except for the wings, of course, with no binding. It's a '60s neck, but it's not thin like some that I've seen- it has some meat on it, and is very comfortable to play. The fretboard is a very even, nice dark piece of rosewood. Chrome hardware, with Grover tuners. I don't know if these are Pleked, but the frets are smooth and crowned properly. The fret ends are smooth, and do not stick out from the fretboard. Neck relief looks to be right on, but the action was set a bit higher than I like. I dropped it down a bit with no resultant buzzing or dead spots. It looks like it could go a bit lower still without any buzz. Played acoustically, it was lively and resonant- definitely not "dead wood". I plugged it into a Carvin Vintage 16, which is the only amp I have with me- the rest are at my other house. The BB 1/2 sound quite decent in this guitar. The amp was set with bass/middle/treble at 50%, volume at around 50%, gain at around 25%, and a touch of reverb. It sounded exactly as you would expect a good LP to sound, with nice definition, and good sustain. The middle position was well balanced, and neck and bridge positions were fine too. Weight is about 8 pounds 12 ounces, which is right in the acceptable range for me. It came with a gig bag, but I had a case hanging around for it. It's not flashy, but it certainly looks decent, and appears to be well built. It's definitely gig worthy and will get you the typical range of LP tones. That said, I already have plans to modify it. This LP has the circuit board with the pots and caps attached, and the pickups, switch, and jack all plug into it with connectors- no soldering. One thing that bugs me- the pickups have 4 wire conductors (plus ground), yet Gibson did not put push-pull pots, or any other pots capable of coil split. This makes no sense to me- the difference in cost between a regular pot and one capable of coil split is minimal. Same with the circuit board changes that would be required. I believe that some of the other models have the circuit board with coil split capability, so no new board was needed to do it. Therefore, I will rip all of it out- pickups, circuit board, switch, and jack. I will leave them all intact in case I decide to sell it later. I will put in better pickups/pots/caps, and Switchcraft switch/jack. I will probably put 4 push-pull pots, PIO caps, and likely Jimmy Page wiring, or some variation thereof. I will also put an ABR bridge and aluminum tailpiece on it. Don't misunderstand- the guitar is fine as is, and is excellent value for the money. I like to tinker with inexpensive guitars and see how much better I can make them. If you can find a good one of these LPs, they're well worth the money.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Steal For an American Made Guitar!" submitted December 14, 2013

By Jay S in Dayton, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 35 years.
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar sounds great... Period. The Burstbuckers are awesome and there is no doubt the mahogany body with maple top work as they should on this guitar. This is the best sounding guitar I own. Feature: No frills. Just everything as it should be. Ease of Use: The guitar was setup decently from the factory. I did tweak it just a bit, but I used to set up guitars at a music store and I like dialing them in. Quality: Fit and finish are good. I didn't see any flaws in the finish or anywhere else. My only beef is the fret ends were a little sharp and the fret board was pretty dry. I dressed the fret ends and oiled the fretboard and it's perfect now. This is the only thing I wasn't thoroughly impressed with. Everything else blew me away for the price. Easy fix though, so I wouldn't not buy it because of this. Value: Amazing value! Seriously amazing value!!! Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed to deal with Gibson ever. The Wow Factor: The price and sound bring the wow factor. To get an USA build guitar at this price that sounds this good is truly amazing. I'm more than happy. Overall: Amazing value. Great guitar for an even better price!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the guitar I always wanted!!!!!" submitted June 26, 2013

By Nicolas Mohamed in Madras, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: church and home
Music Style: Neo classical Christian metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Though it is heavier then what I'm use to this thing plays like a dream. The maple and mahogany combo makes for a warm mid and low end and enough high end to and definition whether you playing lead or rhythm. The pickups are hot and very responsive to your pick attack. All and all a great buy.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Incredible Guitar, Incredible Value, As good as it Gets!" submitted August 28, 2013

By Robert G in Willseyville, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Just an amateur player who has played many years.
Music Style: Rock and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my third Gibson Les Paul and it probably is the best one I own. I have played many Les Pauls that cost easily five times what this does and this is a better guitar by far. I am not sure how Gibson did it, but this is a really fine product. Well done Gibson!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul '60s Tribute (Goldtop)" submitted December 16, 2013

By C B in North Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Wood Shedding
Music Style: Jazz, Blues, Rock, R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very approachable Guitar, the price is right for it performance (Great). A guitar that can be used daily without fear of the bumps and bruises Guitar's go through. This Guitar is not to be put on a pedestal, (although it's Pretty) it is meant to be played, and played it will... If you want a Guitar to look at, spend more money...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar" submitted November 25, 2013

By Rob M in Rockaway Beach, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play evryday for about an hour or two, jam
Music Style: Guns and Roses, Allman Brothers Band
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This one great guitar. The action out of the box and tone of the Burstbuckers are just unreal. The finish is beautiful without the buffed out clear coat. It seems to enhance the tone. drawback is the gig bag, not like the older gig bags that can stand up to a pounding. Buy a hard case for this guitar. Save and buy a Gibson
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Did they stay in tune in the 60,s?" submitted March 4, 2013

By William Hedrick
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played guitar for 45 years
Music Style: rock,country,bluse
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just got the 60's tribute a week ago and the frets were sticking out and it will NOT stay in tune.I am so upset with this guitar. Gibson what is going on?
23 of 27 people (85.19%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"First time I have ever played a Gibson les Paul. " submitted May 25, 2013

By Freddy S in Lincolnton , NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing most my life, but as a keyboardist for the most part. Started guitar about 1 1/2 years ago.
Music Style: Blues, old time rock, some jazz, country, and Motown, but I love to write my own music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Today I went with a friend to guitar center in Charlotte, and after looking at all the beautifully guitars they have l saw this beauty. Picked her up and plugged her in and within a moment I was lost to all the people around me. This guitar played great and sounded even better, I have a fender strat, and a schecter C1 hellraser. Both are great guitars, and I love them. But I have wanted a Gibson les Paul for some time now, and I found the one I want. She plays so good and I can't wait to have her, as soon as possible I'm going to order this beauty, and by the way zZounds is a great place to do business with. And there prices are the best!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute" submitted December 27, 2013

By Dave G in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for kicks about 15 years.
Music Style: blues, rock, funk, fusion, rockabilly, folk, traditional, Americana
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had to send this guitar back because the neck was warped slightly. The fret ends were very sharp and not crowned well at all. It was literally painful to play. Neck profile was comfortable and I liked the way the finish felt on the back of the neck. A lot of these lower-tier Gibsons have serious QC issues. I didn't want to take a chance on another dud so I got a Firebird V 2010 instead. I'm so glad I did. I got the Firebird during the end of the year blow-out so I got an awesome deal on it and it turned out to be a superb sounding and playing instrument.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175X-CC78. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!