800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143H-71DL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson Les Paul Studio

This lefty version of the updated Les Paul Studio retains all the classic tenets of the Les Paul design, with the added versatility of coil-tapping pickups.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Great Guitar" submitted March 3, 2013

By Jeff H in McDonough, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: played clubs at a young age, now that the kids are grown I've made me a studio mancave
Music Style: classic rock and progressive rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Gibson has a deep rich tone, and the sustain is incredible .whether I am on the 490 or 498 pick up. The clean tones are full and the overdriven tone from the humbuckers are perfect. Feature: I haven't used the split coil pick ups much but you can tell the difference. Was worried about the Granadillo fretboard but it's very smooth to the touch and the lighter reddish color is perfect for the Wine red finish I chose. And the lack of binding around the body doesn't matter, I think it' looks better without it Ease of Use: This guitar is great,Les Pauls get the best sound.I run it through a IPB 10 by Digitech(also purchased from Zzounds)into a Fender Amp. I'm getting the best tone I've ever gotten from my equipment (38 years) Quality: It's a solid Guitar, the 1st one I ordered had a bad grounding issue.so I sent in a return request and Zzounds had a new guitar shipped as soon as U.P.S scanned my return. This 1 is flawless. Value: I got a great price, they beat the other online stores by $200.00 Manufacturer Support: Didn't have to deal with them since Zzounds took care of my issue The Wow Factor: It's Gibson , they've always been top of the line Overall: I had owned a Les Paul in the late 70s and loved it. It was stolen in the 80s and I replaced it with an Ibenez. Then later a Jackson.But was never really satisfied. From the moment I took the Les Paul out of the case and played it I realized that I should have stayed with Gibson from the beginning
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Quite a nice surprise" submitted April 7, 2013

By Steve T in Metairie, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bedroom player for 10 years. 30 year piano player.
Music Style: Classic rock, vintage rock and roll, and jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Rich and warm tone, but with enough bite to keep it from getting muddy. Does classic rock extremely well, not too hot and not to thin. Very versatile pickups. Feature: Build is quite good. Can't say it is perfect, but few guitars are if you look hard enough. This ones quite a beauty and is quite well appointed with hardware, pickups, and the finish is excellent. Ease of Use: Didn't take much for me to get it sounding good. Could benefit from a setup mostly in terms of the nut which is pinging a bit when tuning. Easy and common fix. Otherwise, play is quite good. Sounded good right out of the box. Quality: Overall, I do think this studio is quite well made. Not perfect, but seriously I haven't come across one yet at any price that was. This is darn good for the money especially at the discount i got from zzounds. Should last a lifetime. Value: Definitely a great guitar for the money. Looking to buy an sg now. Really love this guitar. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed to contact gibson. Probably only have average customer service, but not a big deal. Hopefully, I won't need to. The Wow Factor: Binding would set off the wow factor more, but the cool color, tone, and playability have me more than happy. Overall: This gibson studio in Pelham blue has really blown me away. Never really cared for my lp traditional and the 50s tribute lp looked like it was rushed through finishing. So, I was going out on a limb trying this one. Low and behold it is quite a fantastic guitar.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SWEET !" submitted December 27, 2013

By Rick Webb in portsmouth, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 plus years playing guitar and bass . used to play out .now record at home
Music Style: rock , blues country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very little set up required . the neck is good . humbuckers sound amazing .this guitar stands out when you crank it . has a sweet clear sound and i can get different tones with the push - pull pots . a really nice upgrade. she plays really well . the inntonation stays nicely.. the paint is beautiful. im sure i will enjoy this guitar for years to come .
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice!!!" submitted February 8, 2013

By Joseph G in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: One year
Music Style: All styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I want to thank ZZounds for their amazing efforts in making easy pay options available. It's is my first electric guitar. I have a fender 25R amp, and this guitar came in excellent condition. Beautiful fireburst finish. So far i have not had any problems keeping the guitar in tune, and i play it almost everyday for at least an hour.This is the second purchase I have made from ZZounds. Spot on all the way. I like the way it plays and feels.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Simply Stunned" submitted October 13, 2013

By Alan Ruiz in Bellflower, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for six years now, just jammin at home or with friends.
Music Style: I mainly play pop-punk, punk, alternative and some ska.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds is honestly the best choice anyone can make. My lefty Gibson Les Paul got to my house without any dents, damage or defects and it plays like a beauty. Zzounds 100% recommended to any musician in need of quality equipment.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul, buff said" submitted January 5, 2014

By Joey Lapino in Ft Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Session, and live performer.
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Sounds greats. It arrived with really high action though. And intonation was slightly off. I had to file the nut a bit because the strings sat very high. It sounds and feels great but the quality control wasn't that great. Coil tap is killer for clean parts.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Left-Handed Les Paul Studio " submitted May 6, 2013

By gerard m in lake worth, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: guitar is great but i don't think zzounds inspected it before it shipped. i almost sent it back but it plays good so i kept it. the fingerboard has chips on broken on the last fret and space after the last fret. the gold pickup covers were also very dirty. even now when i clean them there is some residue i cant get off it. if i could do it over again i think i would have returned it for another one. even though it was a good price i think it would have been considered b stock by most standards.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson, what a joke" submitted May 21, 2013

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ years Lead guitar Semi pro
Music Style: Country blues classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been playing for 30+ years. I practice most everyday and gig just about every weekend. This was the worst playing guitar I ever had in my hands. The frets were way to high not to mention the extruded off the fret board nearly cutting your hand. I tried smaller strings, lowering the action, nothing helped this guitar from hurting you fingers. If this is what gibson has to offer for a guitar I guess thats why I have been playing a fender for so long and will continue.I give the Gibson Les Paul Studio No stars!!!!!!! Thank God for the return policy these people rock and have earned my music business.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143H-71DL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!