800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1553-BC2G
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: 2014 Les Paul Traditional

Carry on a tradition with this Les Paul! The LP Traditional boasts Gibson's '59 Tribute humbuckers, rounded late-'50s neck, and an AA figured maple top.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"superb 2014 les paul traditional" submitted March 23, 2014

By ruben trevino in fresno, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing 34 years
Music Style: country, country rock, rock, classic rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: ordered my 2014 les paul traditional on 3-17-2014, got it 3//22/2014 in afternoon, took it straight to the gig and proceeded to rock the casbah. Man what an axe, they ain't enough words to state the obvious and this is a phenomenal axe period.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All Les Paul" submitted March 24, 2014

By alex g in east stroudsburg, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock, blues, clasical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Love the 59 tribute pups, some sweet sounds. Feature: Not much features since it's a traditional so no coil splitting or robotic tuners etc, but that's not a Les Paul is for. I have my fender for those single coil sounds and I love the Kluson tuners. Ease of Use: Love the round 50's neck. Quality: This guitar screams quality. Value: Worth the money, well made. Manufacturer Support: No issues The Wow Factor: You know it's a quality ax as soon as you open the case. Overall: This is truly a quality instrument, well worth the money and it sounds great too.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Traditional tone, feel, and weight" submitted June 2, 2014

By Daniel H in Cheyenne, WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Many years pro and semi-pro
Music Style: all but mostly rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Having played several Les Pauls over the years I became less than impressed with the direction Gibson went with the Standard line. In my mind, THIS guitar is what a Les Paul Standard should be: a solid, heavy, beautiful tone machine. Don't get me wrong, I have a 2013 Gibson Custom Les Paul Axcess stoptail that has all the modern updates, a slightly slimmer body, belly scarf, and heel-less construction (and I love that guitar); but I wanted a Les Paul that could serve as a gig partner with it, that really brings the vintage vibe. This Les Paul Traditional does that and more. The sustain is incredible, the neck is as flawless as my Custom Shop guitar, and the '59 pickups really bite with a Led Zepp snarl. Also, this guitar looks every bit as good as my Axcess and I love the Tobacco burst finish. If you're looking for the authentic 1959 Les Paul tone, feel, looks, and attitude without having to shell out the big bucks for a VOS model, look no further and buy it today!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get this ax" submitted March 27, 2014

By Danny D in Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing since the mid 90's
Music Style: Anything and everything.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just purchase the tobacco burst and I'm totally blown away by it. Beautiful and without a flaw. Frets are perfect as well as the action. Very lie action with no buzz. Plays like butter. By far the best guitar I own. I have and had many gibson sand Fenders, but this one tops them all. The pickups are super fat sounding and very hot. I love it! Put away my Fender Plus and Gibson L6s. Plus, ZZ Sounds rocks it! 18 months with no interest...........
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolutely Brilliant! Best Ever!" submitted July 24, 2014

By Robert G in Willseyville, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A long time but just play for fun.
Music Style: Rock, Southern Rock, ect
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Perfect - I love the new 59 pups! Feature: No features and that is what makes it great. Plug it in and it is perfect right out of the box! Ease of Use: Again, no frills or crap you don't need. Plug it in and play! Quality: The Quality of this Trad is first rate. I feel like it is a R9! Value: I feel like I got the top of the line Les Paul for a few dollars more a month over a Studio. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to use them. The Wow Factor: Mine came with what appears to be a Quilt top. I look at the AAA tops and mine is far superior to them. Just incredible! Overall: The Gibson 2014 Les Paul Traditional is the best looking, best sounding, best playing, best top, perfect weight, perfect everything! I feel like I scored a R9!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Vintage Tone" submitted June 12, 2014

By Jorge d in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar since 1971. In a Classic Rock cover band for 3 yrs.
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love the '59 tribute pickups. Great value for the money. Lousy tuners (Kluson Deluxe), had a bad one on the treble side, Gibson sent me a replacement. I decided to upgrade to vintage Grover's as I have them on another LP and they worked out well. I'm very surprised that Gibson would opt for such crappy tuners on an otherwise excellent instrument. All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase. Buy one but upgrade the tuners!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Traditional... The only way to play!" submitted July 10, 2014

By Frank P in La Crescenta, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 40 years. Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals. Jam at home. Like most, played in numerous bands growing up.
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, Country, Mainstream Melodic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received my new Gibson Les Paul Traditional guitar a couple of weeks ago and have not put it down since. The sound is phenomenal and it is so comfortable. I love the thicker 50's neck and the old Humbucking pick ups! So much to play... so little time to play it! Great sound for clean jazz as well as shredding Rock! A great inclusion to my growing guitar collection!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"For those with a strong back...." submitted April 27, 2014

By Tom G
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: "Chick-gettin' "
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First, this sucker is HEAVY! Prior to purchase I didn't pay much attention to the "weight relief" claims but it is a factor. Having said that, the finish is flawless, the neck (a sometimes Gibson problem) fits fine, and the sound is, well...that's why I bought the thing in the first place. It's retro, it's heavy, but it sure sounds good
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is why I work for a living...." submitted April 19, 2014

By Tom G in Princeton , WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing since the Beatles were together
Music Style: classic (real) rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this guitar. It is fun to play, interesting to look at and a real star in my collection. My only complaint is the weight. Take my word for it, this sucker is heavy!!! I quit going to the gym and practice an extra hour a day. It's a worthwhile trade-off
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Before you decide" submitted February 5, 2014

By Ken S in Lakewood, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playoing since I was 12 yrs old, mainly hobby,
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased a 2014 Gibson Les Paul Traditional series guitar from Zzounds several weeks ago. They were pleasant to deal with on the purchase, They shipped it out quickly, but the BIG DRAWBACK of dealing with them came when I called them and informed them the guitar was not properly set up. The neck is out of adjustment, Intonation is off, it is in tune in one chord and out of tune in another etc. I called them and asked them if they would reimburse me for taking it to have it properly set up. They told me NO. They dont do that. so just in case I may have been talking to someone that had not read their own advertising where it says If you are not THRILLED with the purchase. call them and give them a chance to make it right. I again called them and talked to a different person and was told the same thing. Had I purchased the guitar locally such as (Guitar Center), They would have done a Complimentary set up for FREE as good business practice. So to save the 55.00 I have to pay to have the guitar repaired they would rather have negative advertisement like I am leaving here. I wont deal with them again, they dont stand behind their word. sorry to say.
47 of 88 people (53.41%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Outstanding axe :)" submitted February 27, 2014

By Eric R in Canoga park, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing since 1995
Music Style: Gospel, youth rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds is a pleasure to buy from , they always take their time on the phone, to answer any and all questions you may have. As for the guitar. No complaints whatsoever . I upgraded from an Epiphone les paul. Now I am beating my self, for not have upgraded earlier. The sound feel and quality doesn't compare. I too went for the traditional to keep it as original as possible.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"OH YEAH!!!" submitted February 17, 2014

By Paul O in St. Petersburg, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing 30 yrs plus love music guitar based music bass piano drums trumpet
Music Style: Blues blues blues Rock Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Purchased this in wine red .Ordering was a breeze. I chose the 2 day air delivery... Right on time. when. I opened the case i was very pleased the AA could easily be AAA tosay the least the set up was dead on to my liking anyway.The 59 Tributes kick ass i mean they roar The cleans are second to none. I couldnt have gotten a better axe unless i up graded to a standard plus thanks zzounds for the killer guitar .I will be buying from you exclusively
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Outstanding axe. :-)" submitted February 17, 2014

By Eric R in Canoga park , CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Gospel
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Loooove it's crunch.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1553-BC2G. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!